We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bavaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bavaria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 382 hotels in Munich
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This was an all-round great hotel and really good value. Rooms and bathrooms were modern, comfortable and spotlessly clean, the breakfast is excellent and the staff are friendly. The underground and trams are close by, so you can be in Marienplatz in 20mins. You can also buy metro passes (1 day and 3 day passes - not single use tickets) from reception which is really convenient when you have just arrived in a new city. Hotel Bavaria turned out to be a great find, and was a lot cheaper than staying in the old town area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    115
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
151
21
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northants, England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Loved this little hotel it is conveniently located close to underground and overground trains so everything is within easy reach and most tourist stuff within 2 stops. Our room was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable with snow white linen, small but perfectly formed bathroom, endless hot water, radiators with control valves, minibar and a surprising number of English TV channels complete the package.

Breakfast was included and was very good with plenty of choice both hot and cold. We also liked the cosy bar which was great to chill in after a day's shopping in the Christmas markets.

What stood out for us the most was the staff, they were so friendly and helpful we wouldn't hesitste to return.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with balconies overlooking the patio which would be nice in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I am not sure how we came about this booking. It must’ve been based on good reviews I had read and I can assure you that all the good reviews are definitely true. This hotel is neat, clean and modern with a friendly and helpful staff. It is not close- within walking distance- to the downtown area, however it is within a block to the October fest field. Which also has a Winter festival (Winter Tollwood Festival) and also a summer version of the same thing. So great! The internet is free and so is the breakfast and it was quite a spread and delicious. It is however within walking distance, about a block, to the U-Bahn and it is about 4 stops to downtown. The u-bahn in Munich is very affordable and if you are going no more than 4 stops it is only 1.20 Euros a person, I have been many places in Europe and never seen it that cheap!! I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked this hotel for my folks and my family (three with a toddler) for a couple nights. I used to live in Munich, so we weren't so concerned with where a hotel was--we could get around. Hotel Bavaria happened to be very near to metro stops, though, getting us easily into town. The staff was friendly, and the facilities were great. Breakfast was a fantastic German breakfast buffet with a full spread. The rooms were clean and roomy, with a child's bed (play pen) not making it too cramped. Overall, a great option for Munich without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks, England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel. I had done some searching and found this - wanted an independent, boutique, friendly hotel in Munich. Looked at all the various search engines and they said the hotel was full for our dates...so, I contacted the hotel direct. Was delighted to hear they had a room for us.

The arrival and welcome was perfect - no messing, everything ready, very friendly and we were checked in within minutes.

The room was lovely - clean, warm, comfortable, balcony area, TV, minibar etc. Good sized bathroom with nice shower and filtered tap water.

The bar in the hotel is very good - cosy, intimate and very friendly. It is an assett to the hotel.

Breakfast - lavish and plenty of it. Lovely breakfast room which was tastefully trimmed up for Christmas. Looks like you can sit outside in the Summer too.

Staff - excellent - I cannot praise them highly enough. Friendly and helpful in every way - not just the day to day things to make a stay comfortable but they went out of their way to help. Amongst other things they happily warmed a heat pad for my bad back and also helped with faxes etc for unexpected problems we needed to sort with regards to a house purchase.

If (when) I go back to Munich, this would be top of my list.

Thank you Hotel Bavaria for being such an excellent place to stay. In fact, I wish there was a higher rating than excellent available - truly superb!

Room Tip: I guess they are all good? Ours was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

stayed here based on reviews. great location down the block from Theresensweise/Oktoberfest grounds where there is also a Christmas market event, short walk to U Bahn station; a little longer to S bahn. a few good restaurants within a few blocks of hotel along with an Aldi supermarket. good breakfast and wifi included in room rate;wifi connection wasn't great, kept getting knocked out. small cozy bar in hotel. patio area off breakfast room wasn't available due to weather. mini fridge in room a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We booked Hotel Bavaria and were very pleased we had, A quiet, well run hotel providing excellent service. My wife and I enjoyed 3 good nights sleep in an extremely comfortable bed.
We arrived by midday on the day of arrival and we were able to be accommodated. We were so pleased as it enabled us to get out and explore.

The staff are freindly and we were appreciative of all their efforts to make our stay comfortable. Enjoyed the ambience in the lounge/bar area.

Excellent value as a 3 star hotel. Think it would be a 4 star if the bedrooms were slightly larger and larger bath towels provided. All in all a great stay

Room Tip: Bedroom to the right as you come out of the lift on floor 2 is considerably larger I am told by my w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Address: Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
#15 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bavaria 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bavaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.