We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A personal touch and as was told: continuing efforts for improvement do the job” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bavaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bavaria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 383 hotels in Munich
Kfar Tavor, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A personal touch and as was told: continuing efforts for improvement do the job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have spent 3 wonderful days at hotel Bavaria with my family. The personnel as already mentioned more than once in other reviews was very friendly kind and helpful, Breakfast was a pleasure especially if taken on the terrace, surrounded by a tiny garden. It seemed every staff member was well versed in more than one chore and helping to run this boutique hotel as efficiently as ever. Chapeau.
They had a nice deal which, provided you stay at least 3 nights, enables you to participate in a small city tour ending with a visit to the Bavaria film studios and park which, unfamiliar with the German stars and movie scenery, we could not much appreciate, since we reside in Israel. However, the lady at the front desk told me we could have picked any other city tour since the arrangement offered other Munich city tours as well. OK. Definitely next time when we are in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear YKeness,

We are so happy, that you had such a nice stay in Munich.

Thanks a lot for your good comment and may be see you next time.

Warm regards
Janet Kaufmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    115
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
151
21
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Close to main attractions and subway. Staff was VERY nice and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding. It was in a very quiet location. We were extremely happy with the value. I will definitely staff here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Beth,

thanks so much and it would be nice to see you again in our Hotel!

Sunny greetings from Munich

Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First thing you notice is the warm welcome you get, all the staff are really friendly and nice, nothing is too much bother and they really do look after you during your stay which is excellent.

The hotel itself is immaculate from top to bottom, very clean and tidy and cared for - it's really noticeable how well looked after it is. My room was a single on the top floor and it was very quiet, no street noise at all. It was stylishly newly decorated complete with wooden floors, designer lighting, double-bed, large LCD TV and iPod dock clock/radio. Only slight negative was there was no tea making facilities and it had a sloping roof at the desk area and I banged my head a few times at first - ooof!

The bathroom was open plan with the main room so fine as a single but if sharing...... The toilet itself was in a room with a door though so not everything would be exposed to your partner just showering and bathing. A few hotels in Munich seem to go for 'airy' bathrooms, and its fine just a bit strange to our British prudishness.

The bar is quite cosy with low lighting and chilled tunes playing in the background, drink prices are very reasonable, being Scottish I always check the whisky prices and there was some nice stuff there cheaper than you'd pay back home in some places. Food was fine, nothing to write home about - but nothing to complain about either, perfectly acceptable.

Breakfast was nice, good selection of bread and cold meats. Some warm food too but not too much so maybe not perfect for British tastes but hey this is Germany after all so try to live a little different. There's a outside seating area, so if the weather is nice you can have breakfast or a drink out there.

Free WiFi throughout the hotel is a bonus, signal was a bit weak at times in the room but it was ok. It cuts off after about two hours connected but you just need to reconnect. Just as a tip for when you're out and about, I'd recommend you get a prepaid Congstar sim card from a T-Mobile store and go on their €1 a day tariff for internet access. It's only €10 for the sim with €10 credit already loaded, so it's a bargain compared to roaming data charges.

The hotel location is quite good, in a mainly residential area a wee bit off the beaten track but fine - right next to the Oktoberfest site so if you come to Munich for that, perfect! It's just a stumble home. Maybe 30-35 min walk to Marienplatz but U-bahn or S-bahn is 10 minutes away. The transport museum is nearby and that's worth a visit so head there for an afternoon. Augustiner Keller is a 10-15 minute walk away and it has one of the best biergartens in Munich so don't miss that.

All in all it was a great hotel and I'd definitely stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear BaronOli,

many thanks for your very kind detailed comment about our Hotel.
For next time we offer you an Exclusive room with balcony to the courtyard.
Because there you don´t have the open bath-:)

Now we are sending you sunny greetings from Munich and have a good time!

Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is located just out main town centre. An easy train ride or you can walk. I arrived very early & was able to check in which was heaven after the long flight from Australia. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Jane,

many thanks for your kind comment.

Any time we do our best to realize an early check in for our guests.

Sunny greetings from Munich

Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We would highly recommend this hotel. The booking we made was very reliable and check in was very simple. The rooms were spotless and the staff very accomodating. Breakfast buffet was one of the best we had on our entire vacation and the restaurant recomendations were wonderful. They had several ideas on the best things to do within walking distance and several brochures to choose from.

