We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good...eventually.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen to your Saves list
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maximilianstrasse 17, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 380 Hotels in Munich
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very good...eventually.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for just one night and upon check in were upgraded to a suite which we were obviously very pleased about....until we got to the room.Room itself was lovely...tastefully decorated,beautiful bathroom with all mod cons but the noise....The view was overlooking a courtyard which resembled a building site with deafening noise both from the heavy duty machinery and the builders shouting across to one another.Having set off from the UK at 3am we were hoping for a few hours rest before setting out to explore the town but no chance in this room.We 'phoned down to reception explaining the problem and requesting a room change which almost two hours later we received.The new room was even better that the one we had left...a very spacious suite overlooking the Maximillianstrasse with no noise at all.Absolutely perfect.Do beware...do not take a room overlooking the courtyard whilst this building work is taking place.I strongly believe these rooms should not be sold during this period.
The hotel reception and communal areas are beautiful,the staff are fantastic and the breakfast & the sheer choice available second to none.

Room Tip: Do try to get a room overlooking the front (Maximillianstrasse) whilst the building work is taking p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    195
    95
    50
    32
See reviews for
121
290
74
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. The location was perfect for the Opera House (the reason for my trip) but also for it's central location in the city. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Not the cheapest hotel to dine in (38 euros for breakfast) but lots of alternatives close by. The swimming pool and small gym were virtually empty during my stay so no overcrowding. It's not a modern hotel but has all the amenities I needed - free IPad for use in the room; free wi-fi; 42 inch HD tv. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed twice here in the last two months. Super location in the high end shopping quarter of Munich.

Both times somewhat disappointed with so called refurbished rooms. Second stay room was next to one being renovated so extremely noisy. When I complained, I was told that they would be stopping work by the end of the afternoon and nothing could be done til then.

Ate in restaurant for dinner. Seated in side room with no ambience. Food was mediocre.

Will not stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sp
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is at a perfect location: at Maximilianstrasse, you will find the best shops in town. The room are decorated in a way that mixes trend and tradition. The shower was the best I've ever seen with a lightning system designed for relaxation. Nice pool and fitness center at the rooftop where you can have great views of Munich. The conference rooms were very spacious and comfortable. That will certainly be my choice next time I come to Munich.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed in Munich with a girlfriend for 3 days to enjoy the sights and do some retail therapy. The hotel is ideally located on Maximilianstrasse, where all the major fashion houses have their flagship stores. Louis Vuitton is just across the street, Bottega Veneta a few houses down, and much more.
I had my birthday on the last day of our stay there and the staff at the reception gave me a little chocolate present for my special day, very attentive.
The breakfast is sensational and offers a wide variety of dishes. You will not go hungry there, that's for sure.
The staff was very friendly throughout, whether it was the chamber maid, the bell hop or the waiters at the bar.

Room Tip: I would avoid room 556, as it is located right underneath the treadmills in the fitness center and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A Secret Escapes offer made the Vier Jahreszeiten a very attractive proposition and I booked the hotel for one night of our stay in Munich. It was our wedding anniversary and the hotel could not have done more to make it so special. The hotel is exactly what you would expect offering excellent service & amenities it has a lovely ambience, friendly helpful staff and a great location close to all the main sights. All this would have been enough but the hotel upgraded us to lovely suite overlooking the main strasse with complimentary champagne and fruit. We were totally taken aback, it made our anniversary even more memorable and we just relaxed and enjoyed the, luxurious room and all it had to offer – Top class.

What else can I say, the restaurant is very good and the staffs was very helpful guiding us through the menu and the wine list offering the best selection to compliment the meal. The bar was very lively, with an excellent piano player and efficient staff serving cocktails and drinks until the small hours. Breakfast was superb; we opted to have ours in the room as we had such a lovely lounge area. Plenty of choice: Cold meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit, pastries, rolls and bread, juices, mueslis, hot breakfast if you want it, all too much to be honest. It is quite expensive but if you get this in with your rate you will not be disappointed.

We were very sad to leave the Kempinski, it was a top treat and we will visit again if we have the opportunity. I have no hesitation in whole heartedly recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently stayed four nights at the Kempinski and it was a great experience. Upon arrival we were greeted at the door by Giuseppe who already knew our name and was delightful. The front desk was very attentive and helpful, as well as the connoisseur. The room was beautifully appointed and had an interactive iPad and 3D television with glasses. The breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room and was very nice. The strudel with vanilla cream was excellent. Only complaint is our room was very warm and so we slept with the window open. The location is perfect! So close to many of the attractions! We really loved our experience at the Kempinski!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen

Address: Maximilianstrasse 17, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Munich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#21 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vier Jahreszeiten is the first address for high quality level travelers, who esteem the combination of noble atmosphere together with the central location of a luxurious Grand Hotel. High standard traditional extravagance combined with present trends, turn your stay into a unique experience. The 303 rooms and suites combine the art of modern living with historical ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.