We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it (almost)!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orleansstrasse 83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #128 of 380 Hotels in Munich
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can't fault it (almost)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on business - I can't actually find anything bad to say about this hotel. The rooms were spotless, decor looked new, very decent sized bedroom and bathroom, desk area actually usable for once. Location is extremely handy for airport and city centre and all the train lines go through the station that's a couple of minutes away. Staff were very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable at check in and out and storing bags for a few hours was no problem. Breakfast was an excellent buffet, everything seemed very fresh and there was a wide choice (and really good coffee machines). Only odd thing was that the bathroom door wouldn't stay closed unless you locked it, but if that's the worst thing I can find to say about this hotel that's a great sign! Would recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    109
    39
    13
    11
See reviews for
44
88
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was our first visit to Munich and it won't be our last, for sure. This hotel was located in a great area easy to reach from the airport... About 30 minutes away.
The hotel itself is brand new and the rooms are very spacious and well decorated.
Our first impression on the arrival was great. The receptionist who checked us in was very polite and friendly. She handled our booking with professionalism and treated us like real friends.
She gave us various tips about what to do, how to get around and she mentioned various places to go and visit over the weekend.
I, personally, loved the gym facilities. The gym is brand new and the equipment is user friendly and also brand new. I did a full body workout everyday with all the equipment they had available there.
The breakfast was really good. The restaurant is shared with their "sister hotel" Marriott Residence, which is just located next door to it. You don't have to go out to access the restaurant as they're both connected. The variety of food available was great and the freshness of the products served were highly impressive. The area was well looked after and the waiters kept refilling the containers and plates with more fresh food and always made sure that the eating area was kept clean at all times.
The hotel is located not far from the station. About 3 minutes away from it. There are local supermarkets and lovely cafes in the area. We tried a few lovely ones. You should definitely explore the area before heading to Marienplatz.
I won't be giving a 5 star review due to the internet facilities. Nowadays, most of the hotels offer free wi-fi and this hotel doesn't. Not even in the lobby area.
That was a bit of a shame as I need to check my email on daily basis and the service charge for the internet was sky rocketing.
Having said that, it won't stop us from staying again there the next visit we visit Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naperville, illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel for the Munich Christmas Markets. The stay was broken into two segments - 1 night, then we went to Nurnberg for 2 nights, then back to Munich. I need to preface the review by saying my husband is a Platinum Premier Elite with Marriott - so with that we do get extra perks and consideration. We stayed at the hotel on points, and as usual when we stay at any Marriott property, we do get upgraded rooms. We arrived around 11am, were checked in and went to the room. We were disappointed with the size of our room, but we felt that since it was for only 1 night no big deal. Additionally, our bathroom door would not shut - it was 'swollen' and could not fit the frame closed. Also, normally we request and are given the highest floor - only so that we don't hear the people above us stomping around. This room was on level 2. But, again, no big deal. When we checked in we were advised that to keep the heat running in the room, the room key needed to be in the 'mechanism' on the wall. Once cleaned up and refreshed from our flight, we set off to explore. We stopped at the desk to advise of the bad door, and they said it would be repaired.
TRANSPORTATION - there is a tram stop and a bus stop right by the hotel - the trams and buses will take you to the Ostbahnhof station (we used tram 19 and bus 100, 57). It is perhaps a 5- 10 ride. From the Ostbahnhof you can then chose whateve S or U line you need to explore Munich.
Once back in our hotel our first night, we noticed that the heat was simply not 'heating'.... it was maintaining a temperature of 65F. We called the desk, maintenance was sent up, but was told 'that is the way the system works', but he did come back with a wonderful space heater. Obviousy, we were not pleased. As well, the door was not repaired - but again we knew it was for just the 1 night.

We checked out of the hotel the following morning, storing our large bags with them for our trip to Nurnberg. We had a chance to talk to the manager, who was most apologetic for the heat problem and for the door, saying she would fix both and look into the entire matter.

When we came back two days later, our checkin was again very smooth, but since we were earlier than expected our room was not ready so we relaxed in the lobby - no problem. We knew people were checking out and rooms were being prepared, No big deal. This time our room was on the top (5th) floor, overlooking a lovely courtyard, the room was much larger and the heat worked! We were also given an extra room key, so that we could keep the heat going while we were out and about. Perfect!

Amenities: good selection of shampoo, conditioner, soaps in the bathroom as well as a good hairdryer. Our bed was very comfortable
Closet space - more than adequate
Room size - much bettter the second time around
Hotel was quiet - could not hear noise from street (in either room) nor from adjoining rooms
WiFi- we are given it free - so I could access my email from my KindleFire
There are free lobby computers for the guests
Location - good for the public transportation - right by hotel

