We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and comfort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torbraeu to your Saves list
Hotel Torbraeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tal 41, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and comfort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels around the world, but never experienced such fantastic service and attention to detail. The hotel is family owned, and it shows. There appears to be a great relationship amongst the staff - their teamwork is great, the efficiency is second to none, and the staff seem happy to be working there. There is a lot of wit amongst the bar and restaurant staff, and the excellent drinks and food were served promptly and efficiently. One of our friends was unsure which beer to choose, and immediately a tray of samples was produced. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and again the staff were attentive and brought coffee and tea promptly. International newspapers were also available in the breakfast area. The hotel is smallish and the rooms not huge (ours was a bit dark), but very well appointed and immaculately clean. The furniture are a light wood (cherry?), and very attractive. The hotel is located next to Isartor underground, and a 5 minute walk from main square. I can recommend the torbrau without reservation. Just excellent.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MeribelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nevada, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Sept. 2013. We had a king room on the top floor with lovely views of the Rathaus, cathedral, and other beautiful buildings around Marienplatz. Hotel is right next to one of the oldest gates to the city, the Isartor. Room was nicely updated, plenty comfortable, and spacious enough for the small time we spent indoors. AC was adequate. Hotel staff were charming, very welcoming and helpful with whatever we needed. You are steps from the Marienplatz and the Viktualienmarket. Great food all around but don't miss the hotel's restaurant; the chef is young and strikes a great balance between the new and the traditional. Bar staff were great, very friendly. Breakfast included with room was a large selection of European meats, cheeses and breads, along with eggs to order and wonderful fresh fruit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the beginning and at the end of our month and a half in Europe with the Hotel Torbrau. Just inside the gates of Old Munchen, the Marienplatz district is quintessential Germany. The glockenspiel clock is a must see as well as the dining and shopping. Whether you want trendy, classic or kitsch, it's all available.

Dining and evening strolling are just steps away from this wonderful old hotel. The rooms are a bit on the small side and the furnishings a bit dated, but easily overlooked by the helpfulness of the staff and a wonderful breakfast on the outside terrace.

One of our ventures took us just outside the gates of the old city along the Isar River in the Englischer Garten Park. A beautiful walk and the river views of impressive architecture on all sides.

We will go back and stay at the Hotel Torbrau, even with newer and more impressive hotels and amentities in other areas. It's nice to walk out the front of the hotel and be in the heart of Munchen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MunchenM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
219 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our flight arrived early in the morning so we were just going to store our bags. The desk clerk checked with housekeeping and found a great, quiet room overlooking the courtyard. It was spotlessly clean and I am VERY picky! The staff were all so warm and courteous. The breakfast was great with cooked to order eggs, omelets, coffee, espresso, pastries, meats, cheeses, fruits etc. The hotel was convenient to the metro line and all the tourist areas and restaurants. The only drawback was the hotel was built when small bathrooms were the norm but it was so clean. There was a business center with computer, printer to use. Perfect!

Room Tip: Courtyard view for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived very early by train on a rainy, Sunday morning. Hotel policy doesn't allow until a late check-in, but I think the front desk took pity on us and found us a fabulous room where we could immediately take a hot shower and relax. For that I am forever grateful! The location of the hotel is superb and within easy walking of all the major downtown sites. Public transportation is also close-By for further away sites. I thought the breakfast offered a wide variety of food and the staff made us always feel very welcome. The rooms were a bit pricey, but Munich itself is expensive and the hotel has an interesting history. I think the cost is well worth the location and service. Very classy!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LindseyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel. Coming from Los Angeles to Germany for the first time I really had no idea where to stay in Munich. Trip Advisor lead me to Hotel Torbreau. The reviews were spot on. Front desk staff is one of the best -- and I travel a lot. Upon check in the woman reminded me that I had requested a 'quiet room'. I had completely forgotten about it. She was completely on top of it and gave us a quiet room overlooking the center courtyard in the hotel. If you have not been to Munich then you may not know that this location, while great, can be a bit loud and bustling. We did not hear any street noise the whole time we stayed. The rooms were quite adequate but most importantly: clean. Some of the cleanest I have ever seen. I mean spotless. This is important to me in my travels. The only drawback was the beds. Not quite comfortable for us as they were very stiff and not very comfy. But we didn't care as our days were packed and we were just happy to get off our feet at the end if the day. Breakfast was good...just wish there were some good old American scrambled eggs for us non meat eaters as we were stuck with bread , fruit and tomatoes each morning. Yes there was cheese but you can only eat so much cheese. Overall perfect, wonderful place to stay. Andreas, like other reviewers said, is a rock star.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank agj789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the welcoming and helpful team, followed closely by the great location. It is the oldest hotel in Munich and I'd expected a little more based on the reviews I'd read before booking. The room was pleasant enough, the decor a little dated, perhaps an 80's classic. Bathroom was small, shower head wouldn't stay upright which was a bit annoying. The room had good aircon but no mini-bar. Pillows were quite thin, it was a good incentive to be outside exploring Munich.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#7 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#3 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#6 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#16 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#8 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Low Cost Holidays and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing