We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Demas City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Demas City to your Saves list
Hotel Demas City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Landwehrstr. 19, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Clarksville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good place and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I spent a night with my girlfriend in this Hotel and it was a pleasant night.
The room was clean, but the floor had a couple of stains.
Your are just a few minutes away from the Stachus and the train station so all the important
areas of the center can be seen easily and on foot.
For that price you cannot expect too much, but the stay was really good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    65
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
16
45
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moehlin, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Situated within walking distance (5 mins) between the subwaystations Main Station, Karlsplatz and Sendlinger Tor, all attractions of munich are at your disposal, be it sight-seeing or shopping. The rooms are not too spacious, of nice design, with free wifi (ask for code at the reception) but no minibar. Breakfast buffet-style on the fifth floor with views of the Frauenkirche. The Landwehrstrasse is not a main traffic route, but rooms towards the backyard are surely less noisy.
It's a city hotel, near to Main Station, so it's surrounded by ethno-restaurants, ethno-shops, bet- and play-saloons and a few sex-shops/cabarets.

Room Tip: If you can choose, take a room towards the backyard. It's not an incredible view, but in a city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Disclaimer: To be fair, I was here during Oktoberfest and people were likely not on their best behavior. Additionally, we were not among the drunk.

Out of the 5 people we encountered which worked reception only 2 of them were friendly. When we asked for recommendations for eating or how to schedule our tickets for a particular tour, we simply received a shoulder shrug and she went back to chatting with the other girl standing behind the counter.

They posted tons of signs and provided ample warning of penalties for smoking in the hotel, yet one of the employees was chain smoking by the backdoor with the door open and the entire stairwell 6 floors up wreaked of smoke.

The hotel was otherwise clean, they only change towels, not bed linens, daily.

There isn't any a/c and if you leave your window open you have to be able to sleep through the people carousing down below. Additionally, there is a club and strip bar directly next door. Doesn't bother me at all, but there is of course noise as a result and the crowd it draws which is simply delightful (not).

Lots of noise in the hallways as well, sleep doesn't come easily here. When I phoned about people trying to open my door (gee, one guess...he was drunk...this is getting more fun by the second), I was asked what it was I wanted them to do about it. This experience is getting better by the day. The next morning a sheet of paper was circulated about how guests should behave in the hotel.

Breakfast is extra here and we opted out, since there are plenty of bakeries and the market down below Marienplatz which is literally a third of the price that they are charging at the hotel for breakfast.

It is well located, a few blocks from the central train station, not too far from the underground, and a few blocks from both Marienplatz and the fairgrounds. Centrally located, but bear in mind there are not any restaurants in the immediate vicinity should you find yourself starving at 10pm.

The beds were relatively comfortable, the pillows entirely too soft and you only get one, no extras. There is limited space as is common in many European hotels.

I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Good: close to train station so good for people travelling by train.

Bad: no a/c, no safe in rooms, nowhere safe to store luggage after check out, bathroom is tiny, un-organised at breakfast hence no coffee read, seedy area and very noisy.

some staffs have no clue what they are doing, we asked for a late checkout and were told 3 different prices/times by 3 different people. We decided to pay extra to check out at 4 only to find out that morning not only that the girl had not put on their system about our late check out but also that we could not check out at 4 but 3 was the latest. just as well we checked that morning!

Will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I found this hotel by pure chance and it's lovely inside, the room looked exactly as the pictures and I would say it was a lot nicer than a lot of 4* hotels I have stayed in. Really nice helpful staff and great location for visiting Munich. Lots of parking close by.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was a great find. They had off street parking, clean rooms with air conditioning and free wifi. It was a simple 10 minute walk to the city center and100 Euros less than the hotels at city center. The staff was great. Very friendly and spoke english well. The desk was staffed 24/7 with a friendly smile. Beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a pretty average hotel. It is near the main train station, clean and new-ish. Breakfast is run-of-the mill- mostbhotels in Munichband Bavaria do much better. The lift is to small and inadequate for the number of rooms they'd packed into 5 floors. But the worst part is the unreasonable cancellation policy- I booked online but was disallowed from canceling even 24 hours in advance (they said they would charge 80% of the cost for THREE days!).

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Demas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Demas City

Address: Landwehrstr. 19, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Demas City 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Demas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Demas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.