FOOD - the hotel is adjoined by the sister hotel Residence Inn. At the Residence Inn, like here in the US, breakfast is included - but... we were staying on points, and to stay at the RI required more points. So doing a quick 'is it worth it' to spend more points to get a breakfast that we wouldn't eat that much of (it's oatmeal and fruit for us), or just do fewer points for the Courtyard and grab a yogurt from the hotel marketplace. That is what we did .
That being said, we did eat in the hotels restaurant/bar "Max" every night. Normally we avoid hotel restaurants while traveling. But, the first night back we were tired and cold and went to the bar and there was a 'basketball special' - burger/fries and beer. We were treated with the excellent service of Fernando - the bar tender/waiter for the bar. EXCELLENT ! The second night we were again to tired to go back out after a full day, and proceeded to the bar for the Happy Hour and dinner. Fernando makes a great dry martini! Third night saw us back there again. The food is very good, the prices are not unreasonable and the atmosphere very pleasant. We even chatted with a few locals who stop by for drinks/dinner.
I do wish there were more outside restaurants by the hotel - perhaps there are and we just didn't see them. But, again, I thoroughly enjoyed eating in the hotel restaurant.
There is no room service, so if you do place an order - you do have to come to the bar/restaurant and pick it up. Perhaps Marriott will change that.
The hotel is clean, the room is equipped with a great working desk if you need to do computer work, etc. (for business people.) The hotel seemed to have a good mix of business and leisure guests.
So, after what began as a disappointing first night stay, was completely turned around on our return stay. The staff in both stays were very accomodating, and pleasant. And, as stated Fernando in the bar was great!
We would stay here again on a return trip.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the little courtyard, it is a much nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just average. Not as clean as home. Two weeks on vacation. One night here. Thank goodness. Not up to USA standards. Priced ok. Hall carpet had issues. 4-5 blocks from transportation. Would not stay again. Possibly good for business locations. Not great for vacationers, as far as location. Has not been a hotel we wanted to discuss after vacation. Not terrible. If st if factor, then good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Overall ,this is a great hotel with regards to the size of rooms and its location. The beds and pillows are a bit hard but overall, the atmosphere is comfortable. The hotel is a bit pricey compared to others I saw, but it was the only one that have availability when we were booking. The hotel is located only three stops from the city center where the Christmas markets are held. If you fly into the airport (MUC) you can take the S8 train and go to 9 stops (half hour ride) to Ostbahnhof station. Get off there and and follow signs to Orleansplatz street, and turn right when heading out of the station and head down Orleansplatz. The hotel is about five min walk up the road and on the left, connected to the Marriott Residence Inn hotel.

There is nothing around the hotel save a few residential buildings and maybe a cafe or two but no places to go out and eat or drink. However, if you go back to the train station you can hop on the S1, S7, S8, S6, S4, etc and three stops towards the city and you are at Marlenplatz which is the city center (and where the christmas markets are). Its a very short ride and you have the option to take a number of trains to various parts of the city so extremely easy to get around once you are at the metro.
Staff:

Staff was friendly and helpful though we did not have much interaction with them. No issues to report on that front.

Rooms:

The rooms were larger then expected. We had two full beds and a nice bathroom. Compared to other rooms I have stayed in while in Europe, these rooms were actually very large. There were only 8 or 9 channels on the T. V in English but I assume your there to explore the city and not watch tv.

Amenities:

We did not eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food, but there is no free internet which is a definite downfall given almost every other hotel offers this now. There is however, a business center where you can use one of two computers to check internet and print boarding passes if needed.

Location:

The hotel is only 3 stops from central Munich, where the Christmas markets are held. There are several metro lines that pass through the nearest station to the hotel and can take you across the city without the need to transfer. Its a half hour from the airport by train or just a few min to the city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I made reservations here just after they opened about a year ago as I had to attend a large exhibition not too far from this hotel.
The positives:
- Marriott cleanliness
- Nice appointments on the rooms with working desk, power outlets.
- Parking underneath hotel - but 20Euro per day.

The negatives:
- Beds are too hard. I stay in Marriott properties to get a good night rest in a bed that is not too hard. This bed was not like a board, but it is not the signature "pillow soft" beds Marriott is noted for.
- bathrooms nice, with stand up shower, but too small
- Pillows are too hard.
- Had a tussle with the front desk clerk who seemed uninformed. I had made my first reservations a year ago, then added another week on the front end. She proceeded to tell me that I would have to move to another room the second week because I was not reserved in a superior room (not facing the street). I disputed this claim, and reminded her that I was a gold member, and that she should consider the inconvenience of what she was proposing. I also reminded her that I was supposed to be upgraded to a higher grade room for no charge as a gold member. She apparently did not like my lecture and just left me there. About 5 minutes later another woman came out and fixed the situation with no hassle. This is not the type of cheerful Marriott service one comes to expect.

- the restaurant has a real problem with service. A couple times it was ok, especially from a waitress named Lisa, but other times, I sat in the restaurant and no one even comes up to you asking what you would like. Like today for lunch. Same issue in the bar today and yesterday. Subject of separate restaurant review.

Room Tip: - superior room not facing street, but not sure worth the upcharge. - plenty of restaurant options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I booked this through a company group booking and was a bit surprised at the high room rate of 180 euro per night
I wanted a hotel easy access to airport with ready for an early start at work nearby in the morning and that's exactly what I got
+
Large rooms
Big clean bed
Free parking
Good fast Internet (at a price)
Nice gym and sauna
good breakfast
Great burgers
Good bar

-
Horrible Caesar salad!!


Some of the reviews seem a bit fussy but there is nothing fundamentally wrong with this place

I would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East

Address: Orleansstrasse 83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening in September 2011Modern and comfortable - that's how the new Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East welcomes its guests in autumn 2011, embedded in the living district Haidhausen, close-by the Ostbahnhof. The hotel is located 30 min. from Franz-Josef Strauss Airport and 10 min. by subway or car to Munich City Centre. The Courtyard offers 227 spacious guest rooms, 573 sqm meeting- and event space, the max - restaurant, bar & lounge with a terrace, generously dimensioned lobby with an interactive infotainment board and "The Market"-24/7 Grab'n Go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.