We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deutsches Transport History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deutsches Museum Verkehrszentrum

Deutsches Museum Verkehrszentrum
Theresienhohe 14a, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 500806-140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 402 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Deutsches Transport History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Fantastic range from rail to roads
pleanty of space for the exhibits and many with english translation description
was really quiet when we went there - not like the London transport museum.
Kids might get board not lots for them if they have not interest or imagination!
Very friendly staff in the "cafe" where refreshments very reasonable priced
Loved the snail outside!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun transportation museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went to the main Deutsches Museum and due to all their construction right now, we received complimentary tickets to this one. So, we went here the next day. The Verkehrszentrum is divided into three large buildings. There were lots of cars, buses, trains, motorcycles, and bicycles on display. (Airplanes are on display at the main museum and their aviation branch outside city center.) We spent about 2-3 hours here.

Fun note: Be sure to visit the 3rd building. There is a big metal slide to get you from the mezzanine to the lower level. I'm not sure why exactly they have a slide in the museum, but it was fun.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“In any other city, this would be one of the top attractions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Definitely worth the trip from the centre (just a couple of stops past Hauptbahnhof along the U4 or U5 lines, plus a short walk). Three big hangers house a large and excellent collection of cars, motorcycles, bikes, buses, trams, etc., organized around different themes (such as the rise of mass tourism), with loads of posters, diaramas (I loved the old bike repair shop) and other great extra stuff. I’m not a car history nut, but I understand there are some really special items. And lots of good text in English. In many cities, this would be the top, ‘must see’ museum, but judging from the sparse attendance on the afternoon we were there, in Munich it falls between the cracks. This is understandable, because the main Deutsches museum (which, of course, has the superb model railway, along with a big and nifty collection of boats and other marine stuff) is an exhausting day itself, while the Pinakothek galleries can easily occupy a couple of days, but a shame – the people responsible for developing and maintaining the Verkehrszentrum collection deserve more eyeballs. There’s also a pleasant big beer garden across the square from the main entrance.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
661 reviews 661 reviews
289 attraction reviews
Reviews in 227 cities Reviews in 227 cities
543 helpful votes 543 helpful votes
“Nicely presented museum on the history focusing on mobility and transport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I ran into this museum purely by chance as I was walking along by my hotel killing time before my train home. The museum focuses on the history and development of all types of transport, and has hands-on displays that explain how engines work and other gadgets. The museum is tailored for both kids and adults.

Most of the displays are in both German and English, but not all. If you do not speak German or other Germanic language you will not be able to read some of the signs. However this is only the case for a few areas, and seemed to be primarily those geared towards the kids. They have a coat rack that you can use if you are there during the winter, which is nice as the museum is big. You could definitely spend a few hours here walking through the different types of trains, enjoying the selection of bicycles and other displays.

The museum is definitely worth seeing if you are in Munich for a few days.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nothing to see.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Lots of turbine engines. Son was bored stiff. Kids' area downstairs not great either. Luzern Museum of Transport much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deutsches Museum Verkehrszentrum also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Deutsches Museum Verkehrszentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deutsches Museum Verkehrszentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.