We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming local pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schmeller's

Schmeller's
Schmellerstr 17, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49(0)89 71679083
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #566 of 2,686 restaurants in Munich
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: German, Gastropub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Moscow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Welcoming local pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Wednesday night. Reasonably quiet but met warmly with a smile, a laugh and a beer. What more do you want?

Tasty goulash, friendly wait staff (menu was in German but the waitress was happy to go thru everything, including the specials, in English), quiet courtyard - it was simply a pleasant experience.

Not really a "destination" pub but I'd definitely go again if in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    6
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Killorglin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent goulash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This modestly priced but most welcoming and comfortable neighbourhood restaurant is located just a hundred metres from Hotel Brack, a nice hotel for Munich visitors who want comfort and location at reasonable cost.
Schmeller's service is excellent, the food good value and the surroundings most pleasant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“welcoming and warm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

fantastic little spot. great food..(fantastic value) family run.mum cooks and her daughter helps.
its warm and cosy. for those who like sports i saw a big screen in an other room. the food was fab
everything cooked from fresh so dont expect speed but great homely food. we where served by anita a very helpful and friendly barserver. could not help enough with the menu. she is not just your average barmaid either exceptional manner and service. the cook takes great pride in her cooking and it shines out in her food. I will be going back on our next trip to munich. The goulash is awesome.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH YORKS
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cosy local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This bar/restaurant was a few steps away from our hotel, so called in most nights for a final drink.The owner and staff were very friendly and welcoming.
They were quite happy to make us just a plate of chips one night, on another night we had a meal which was very tasty.Good menu on offer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmeller's also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Schmeller's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schmeller's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.