We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Plus in the Heart of Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torbraeu to your Saves list
Hotel Torbraeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hospitality Plus in the Heart of Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Attentive staff, ready to help. Clean, comfortable rooms (some on the small side). Five minute walk from Marienplatz and 100 feet from the Isator S stop. Great breakfast in the AM. Great value for the $.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    192
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
185
253
45
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

very nice property, expertly located. we had a basic double room. not large but big enough. very clean, nice modern bathroom and the most comfortable bed I slept in during our trip. not cheap, but munich is not cheap. and a very good breakfast as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went to Munich on a business trip together with a group of 8 for 2 days - the 2 following days it was a pleasure trip together with my husband. Everybody was very satisfied - which is normally almost impossible - to make everybody happy I mean! Very central, very clean, very friendly and helpful staff... And very delicate in all ways. The rooms, the breakfast (order your own omelets etc) and the decorations. I really liked the unique combination of old tradition / history and modern design - it was all so clean!. Very service minded lobby bar with piano music and friendly waiter - perfect after a night out. Especially the waiter from Ireland was nice! We were even offered free Gluwein in the reception. I will defiantly stay here next time, and so will all the others in my group!

Room Tip: My husband and I had a superior room, 201, and it was perfect. Clean, calm (back yard) windows in al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid November (couple with a 21 month old daughter). Front desk staff is very friendly and responsive. We arranged babysitting for 1 night via email with the front desk staff and were very satisfied with our experience.

Location wise, this is a fantastic choice. The main attractions like Marienplatz, Viktualienmarkt, Hofbrauhaus, etc are all less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The high end commercial stores are also a stone's throw away. Very accessible from the highway (didnt have much traffic getting to the hotel or back on the autobahn).

Rooms were clean and spacious. We had a room facing a side street on the 5th floor and there was no street noise on both the Fri and Sat nights we stayed there. There were 2 complimentary bottles of water provided in the room for our 2 night stay. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with ample toiletries and a well functioning hair dryer. No shower cap was provided but the front desk took care of that in minutes when I requested one. Beautiful bathtub with a built-in shower.

The hotel offers paid parking and if their lot is full, you can park at nearby hotels as well (front desk staff will guide you) for about 16€/day.

The hotel has a restaurant/bar called Schapeau. Very good food but slightly overpriced, extremely friendly staff and quite kid friendly ambiance. Locals seem to frequent this place late at nights for drinks. A Sunday brunch with live swing music seems to be also quite popular at the hotel.

There are a number of restaurant choices all within minutes of walking distance from the hotel. We ate in Schapeau the 1st night since we arrived rather late and tried a typical Bavarian restaurant about 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel on the 2nd night.

Breakfast was included in our room rate. The buffet spread was quite varied and included a few varieties of local sausage, eggs made to order, a large choice of pastries and breads, several kinds of cheese, salads, cereals, yogurts, jams, fresh juices, sekt, etc.

Room Tip: If you are averse to taking stairs, ask for a room on a lower floor since the single operating eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Yes, I really liked it. Reservation for 2 rooms, 3 nights. It is a great hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Smaller rooms, but standard for Europe. Triple was a bit crowded (third bed = small couch) Very nice breakfast. Walking to Marienplatz, Hofbrauhaus, train close by. Pretty expensive. Will stay there next summer

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel Torbrau has a prefect location at Isartor near Marienplatz.
Room and breakfast was excellent.

We did miss a refrigurator to cool our champagne, but the hotel delivered a wine cooler promptly.
When we needed ironing a shirt, the hotel delivered an ironing kit promptly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel Torbrau is the perfect hotel for visitors to Munich. Although the rooms are a little small the charm of the place makes up for that. Great restaurant attached and the S baun station is only 25 meters from their front door making it a breeze to get to the airport. Friendly staff, great breakfast room. You can't go wrong....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#27 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torbraeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.