We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Tour – Above and beyond Bavaria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Private Tours of and Beyond Munich

Mike's Private Tours of and Beyond Munich
Brauhaus Str. 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 172 8520660
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #18 of 93 activities in Munich
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Michael Lasher, founder of the famous Mike's Bike Tours of Munich, has 19 years experience as a tour guide in and beyond Munich. Born on Long Island in 1967, Mike is undoubtably one of the best tour guides in Munich for private excursions in and out of town. Siegmund, Operations Manager and Hunter Owens now also host private excursions by car or van from Munich. This separate listing was only added in 2011. We've never had any guests not absolutely LOVE their day out with us and find it hard to imagine how anybody wouldn't. We're experienced, professional, knowledgeable and easy-going guys that are also a pleasure to hold a conversation with on almost any subject from American footbal to quantum physics, AGW theory to crop circles, you name it. We hope to be showing you a fabulous time soon. Mike, Siggi and Hunter
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Private Tour – Above and beyond Bavaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I planned a quick vacation on easter weekend and contacted Mike’s Bike Tours for private tours of Bavaria from Munich to be covered on Friday and Saturday. We exchanged emails, and with quick responses from Mike’s team, agreed on the charges, and based on their suggestions finalized the itinerary for both the days, including starting time from Munich, likely route to be taken, time expected to be spent at the sights, and return time to Munich on each day.
On the first day we were picked up by Mr Hunter Owens of Mike’s Tour from our hotel at around 9.00 am in his comfortable car and hit the Autobahn to the foot of the Bavarian Alps, to Garmisch Partenkirchen (a pretty village at the foot of the Zugspitze - the highest mountain peak in Germany), Ettal Monastry, Oberammergau (famous for its Passion Play held there every 10 years), Schloss Linderhof (Ludwig I's, second castle), a short drive through Austria to Plansee lake, Neuschwanstein castle, walk up the waterfall gorge to the Mary's bridge, then drive back to hotel in Munich by around 7pm. We found lots of snow and with the sun playing hide & seek from the clouds, enjoyed our romantic trip around the Alps.
On the second day we were again picked up from our hotel at around 08:30am, and Hunter drove us to the Herrenchiemsee, accompanied us on the ferry to the Island (this takes around 20 minutes), walk to the actual castle before doing the tour lasting about 20 minutes, return to the ferry and back to the car, this took us around 2.5 hours in total. Then we drove to Salzburg, a walking tour of the inner city, old fort on top of the Salzburg from where the sights of Sound of Music locations can also be viewed, various cathedrals, markets, Mozarts birth house etc. and return to Munich by 8.00pm.
Hunter was patience personified, making us comfortable, taking every care to attend to our photo requests, enthusiastically explaining the sights and with his safe driving on both days made our trips very enjoyable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Private Tour of Bavaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our tour was on time, had friendly coordinating people, good stories about sites, and the most pleasant, knowledgeable guide. Our 8 family member private tour was great and fun even though it actually snowed, our van was roomy, and good transportation. The lunch stop was perfect, warm food, quick service. nice to have lunch with the guide on site of the Castle because it was fun to sit and hear tales of the area, the family, and the legends. The beauty of an English speaking guide was that we could ask questions and request information about everything. The guide showed us magnificent churches and the quaint Garmish area in the course of our tour and made the day very agreeable for a family of 8 women with all kinds of interests. Good value because it was extra-good service and our guide Siegmund deserved a great tip because he went beyond what was expected.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great tour of Neuschwanstein and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were a group of 3 American tourists visiting in early March 2013. This was a great trip to the castle with the additional benefit of seeing several other sites that other tourists going to the castle wouldn't get the chance to experience. Seigmund was a great guide and clearly knows a good bit about the area. Additionally, as we had a private tour, he was completely flexible with our preferences. Definitely money well spent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best way to see the area around Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked a private coach tour for our family of 5 on holiday for Christmas. Mikes tours was extremely helpful in setting up the tour reservation. Our trip consisted of a private van pickup at the hotel followed by a drive through scenic Bavaria to the extraordinary Neuschwanstein Castle. After a good hike around the grounds, we had our tour. Siggi gave great background and running commentary. We then departed for Garmisch via Schloss linderhoff. Linderhoff was mostly shut for the season, but the hike on the grounds running in the snow was just what our Dubai based family needed. Incredible scenery on some back roads we simply would not have found ourselves with GPS and a rental car.
Garmisch, with all its shops and Christmas market was exactly what we had hoped for. After all that fresh, cold air and walking, the weinerschnitzel and desserts at Alpenhof were incredible and did not last long.
On the ride to the hotel, Siggi was extremely helpful in giving us tips for the rest of our trip.
All in all, a wonderful, unforgettable experience that was worth every penny. We would also highly reccomend Siggi who was a most delightful and remarkable host. ;-)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Barvaria December 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

WOW! We had the best time while staying in Munich thanks to Siegmund of Mike's Private Tours. He took us from the hotel to several castles and beautifule settings in both Germany and Austria. Relaxed time and completely flexible. If you are looking for a cuckoo clock, Sigemund is the guy! After shopping with my wife for a few hours at several places in Oberammergau, he probably has every one of the clocks memorized. This was easliy one of the highlights of our Germany Christmas trip. I will gladly pass along Sigemunds name to all of our traveling friends!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Private Tours of and Beyond Munich also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Mike's Private Tours of and Beyond Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Private Tours of and Beyond Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mike's Private Tours of and Beyond Munich to your Saves list