We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hard one to review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torbraeu to your Saves list
Hotel Torbraeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A hard one to review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a tricky one, I would really like to give it 4.5.
We had a deluxe dbl at the Torbrau. It was an older style room and at first seemed a bit closed in with only one small window in the main room and another in the bathroom. However the room was spacious and very comfortable with a good bed and a seating area with a couch, 2 chairs and a coffee table. The bathroom was large, with a seperate shower and bath and his/hers sinks. Everything was well presented. There was tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
Breakfast was wonderful with an enormous selection at the buffet and egg dishes cooked to order. There is another restaurant/bar downstairs.
The location is great, so central. There is some parking available just outside the hotel.
Really there was nothing wrong with this hotel, it was just a little characterless. That is probably just my taste, but so many places we stayed at in Bavaria had so much charm and the Torbrau did not. It felt a little cold, a little stuffy.
With one exception, all the staff we dealt with were very pleasant. Overall it was a good stay, and I would stay here again, but it was not one of my favourites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    181
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
170
236
43
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of old town, with reasonable room prices and attentive staff! Excellent breakfast and spacious rooms!
The hotel even congratulated the guests with Russian Christmas, provided sweets and champagne!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights just before Christmas and would definitely stay here again - it was fantastic! The hotel location is perfect; we took the S-Bahn from Munich Airport and there was stop right opposite the hotel entrance. Hotel Torbrau is pretty much in the centre and it was only a very short walk to the Marienplatz, Hofbrauhaus etc.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and were quite happy to go out of their way to make our trip extra special!
The room was impeccably clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely: always fresh and with plenty of variety.
We also ate in the restaurant Schapeau (separate review) and would recommend it for food and drinks.
We were lucky enough to experience Christmas in Bavaria and the markets in & around the Marienplatz were wonderful. The only thing missing from our trip was snow but you can't have everything!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent three nights here at Christmas. Great service, friendly staff, great Internet connection, clean and comfortable. Absolutely perfect stay. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great Munich experience! Breakfast was especially good, and the adjacent restaurant was so good we ate there twice and had drinks there on another occasion.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Unusual these days, for many hotels to remain the same or better. It seems like updating lags behind because of lacking funds to maintain. Not the case with the Hotel Torbrau. Over the years, we have stayed here 3 or 4 times. The hotel has been modernized, updated and is a great choice for a key location in Munich. A very plentiful breakfast, knowledgeable and helpful staff and well priced.
This visit, during the Christmas Markets, each evening from 5:00 until 7:00 pm, we were greeted with gluhwein and cookies. Nice when you come in from the cold.
Excellent hotel. good rates for Munich!

Room Tip: We asked for a room that did not from the street. Our request was filled to perfection and our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. Very accomodating and friendly staff that went out of their way to help. An excellent location for walking around Munich. The room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom spotless and large. We opted for the room with a separate sitting area and made the right choice. The raised area with the bed was a little cramped, but, being a corner room, the windows made it seem larger. The two windows faced the street, but we couldn't hear a thing. Very quiet. We were given gluhwein and cookies in the lobby when returning from the snowy Christmas market at the Marienplatz. There was a business center with a computer where we printed off our boarding passes. The experience couldn't have been better. We'll absolutely be back.

Room Tip: Get the room with the separate sitting area. It made the visit even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Attentive staff, ready to help. Clean, comfortable rooms (some on the small side). Five minute walk from Marienplatz and 100 feet from the Isator S stop. Great breakfast in the AM. Great value for the $.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#36 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torbraeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.