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel will be very nice. The explanations on the website about this hotel are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Terry,

it´s so nice, that you like our Hotel, the breakfast and our Restaurants nearby.

We are sending you sunny greetings from Munich and thank you so much for your booking.


regards
Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This family run hotel go the extra mile to ensure you have a great stay in Munich. They offer suggestions on restaurants, sightseeing etc.. The rooms are clean and well equipped. We booked one with a balcony to give us extra room. The buffet breakfast was the best we encountered. Plenty of hot choices ( bacon,eggs), cheeses, yoghurt, breads, fruit and delicious homemade granola. Close to octoberfest grounds ( 3-5 minute walk). and beer gardens within walking distance. The Marienplatz is three stops away by subway and Dachau around twenty minutes by subway/bus. There is a supermarket that sells beer and wine a 3-5 minute walk. We booked through Expedia but would have been cheaper booking through the hotel. A 9 euro cab from the main train station. The hotel booked up an early morning cab fior 60 euros but the driver informed us once we aboard that the fee was 70 euros????. A good location and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a balcony....gives you a breeze and extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Sir´s,

many thanks for your excellent comment in Tripadvisor.
It´s so nice, that you feel at home in our Hotel.

The Taxi rates are not fix. That´s why from Hotel to the Airport it is Euro 60.00-70.00 and it depends on the traffic.

Sunny greetings from Munich
Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 7 days in May 2013 during our vacation in Munich.

The hotel has a signboard of 3-star Superior and is rated among the top 10 hotels by TripAdvisor among Munich hotels. These ratings do not do justice and it should be rated higher. We have no hesitation in giving this hotel 5 out of 5 rating.

Some comments:

1. Booking and pre-arrival service

Easy to book directly on the internet. We selected this hotel based on reviews on TripAdvisor and noted the improvement in guest ratings since 2010. We requested the hotel for a confirmation of our reservation and asked for guidance in tourism and selection of room. We were thrilled by an immediate reply and a formal confirmation of reservation on the hotel letterhead.

2. Front desk service

The staff manning the reception were friendly, helpful and spoke perfect English. You can buy the day bus/tram/U-bahn ticket at this counter. Check out was fast and painless. You were always welcomed with a smile. Information on daily weather forecast displayed at the counter.

3. Rooms

Spotlessly clean, fairly large rooms. The washroom had hot/cold water with high pressure especially the shower. The room and washroom were well heated and had a small balcony attached (though it was rainy throughout our visit). The lighting was very good and the white cedar furniture and beds presented a premium image.

4. Breakfast and Bar

The breakfast was sumptuous and likely to be one of the best in Munich. Besides the usual spreads of meats and eggs, bread, cheese and jams/honey, fruits/flakes, yoghurt, tea/coffee, fruit juices, etc. - what we really enjoyed was the emphasis on wellness foods notably a variety of whole wheat multi-grained breads, natural yoghurts, probiotic drink, teas from various origins, special drinking water, healthy muesli and fruit juices. A feast for the health conscious.

I tried out various draught beers at the bar and found the Augustiner the best.

5. Internet

There was a hotel laptop in the lobby. I had to register on MeinHotspot Wifi and as I use my mobile for wifi, the acknowledgement went to the junk folder which was not accessible on my mobile. Once connected the wifi worked well and reasonable fast.

6. Location

This is one minor disadvantage. The closest U-bahn station is Schwanthalerhohe next to the Aldi-Sud supermarket. This was about 5 minutes walk and one can travel on the U5 connection. Theresienwiese and Hauptbahnhof are a longer walk of about 7 and 15 mins respectively which was inconvenient during the rains. But the hotel was peaceful, quiet and no traffic disturbance.

7. Suggestions

The only one suggestion we had was to have tea/coffee tray in the room so that we could refresh ourselves after a long day. The minibar was well stocked but we missed refreshing coffee in the room.

Overall, the facilities were very, very good and we strongly recommend this hotel to guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Rusi,

what a great and detailed Report.
Thank you so much, because it´s really important for us and the best advertising for our Hotel.

Sorry for the rain...now it´s hot with over 30 degrees and so you have to come back -:)

Sunny greetings from Munich
Janet Kaufmann
Hotel Bavaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Address: Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Munich
#14 Family Hotel in Munich
#16 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bavaria 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bavaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.