We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldest Hotel in Munich still the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Save Saved
You added Hotel Torbraeu to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oldest Hotel in Munich still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is located in a perfect spot right at one of the gates to the Old Town right next to Isator tube station and literally right at the beginning of the shopping street where you can find anything you want to buy. Its also a very short walk up to the tourist information bureau at Marienplatz where all the walking tours start. Apart from the superb location, the hotel itself is very well looked after with the best of facilities and modern furnishings. I stayed in a single room which although small, was very plush; the only downside being there were no tea-making facilities but this was a minor issue in the whole scheme of things. Munich was my last stop on a three week tour of Europe and this was by far the best hotel I stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    166
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
162
212
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was in the Torbräu hotel for 4 nights while in a business trip to Munich. Nice hotel. Single rooms were a bit in the small side, but they were spotlessly clean, well-appointed and with an efficient use of all the space available. Breakfast was quite good, with a good selection and the possibility of seating outside in a balcony. Free wifi (had no problems whatsoever with reception myself unlike other reviewers). It has also a bar/restaurant that I did not use so I cannot comment. Staff was very nice and helpful.
Very centrally located, just next to the Isartor and very short walk from the Marienplatz, Deutsches Museum, Viktualienmarkt. It is also next to the Isartor S-Bahn station which is connected directly to the airport by S8 line (30-35min).
There is also a small Supermarket very close by and a bakery just opposite to the hotel. In all, a really nice experience and a hotel I would definitely go back if in Munich.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The couple of negative comments will detract from our overall experience which was very good.

Our WiFi reception was patchy.

It was difficult finding the parking area. Punching in the address for the hotel itself in the GPS (Tal 41) did not help (our parking was on the corner of Marienstrasse and Pflugstrasse).

Room Tip: Our room faced east and was good, except for WiFi recption.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed one night in Sept. 2014. Outstanding hotel! Very close/ within the marianplatz and close to the s Bahn train. I highly recommend this hotel to others. We were traveling on a family vacation. What a great 1st night in Munich.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Torbrau is a lovely hotel - a great location, spotlessly clean, good breakfasts. Well located for an easy 5 minute stroll into the city centre and right next to Isator station with direct train to airport . Friendly and helpful staff. We have stayed here twice and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is an easy walk from the train station and center of town. We had a suite that was very spacious and modern. There was a sitting area and giant bathroom. L'Occitane amenities. Good a/c. Great breakfast, a large variety of choices. Front desk staff extremely friendly. No problems at all! I had to give this hotel 5 stars b/c they really helped us out of a pinch. We pulled the rookie move and left our passports in the safe. They DHL'd our passports overnight to our next hotel in Fussen. I would recommend this hotel to friends and I would definitely stay here again! Email me any questions.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an excellent time in Munich. Our hotel was centrally located - very close to the Hofbrauhaus but not too close. The included breakfast was great and the manager kept close eye that the buffet remained fresh and full of choices. The concierge helped us get around the city and we had no trouble using the subway across the street. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#3 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#26 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torbraeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;