We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Surprise in the Heart of Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Torbraeu to your Saves list
Hotel Torbraeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 378 Hotels in Munich
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Surprise in the Heart of Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Arriving late at night in Munich, without a hotel reservation, is not a desirable position in which to be. Being an adventurous group, however, that normally it's not an issue with us. But on this trip, when we arrived in Munich we noticed we were competing with an exhibition of many people, who were filling fine local hotels. I previously looked up a selection of hotels and for the city, but I'm very happy that I did not make advance reservations. Many of the hotels showing available were actually in a seedy part of town just a few blocks away. And others, when I stopped in to check availability for The night found that they were priced outside the range at which was my comfort level. Two hotels were over $600 a night. That's generally not in the traveler's budget!

Fortunately,after a bit of desperation, we happened upon the Hotel Torbrau What a wonderful surprise!. From the street, late at night, it doesn't appear to be as outstanding as it is. no grand lobby; no uniformed attendants; just clean, pleasant reception ready for their tired guests. Omar just came on duty and was most accommodating with our room and parking requirements.l knew I would be pleased without even seeing the room. Our room, for three people, was on the first floor one level up from the reception. The room has ample space plus I'm vestibule at the entrance of the room with a separate closet area plus a very large bathroom. The bathroom had a king-size tub, great shower and dual sink, which made it ideal for rinsing our travel clothes, and all the amenities one could want. Our room at three windows overlooking the street and was very comfortable. In the morning we stopped by for breakfast. I'm traveling throughout Germany when a hotel offers a breakfast buffet it usually has limited variety of items. Usually one will find cold cereal perhaps a hard-boiled eggs and fruits of varying kinds. This buffet however how resembles one you would find at one of the finer hotels; complete with linen tablecloths and china dishes. top this off with a very courteous and attentive staff and you have a winner every time! The dining room also has a delightful balcony overlooking the streets in the city.

Obviously, I rate this hotel very highly. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone. The Hotel Torbrau has earned five gold stars in my opinion.

Dictated on my iPad with Dragon.

Room Tip: Be nice. Courtesy is contagious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    169
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
164
218
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Another find thanks to Trip Advisor. We booked a Junior Suite and it was a lovely 2 room, large bathroom suite. A lovely outlook, very quiet with space for two to spread out, nice after a few weeks away. We stayed 5 nights and the help from reception was wonderful as were the staff in the breakfast room. It is really nice to have breakfast included in the room rate too.

Just a few steps from the train and walk to the marketplace and stacks of restaurants made the stay great. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

There are many good reasons for choosing Hotel Torbrau. I think these are the best reasons for choosing the hotel:

- The hotel has a central location
- The front desk oozes solid hotel training and delivers consistently high quality service*
- The hotel is generally well maintained although a bit outdated when it comes to interior design
- Wifi is free of charge although not high speed

*As an example of the service the hotel offers: when we had to leave for an early flight the staff ensured that we were given free breakfast-boxes to eat in the taxi. Now that's how you make hotel guests leave a hotel on good terms.

The only downsides that I would recall are that:

- The hotel only has a tiny and old elevator (type: one person with two suitcases fills the whole space) and walking up the gigantic stairways may not be an option for all guests.

- The minibar is starved and you will have to rely on room service for example to get a soft drink, and the room service menu is quite uninteresting.

- There is no pay-TV/in-room entertainment system

- The rooms are priced at the higher end of the scale compared to what the hotel offers all in all. I would not go as far as to say that it's unreasonably priced but...

All in all -- it's the high quality staff that makes this hotel sparkle! With another type of staff, I would probably only have rated the hotel "average" instead of "very good" in light of the high-price-but-low-frills offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family of four adults stayed here for three nights. We were in two deluxe rooms, each of which was spacious, comfortably furnished and bright with morning sunshine. The rooms were clean and the beds were quite comfortable. Traffic noise was modest, perhaps because there is some minor road reconstruction taking place on the street and certain access routes are closed. Onecof the best attributes of this hotel is its excellent location, which is only a short walk to Marienplatz and so many other preferred venues in the city center. There's also a metro / subway stop about 100 yards from the hotel entrance for those wanting to visit something further away from the city center, such as Dachau. We rented a car on our last night, and the hotel offered us parking at a very reasonable cost. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Torbrau is a great hotel experience. The location is ideal within a few minutes easy walk (5-10 minutes with backpacks) from the Sbahn-get off at Isator station. Also just a 5 minute walk to the Mareinplatz and Hoffbrau house! The rooms are very quiet and are spotlessly clean! The bed was the most comfortable in our entire European adventure. We would highly recommend this hotel to all of you future travellers! You won't be disappointed! We also enjoyed the Mike's Bikes tour and we'd highly recommend that!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel within walking distance to the Marienplatz area where you will find the Glockenspiel, St. Peter's Church, the outdoor market and the Hofbrauhaus. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable with great pillows and comforters. The staff recommended a great restaurant for dinner and was very friendly. After a day of exploring Munich we sat outside of the restaurant to enjoy martinis and people watch. There is an excellent breakfast buffet that is included with your room. We would love to return to Hotel Torbrau!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borough London
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Torbrau with my wife and 6 year old daughter for a long weekend and was made to feel very welcome. The staff have been trained to a very high level and were always extremely helpful and courteous. The hotel is located very close to Marienplatz and is in close proximity to a great selection of shops, restaurant, bars and Isartor S-bahn station.
Our room was comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was of very high standard as you would expect from a Bavarian hotel. Another great feature of this hotel was the free wi-fi - there is nothing more annoying than having to pay for this services in most other hotels.
We also visited the hotel's restaurant which served an extremely high standard of Bavarian food including the delicious in season asparagras. In summary I would highly recommend this hotel either to a business traveller or family wishing to stay in Munich.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#3 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
#28 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torbraeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.