We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Save Saved
You added Hotel Torbraeu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 383 hotels in Munich
arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As much as I travel and use Tripadvisor, I decided it is time for me to add some reviews. I stayed in this wonderful hotel for 5 nights over New Years with my 10 year old daughter and loved it. It is an easy direct subway ride to this location, no transfers required from airport. Ask the airport help desk for a subway map, it was very useful.
Walk up the stairs near the subway bakery, look to your left across a narrow lane, and you will see the stars on the hotel sign. You will not need a cab to the hotel if you are able to carry your bags up the 2 short flights of subway stairs. It is only a few minutes walk to Marienplatz, and also walking distance to the wonderful science and industry museum. The hotel has been kept updated, and everything was in great shape, and clean. Breakfast was included and eggs were done to order. It was excellent. Wifi was also included, and was okay, not great. Not every hotel in Munich provides breakfast and wifi, and they can be expensive, so these amenities added great value. English was well spoken by courteous staff, some friendlier than others, but all willing to help. When I checked out, they even offered to have a staff member carry my bags to the subway, and also took my bags to my room. There is a small elevator and only carry on size bags fit, but it was not a problem. The only reason I did not give the property 5 stars was that my room, for the intermediate price level, seemed small, with many angles from the 5th floor roof providing places to bump my head. Also the restaurant attached is under new management, and did not offer any items for children. On the plus side, the top floor view toward Marienplatz was fabulous, incredible for New Year's Eve fireworks. There is a nice little restaurant , Opajita, just around the first corner as you head toward Marienplatz. Good food, reasonable prices, English menu available. I loved the hotel, would stay again, but would try for their larger rooms facing Marienplatz next time.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the the largest rooms on the 5th floor facing Marienplatz. Nice views. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    155
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
144
194
34
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Excellent location, situated beside the Isator S Bahn station and 5 mins walk from the Marienplatz and a host of shops, bars and restaurants, oh and just 3 mins walk from the famous Hoffbrau House, can't forget this! The Hotel staff were very friendly, spoke excellent English and were keen to help with travel plans. I believe the Hotel has been undergoing refurbishment so is very nicely decorated with all new bathrooms. The only negative I would say about the bathroom is that the bath is very slippy and could use a rubber mat for safety. The continental breakfast had a varied selection of fruits, cold meats, cheeses, breads and croissants all very fresh and excellent quality. My husband and I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel in the future. One last thing, the rooms were very quiet, you couldn't hear the traffic of other visitors outside your room.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Torbrau over New Years, and had a fabulous time. The hotel could not be more convenient for exploring Munich. It is a 5 minute walk to Marienplatz and a subway station is steps from the front door. There are all kinds of excellent restaurants close by, and the hotel's Schapeau was very good. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a great breakfast buffet in the morning, that is beautifully prepared and presented. You can also order omelettes and eggs. We stayed at the hotel for New Years' Eve, and had their buffet dinner which was served in the breakfast room. They had a swing band, and the food was wonderful. At midnight, Munich went crazy. I have never seen freelance fireworks like that. Quite dangerous, but also fun. If I get back to Munich, I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was newly remodeled. Not sure if every room has been redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a tricky one, I would really like to give it 4.5.
We had a deluxe dbl at the Torbrau. It was an older style room and at first seemed a bit closed in with only one small window in the main room and another in the bathroom. However the room was spacious and very comfortable with a good bed and a seating area with a couch, 2 chairs and a coffee table. The bathroom was large, with a seperate shower and bath and his/hers sinks. Everything was well presented. There was tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
Breakfast was wonderful with an enormous selection at the buffet and egg dishes cooked to order. There is another restaurant/bar downstairs.
The location is great, so central. There is some parking available just outside the hotel.
Really there was nothing wrong with this hotel, it was just a little characterless. That is probably just my taste, but so many places we stayed at in Bavaria had so much charm and the Torbrau did not. It felt a little cold, a little stuffy.
With one exception, all the staff we dealt with were very pleasant. Overall it was a good stay, and I would stay here again, but it was not one of my favourites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of old town, with reasonable room prices and attentive staff! Excellent breakfast and spacious rooms!
The hotel even congratulated the guests with Russian Christmas, provided sweets and champagne!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights just before Christmas and would definitely stay here again - it was fantastic! The hotel location is perfect; we took the S-Bahn from Munich Airport and there was stop right opposite the hotel entrance. Hotel Torbrau is pretty much in the centre and it was only a very short walk to the Marienplatz, Hofbrauhaus etc.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and were quite happy to go out of their way to make our trip extra special!
The room was impeccably clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely: always fresh and with plenty of variety.
We also ate in the restaurant Schapeau (separate review) and would recommend it for food and drinks.
We were lucky enough to experience Christmas in Bavaria and the markets in & around the Marienplatz were wonderful. The only thing missing from our trip was snow but you can't have everything!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent three nights here at Christmas. Great service, friendly staff, great Internet connection, clean and comfortable. Absolutely perfect stay. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great Munich experience! Breakfast was especially good, and the adjacent restaurant was so good we ate there twice and had drinks there on another occasion.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#5 Family Hotel in Munich
#15 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torbraeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.