We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern hotel, good breakfast, Reception "Check-In" overstrained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bavaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bavaria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 383 hotels in Munich
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and modern hotel, good breakfast, Reception "Check-In" overstrained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Clean and modern hotel. Good & big rooms. At the Check-In at 20.00 o´clock the lady was overstrained with only two questions (1. Site in front = no parking; 2. Where a restaurant is "location" I was dated and how to come to this place) Reason: She has one guest in the bar.

All in all very good and maybe she had a bad day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sir´s,

Many thanks for your kind comment. Each note is important to improve our service.


We are sorry that you have had bad experiences with the reception on the day of arrival.Most of our employees work in our Hotel for many years. This day we had temporary staff due to colleagues being absent of illness.
I´m sure next time you will find our professionell staff.:-)
Many winter greetings from Munich
Janet Kaufmann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    113
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
150
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from a 9 day stay at the Hotel Bavaria, Munich Germany. 10.22.13 - 10.31.13. The staff was outstanding, and very helpful. The room was with a balcony at the rear of the property on the 4th floor, and overlooked the courtyard. The room was spotless and very clean, the entire 9 day stay. The breakfast featured many items, fresh fruit, yogurt eggs, bacon and various meats. pastries, juices,
The room was quiet and just a bit small for two people, but otherwise very acceptable. The bed was comfortable. The value was very good for the price. The hotel is located very close the the u station for a one stop train ride to the city center.
The receptions staff was always helpful, friendly and very polite. The answered any and all questions.

Room Tip: If more than 2 travellers, the room will be tight. The back rooms are away from the street, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Robert,

so many thanks for your excellent and detailed report.
It´s so important to hear from guests who had a long stay with us.
We are very happy that you could enjoy your Holidays in Munich and had a good impression of our Hotel.

Have a good time and
warm regards
Janet Kaufmann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very good hotel. Clean. Rooms are well equipped but lacking a bit of ventilation especially in bathrooms. Good quiet location. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Plenty of parking available. Reasonable price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Patrick,

so many thanks for your great comment.
We are so happy, that you had such a good time in Munich during your honeymoon.

We wish all the best for your future together and sending sunny Munich greetings.

Yours sincerly
Janet Kaufmann and the Bavaria Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Quite, reasonable size rooms. No AC. Nice staff, friendly. The belcony has no view, so do not pay extra for it. Location is good next to Octobet fest, and close to metro station ( 5-8min uphill walk) which is one station from Munich BHF. Internet was free but weak signal, I had to set next to the bathroom at room enterance to download mails. Umbrella provided to use on a rainy day.
Breakfast is good, tasty Frish jams and honey. A free apple to eat at any time from the basket at reception.

Room Tip: Avoid sunset rooms during hot months as no AC. the room will be hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Sam,

many thanks for your kind review and your special notes.
Our exclusive rooms with balcony are particularly quiet as located in the courtyard, that´s why it´s just 5.00 Euro more per night.
Sorry for the weak Wifi Signal in your room. We know the problem and are currently working on a solution. So you will see , if you are here next time .
Now we wish you a good time and many greetings from Munich.

Warm regards
Janet Kaufmann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in September as our final stop on our tour of Germany and Austria and found the hotel to be very good. Whilst not in the centre of Munich it is very well located with 2 U Bahn stations within a few minutes walk. It is in a quiet area but not isolated, there was a nice beer garden at Bavaria Park (next to the Deutsch Transport museum) within 10 mins walk one way, . A 10 min walk the other way brings you to Augustiner Brewery Beer hall (my favourite Munich beer by the way)
We had a room at the front and as the hotel does not have air con we had to leave the window open a little and as a result we did experience some street noise on the Saturday, but given the Hacker-Pschorr brewery is over the road is hardly surprising. The bathroom was functional but the shower was the best we had all the time we were away
Breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals cold meats, cheese, as well as Eggs & Bacon, a selection of breads/pastries. There were juices , coffee tea, so all bases were covered in that respect. The breakfast room was very nice , with an option to sit outside ( weather permitting ).
The hotel has a nice comfortable bar area which we did use a few times.
We found the staff to be friendly, and would definitely recommend this hotel, we will certainly use the hotel again when we are next in Munich.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Glen,

It´s the best to hear that "you will certainly use the hotel again when you are next in Munich"

So many thanks for your detailed report about your stay. All have about the lob happy and thanks for the good advertising-.)

At the Moment we have such a niche autumn that we can still go to your favourite Augustiner beergarden. So we wish you the same and sending warm greetings from Munich

Janet Kaufmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at the Bavaria, Hotel October 2013.
A very good experience in all respects.
The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Excellent breakfast was a bonus.
Reasonably close to the quick, efficient and cheap subway system.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Andrew,

we are happy, that you had such a good experience.
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We've gladly passed on to our staff .

Now we are sending you nice autumn greetings from Munich and hoping that you have the nice sunny weather as well.

Warm regards
Janet Kaufmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a wonderful 1-night stay in Hotel Bavaria. The underground parking with the direct elevator access to the hotel floors was very convenient. The room was a bit on the small side (even for 2 people with 2 suitcases), but functional. The shower was a good size, but overall bathroom layout was strange and angular (perhaps it's only in our room).

But the highlight of our stay was the breakfast. You can take it on the terrace if the weather permits or inside. There was a fantastic selection of breads, cheeses, meats, and fruits as well as the usual breakfast items. A cappucino was prepared superbly.

Overall a very nice stay and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Love2,

many thanks for your kind comment and your visit in our Hotel.

Next time you have to try another room, because every room is decorated differently.

Nice greetings from Munich

Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Address: Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#15 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bavaria 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bavaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.