We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torbraeu to your Saves list
Hotel Torbraeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 386 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All round excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked over the internet and we were not disappointed! The staff in the hotel, breakfast room and Restaurant Schapeau were outstanding! Nothing was too much trouble! The breakfast was brilliant- the meal we had in the hotel was delicious ! The hotel is handy for all of Munich City centre and has marvellous Italian and Croatian restaurants round the corner! From our room we happily went off to sleep to the beautiful bells of the City! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    184
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
179
244
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Munich was the first stop on a four city, 18 night vacation in Europe for my 18 year-old son and I (his Dad). The Hotel Torbraeu set a standard for service that was not matched for the rest of our trip.

We originally had a reservation at another Munich hotel when the dates of our trip changed. We lost our low rate at our first hotel and once the price differential narrowed significantly, we decided to stay at the Torbraeu - that was a great decision.

We had a great deal of interaction with the front desk staff, starting with our arrival without our luggage. Our bags did not make our flight to Munich. One bag showed up our second night, the other bag on our fourth night. The front desk staff was very helpful in assisting with finding a way for us to do laundry, buy clothes and track down our bags.

The staff we dealt with all spoke English and we had no communication issues. They helpfully made several phone calls to local businesses for us, serving as our de facto interpreters. This review will specifically mention three employees, but all we came in contact with were a joy to deal with.

Jacqueline checked us in and gave us a thorough overview of the hotel. The hotel uses actual keys and we were unable to solve how to unlock the door. Jacqueline came up and went through how to unlock the door and after some practice we had it figured out.

The room was small by American standards, but was very comfortable. We had a room with two twin beds. The room also had a desk chair as well as another chair, a bench area, a full length closet and a desk. We made ample use of the in room safe (which used a credit card to lock). The air conditioning worked well. We were pleased to see a lot of electrical outlets in the room. We never ran out of room to charge our phones, camera or Ipads.

The bathroom had adequate counter space. Two sets of toiletries were always in the room. Bath towels were luxurious, but no wash cloths. We had decent water pressure, nice hot water supply. The shower had a half wall made of glass. There was a wand showerhead with a bar that held it high enough for me (6-2).

The key and keychain were quite large. We left the key at the front desk each time we left the hotel, which led to a lot of interaction with the staff. In addition to Jacqueline, we found Andrea and Andreas to be extremely helpful and friendly. We had more conversations with the staff at The Torbraeu in five nights than we did in the 13 nights we spent in London, Bayeux and Paris.

The elevator was very small. We walked the steps most of the time as we had only one flight to climb. There was a nice sitting area on the ground floor - my son and I spent a few nights playing Quiddler (a card game) at night.

There were plenty of places to eat along Tal. The hotel's morning breakfast buffet was included in the room price. Breads, pastries, juices. Omelettes made to order. We sometimes slept a bit too long to be able to fully take advantage.

The free wi-fi required passwords for each of our devices, but worked very well.

I am not sure if our travels will bring us back to Munich. If it does, we will stay at the Torbraeu.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trondheim
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Service : Fantastic 4,9
Room: (Business) Very very good 4,7
Breakfast: Good 4,5
The site is fabulous easy walking distance to Victualienmarkt, Marienstrasse, Opera, Hofbräuhouse and very many other things.

ad service: In the reception, breakfast and restaurant, absolutely top friendly and nice.
Room: Very good noise isolation, fantastic aircondition, ok size, nice bath
Breakfast: N Everything you need.
Restaurant: Good at all times, late at night 11.00 pm the managed to get us something to eat 2 evenings
Enare

Room Tip: business room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Torbrau upon arrival in Munich on our way to a Ryder-Walker hiking trip in the German Alps, on the recommendation of R-W. The hotel has a great location next to an underground station serving the rail lines connecting to the airport and other rail services. The hotel front desk graciously volunteered to store our extra luggage during the week of our hiking trip, and were more than helpful on recommendations for pleasant places for dinner. It was an easy walk to the market, to outdoor concerts, and to enough points of interest to keep us well-occupied during our day in Munich. Our room was of course clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family of 4 just stayed 3 nights there. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very nice and the breakfast was wonderful. There is a S-Bahn station right across the street and walking distance to Hofbrauhaus etc. The attached restaurant was also very good and superb wait staff that got to know us and treated us like old friends. There are cheaper hotels in Munich, but this one was worth it for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Torbraeu in June for two nights. Outside it looks like a charming little hotel. Inside, the same. Our room was quite small with only a view of the next building. We asked for another, but nothing else was available. It didn't really matter, though, since we weren't in the room very much. The front desk staff were all accommodating, friendly and very helpful. The location was right next to the old wall of the city and right around the corner from the main shopping area and the big beer garden. An easy area to walk around with lots of nice restaurants. In fact, the restaurant connected to the hotel was very good. The breakfasts at the hotel were exceptional. All in all, a great two night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

my family and i recently spent some time in munich and stayed at the torbreau. we had two adjoining rooms on the 5th floor. the rooms were very spacious, in good condition, and had nice views. the elevator isn't overly spacious (its an old hotel), so plan on getting some exercise going up and down the stairs. for us, this wasn't an issue. breakfast came with the room and was varied and good. service was excellent in the dining room and throughout the hotel. staff was very attentive and accommodating. hotel has parking across street. location is excellent. highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torbraeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.