We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic surprise--echt toll!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bavaria to your Saves list
Hotel Bavaria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic surprise--echt toll!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked this hotel for my folks and my family (three with a toddler) for a couple nights. I used to live in Munich, so we weren't so concerned with where a hotel was--we could get around. Hotel Bavaria happened to be very near to metro stops, though, getting us easily into town. The staff was friendly, and the facilities were great. Breakfast was a fantastic German breakfast buffet with a full spread. The rooms were clean and roomy, with a child's bed (play pen) not making it too cramped. Overall, a great option for Munich without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    137
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
192
27
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks, England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel. I had done some searching and found this - wanted an independent, boutique, friendly hotel in Munich. Looked at all the various search engines and they said the hotel was full for our dates...so, I contacted the hotel direct. Was delighted to hear they had a room for us.

The arrival and welcome was perfect - no messing, everything ready, very friendly and we were checked in within minutes.

The room was lovely - clean, warm, comfortable, balcony area, TV, minibar etc. Good sized bathroom with nice shower and filtered tap water.

The bar in the hotel is very good - cosy, intimate and very friendly. It is an assett to the hotel.

Breakfast - lavish and plenty of it. Lovely breakfast room which was tastefully trimmed up for Christmas. Looks like you can sit outside in the Summer too.

Staff - excellent - I cannot praise them highly enough. Friendly and helpful in every way - not just the day to day things to make a stay comfortable but they went out of their way to help. Amongst other things they happily warmed a heat pad for my bad back and also helped with faxes etc for unexpected problems we needed to sort with regards to a house purchase.

If (when) I go back to Munich, this would be top of my list.

Thank you Hotel Bavaria for being such an excellent place to stay. In fact, I wish there was a higher rating than excellent available - truly superb!

Room Tip: I guess they are all good? Ours was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

stayed here based on reviews. great location down the block from Theresensweise/Oktoberfest grounds where there is also a Christmas market event, short walk to U Bahn station; a little longer to S bahn. a few good restaurants within a few blocks of hotel along with an Aldi supermarket. good breakfast and wifi included in room rate;wifi connection wasn't great, kept getting knocked out. small cozy bar in hotel. patio area off breakfast room wasn't available due to weather. mini fridge in room a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We booked Hotel Bavaria and were very pleased we had, A quiet, well run hotel providing excellent service. My wife and I enjoyed 3 good nights sleep in an extremely comfortable bed.
We arrived by midday on the day of arrival and we were able to be accommodated. We were so pleased as it enabled us to get out and explore.

The staff are freindly and we were appreciative of all their efforts to make our stay comfortable. Enjoyed the ambience in the lounge/bar area.

Excellent value as a 3 star hotel. Think it would be a 4 star if the bedrooms were slightly larger and larger bath towels provided. All in all a great stay

Room Tip: Bedroom to the right as you come out of the lift on floor 2 is considerably larger I am told by my w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very nice hotel in great location. A few mins walk from Oktoberfest/Tollwood site. Some good bars nearby too. Clean hotel, very friendly staff, decent breakfast. Our room was a bit small but couldn't fault it otherwise. The hotel bar is stylish.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Hotel Bavaria & found it to be an excellent choice. It was clean & bright with modern rooms & very friendly, helpful staff. Very quiet bedrooms . Breakfast good with nice selection freshly cooked. Lounge area pleasant though quite small. Downside was that we could not check in till 2pm as we had arrived on a very early flight though we could leave our bags. Location is excellent. It is a short walk to U-bahn station & all transport networks are quick & efficient. We found a nice restaurant nearby called Rocks & Herbs.
We will be staying here again & would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the courtyard garden would be nice in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria121110, Inhaber at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Blackbird 60,

Thanks for your friendly comment. We hope to welcome you again one day and we will recommend some other fine restaurants in our vicinity.

Best regards

Bernd Gronbach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I've stayed at hotel Bavaria for a weekend last year. It's a nice and spacious hotel. The public areas aren't very accurate but they are clean and spacious. The breakfast is good and plentiful but could be served with more flavor.
My room was simple, clean and elegant. It' s a good hotel that could be improved.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Address: Gollierstrasse 9, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Munich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#10 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bavaria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bavaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.