We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central with historic charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torbraeu to your Saves list
Hotel Torbraeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tal 41, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Central with historic charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Another find thanks to Trip Advisor. We booked a Junior Suite and it was a lovely 2 room, large bathroom suite. A lovely outlook, very quiet with space for two to spread out, nice after a few weeks away. We stayed 5 nights and the help from reception was wonderful as were the staff in the breakfast room. It is really nice to have breakfast included in the room rate too.

Just a few steps from the train and walk to the marketplace and stacks of restaurants made the stay great. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KED740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

There are many good reasons for choosing Hotel Torbrau. I think these are the best reasons for choosing the hotel:

- The hotel has a central location
- The front desk oozes solid hotel training and delivers consistently high quality service*
- The hotel is generally well maintained although a bit outdated when it comes to interior design
- Wifi is free of charge although not high speed

*As an example of the service the hotel offers: when we had to leave for an early flight the staff ensured that we were given free breakfast-boxes to eat in the taxi. Now that's how you make hotel guests leave a hotel on good terms.

The only downsides that I would recall are that:

- The hotel only has a tiny and old elevator (type: one person with two suitcases fills the whole space) and walking up the gigantic stairways may not be an option for all guests.

- The minibar is starved and you will have to rely on room service for example to get a soft drink, and the room service menu is quite uninteresting.

- There is no pay-TV/in-room entertainment system

- The rooms are priced at the higher end of the scale compared to what the hotel offers all in all. I would not go as far as to say that it's unreasonably priced but...

All in all -- it's the high quality staff that makes this hotel sparkle! With another type of staff, I would probably only have rated the hotel "average" instead of "very good" in light of the high-price-but-low-frills offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JEM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family of four adults stayed here for three nights. We were in two deluxe rooms, each of which was spacious, comfortably furnished and bright with morning sunshine. The rooms were clean and the beds were quite comfortable. Traffic noise was modest, perhaps because there is some minor road reconstruction taking place on the street and certain access routes are closed. Onecof the best attributes of this hotel is its excellent location, which is only a short walk to Marienplatz and so many other preferred venues in the city center. There's also a metro / subway stop about 100 yards from the hotel entrance for those wanting to visit something further away from the city center, such as Dachau. We rented a car on our last night, and the hotel offered us parking at a very reasonable cost. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Torbrau is a great hotel experience. The location is ideal within a few minutes easy walk (5-10 minutes with backpacks) from the Sbahn-get off at Isator station. Also just a 5 minute walk to the Mareinplatz and Hoffbrau house! The rooms are very quiet and are spotlessly clean! The bed was the most comfortable in our entire European adventure. We would highly recommend this hotel to all of you future travellers! You won't be disappointed! We also enjoyed the Mike's Bikes tour and we'd highly recommend that!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel within walking distance to the Marienplatz area where you will find the Glockenspiel, St. Peter's Church, the outdoor market and the Hofbrauhaus. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable with great pillows and comforters. The staff recommended a great restaurant for dinner and was very friendly. After a day of exploring Munich we sat outside of the restaurant to enjoy martinis and people watch. There is an excellent breakfast buffet that is included with your room. We would love to return to Hotel Torbrau!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoNCTravelingFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borough London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Torbrau with my wife and 6 year old daughter for a long weekend and was made to feel very welcome. The staff have been trained to a very high level and were always extremely helpful and courteous. The hotel is located very close to Marienplatz and is in close proximity to a great selection of shops, restaurant, bars and Isartor S-bahn station.
Our room was comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was of very high standard as you would expect from a Bavarian hotel. Another great feature of this hotel was the free wi-fi - there is nothing more annoying than having to pay for this services in most other hotels.
We also visited the hotel's restaurant which served an extremely high standard of Bavarian food including the delicious in season asparagras. In summary I would highly recommend this hotel either to a business traveller or family wishing to stay in Munich.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia, Moscow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is located in the very centre which is very convenient. Rooms are medium in size, clean and comfortable. On average breakfast buffet, which is a bit disappointing knowing what portions are usually known for Bavaria. There is a restaurant in the hotel but we didn't visit it, only bar in the 1st day.
In general a decent hotel. I would stay there again.
There are only 3 insignificant remarks.
1).On default they give us only 1 key from the room, which is not convinient if you divided and one of you came back earlier and decided to take a shower, it takes time to find a reserve key.
2). WiFi is free, but you need to ask WiFi password every 24 hours on reception.
3). We had 1bad but there were separate mattresses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#6 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,537 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#3 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#7 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.1 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#16 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing