We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but nasty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Opatija am alten Peter

Opatija am alten Peter
Rindermarkt 2, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49(0)89 23231995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #446 of 2,809 Restaurants in Munich
Restaurant details
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cheap but nasty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Visited this restaurant with friends for a bite after a walk in the city and was very disappointed by the service.

We arrived at 9 and were told straight away to "hurry up because they were closing at 10" which I find way too early for a restaurant in any decent city. From that point onwards the service made it quite clear that they just wanted us to get it done as soon as possible.

Food was average, if abundant and very reasonably priced, but surely the point of going to a restaurant isn't to get filled for little bucks.

Shortly before 10 the waiter duly started picking up our plates, barely asking whether we were done.

I will never come back to Opatija and do not recommend it to anybody: there are way better places to eat in the vicinity.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A nice restaurant located close to Viktualienmarkt.
Prices are reasonable considering location.
It can be a little difficult to find.

Very friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Probably best avoided”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A simply awful place! It was too busy for the staff to rapidly respond. Each waiter covered a section and would relay messages to your waiter but the service was supremely slow. The food was not great and I was sick immediately after eating it. My colleague and I had two large cokes each and they cost more than our meal. I will NEVER eat here again should I find myself in Munich.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and favorite of Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Tis church is just off Marianplatz and is strikingly beautiful inside.
Badly bombed during the war, but beautifully restored.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Go When You Are Hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stumbled upon this place while wandering around Marienplatz. Their sign was on the street but they were inside what appeared to be some type of shopping mall. There was outside seating inside the mall but it was open air and to cold to take advantage of during our visit. Service was fast and professional and we were seated right away. I ordered the Balkan Spezialmix (meat platter) which came with sausages and a variety of meats, condiments, rice and fries. My wife had the Cordon bleu which came with a variety side salad and fries. The portions were enough to feed an army and the food was great. The beers were also good but were the most expensive we had had in in Munich.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opatija am alten Peter also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Opatija am alten Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opatija am alten Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.