We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite pricey but really lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bavaria to your Saves list
Hotel Bavaria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quite pricey but really lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Bavaria with our 11 month old baby for 2 nights and were very impressed. Excellent location, close to 2 U Bahn stations, trendy shops, an excellent Beergarten and the vehicle museum. Lovely (baby friendly!) rooms, very quiet. Excellent baby cot and high chair! Delicious and plentiful breakfast! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Zchard,

many thanks for your great review. It´s really important for us and it´s so nice to hear that you had a relaxed time together with your Baby in our Hotel.

Now we want to send you some sunny beergarden greetings-:)

Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    149
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
203
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel had been recommended by friends and after staying can see why. One stop from the main train station out of main tourist area in genuine local part of town. Hotel staff were very friendly, and the breakfast was amazing in a very nice setting. Room clean practical and very comfortable.
Only issue I had was could not log on to free Internet you had to log on and then reply to email sent by provider of service but gmail rejected the email tried another email no luck, otherwise perfect hotel

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is near U4 and U5 U-Bahn station (Theresienwiese) so in practice it´s very close to city centre (and also Hauptbahnhof).
Staff is friendly and helpful. It was very easy to book rooms beforehand (we got 2 rooms side by side by request) and we were also able to get the rooms (two other rooms) much more earlier than we should have because we were quite early at the hotel.
The rooms were comfortable and clean...not very spacious but just enough for us. Free WLAN is naturally a great thing but it was not very powerful (for example, not working from balcony). Toilet & shower room were nice and practical (temperature was very high but because of rainy weather our clothes got dry very fast). The only bigger minus was that there was no air conditioning in rooms (luckily we did not need to witness the room temperatures in real hot München weather).
Breakfast was great; perfect selection for a day start and all were very tasty.
Grocery shop (Tengelmann) is near also (about 3-4 minutes walk) with a competent selection.
We got a little problem with hotel payment the day we were leaving.
Their systems did not accept my credit card and it came out that they were not able to send bill e.g. to my email/home address etc.-- so i should have tried to find some cash machine (no idea where was the nearest one) to get the needed amount in cash. Luckily hotel payment device accepted my wife´s credit card...

Room Tip: Rooms in inner court side can be a good and a bad thing. On the other hand own balcony is great (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear JabbadeHutt,

many thanks for your great comment.
Sorry for the trouble with your payment. For us it is difficult as well to understand why some credit cards are not working.
And thanks for your understanding that we can´t send any invoices in other countries.
By the way...our next cash machine is just around the corner -:)

Now we are sending you sunny greetings from Munich
Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Tavor, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have spent 3 wonderful days at hotel Bavaria with my family. The personnel as already mentioned more than once in other reviews was very friendly kind and helpful, Breakfast was a pleasure especially if taken on the terrace, surrounded by a tiny garden. It seemed every staff member was well versed in more than one chore and helping to run this boutique hotel as efficiently as ever. Chapeau.
They had a nice deal which, provided you stay at least 3 nights, enables you to participate in a small city tour ending with a visit to the Bavaria film studios and park which, unfamiliar with the German stars and movie scenery, we could not much appreciate, since we reside in Israel. However, the lady at the front desk told me we could have picked any other city tour since the arrangement offered other Munich city tours as well. OK. Definitely next time when we are in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear YKeness,

We are so happy, that you had such a nice stay in Munich.

Thanks a lot for your good comment and may be see you next time.

Warm regards
Janet Kaufmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Close to main attractions and subway. Staff was VERY nice and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding. It was in a very quiet location. We were extremely happy with the value. I will definitely staff here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Beth,

thanks so much and it would be nice to see you again in our Hotel!

Sunny greetings from Munich

Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First thing you notice is the warm welcome you get, all the staff are really friendly and nice, nothing is too much bother and they really do look after you during your stay which is excellent.

The hotel itself is immaculate from top to bottom, very clean and tidy and cared for - it's really noticeable how well looked after it is. My room was a single on the top floor and it was very quiet, no street noise at all. It was stylishly newly decorated complete with wooden floors, designer lighting, double-bed, large LCD TV and iPod dock clock/radio. Only slight negative was there was no tea making facilities and it had a sloping roof at the desk area and I banged my head a few times at first - ooof!

The bathroom was open plan with the main room so fine as a single but if sharing...... The toilet itself was in a room with a door though so not everything would be exposed to your partner just showering and bathing. A few hotels in Munich seem to go for 'airy' bathrooms, and its fine just a bit strange to our British prudishness.

The bar is quite cosy with low lighting and chilled tunes playing in the background, drink prices are very reasonable, being Scottish I always check the whisky prices and there was some nice stuff there cheaper than you'd pay back home in some places. Food was fine, nothing to write home about - but nothing to complain about either, perfectly acceptable.

Breakfast was nice, good selection of bread and cold meats. Some warm food too but not too much so maybe not perfect for British tastes but hey this is Germany after all so try to live a little different. There's a outside seating area, so if the weather is nice you can have breakfast or a drink out there.

Free WiFi throughout the hotel is a bonus, signal was a bit weak at times in the room but it was ok. It cuts off after about two hours connected but you just need to reconnect. Just as a tip for when you're out and about, I'd recommend you get a prepaid Congstar sim card from a T-Mobile store and go on their €1 a day tariff for internet access. It's only €10 for the sim with €10 credit already loaded, so it's a bargain compared to roaming data charges.

The hotel location is quite good, in a mainly residential area a wee bit off the beaten track but fine - right next to the Oktoberfest site so if you come to Munich for that, perfect! It's just a stumble home. Maybe 30-35 min walk to Marienplatz but U-bahn or S-bahn is 10 minutes away. The transport museum is nearby and that's worth a visit so head there for an afternoon. Augustiner Keller is a 10-15 minute walk away and it has one of the best biergartens in Munich so don't miss that.

All in all it was a great hotel and I'd definitely stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear BaronOli,

many thanks for your very kind detailed comment about our Hotel.
For next time we offer you an Exclusive room with balcony to the courtyard.
Because there you don´t have the open bath-:)

Now we are sending you sunny greetings from Munich and have a good time!

Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located just out main town centre. An easy train ride or you can walk. I arrived very early & was able to check in which was heaven after the long flight from Australia. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Jane,

many thanks for your kind comment.

Any time we do our best to realize an early check in for our guests.

Sunny greetings from Munich

Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Address: Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Munich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bavaria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bavaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.