We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel Close to Train Station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regent

Save Saved
You added Hotel Regent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seidlstrasse 2, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #283 of 383 hotels in Munich
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel Close to Train Station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The room and bathroom are more spacious than most hotels. It is super close to the train station and since we were taking day trips from Munich to the surrounding area, the location was perfect for us. The center of town is a 10-15 minute leisure walk.

On the down side, the decor is plain, the bed isn't very comfortable and there's no AC (but then again, it's surprisingly hard to find AC in Germany. Be it at an international airport, mall, restaurant, etc...).

Due to its proximity to the train station, I'd consider staying here again. However, I've never before seen a 4 star hotel without AC. I'd give this hotel a 2.5 - 3 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    187
    175
    84
    74
See reviews for
69
151
41
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

the only thing good about Hotel Regent in Munich are the reception staff, they are efficient, helpful and knowlwdgeable. bedrooms are very shabby,very cheap furniture and basicially falling apart, bed was comfortable. claim to have satallite TV(CNN news channel) not available requested maintenance check it at reception 3 days in a row. the bathroom was large but shower curtain flithly and no toilitries except two very nasty bottles of hair/show gel one at bath adn one at double sink. Breakfast was plentiful but again very cheap ingredients, for example juice and tea/coffee machines worked occasionally one machine or the other always broken, tinned fruit salad and a few apples and bananas (fresh) scrambled eggs you could plaster a wall with and very fatty bacon, selection of cheese (2) and some cold meats. the hotel is busy with clients but would doubt if they are repeat clients. the hotel is rated as a 3:5 star and this is hard to believe.

Room Tip: avoid if you can. the rate charge is not exceptional value so there is no reason to stay in such a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a holiday at this hotel very recently and was left really unhappy. It was not up to standards that should be of a 4 star, The breakfast was shocking, I am suprised how basic it was and lack of normal breakfast foods you can get almost everywhere, pots and glasses were glasses old and had to wait as they replenished. The only fruit available was canned apart from Bananas and Apples.

The room had no air con and is very bad to go in the summer because of this. The train station and tube station is very close and we were unable to open the window because of this.

The televisions in the room were very small and old with only 1 English channel what kept flicking on and off. No tea or coffee was in and the hotel was only open for breakfast and then again at 6pm at night. I was not happy that no refreshments were available in the day.

The decor was very dated.

The only positive about this hotel was that the staff were very nice.

Room Tip: Avoid having a room, overlooking the station, they is no air-con and the window cant be opened becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located just across the street from Munich's central station which is not a bad location. The positives of the hotel are that the rooms are clean & spacious. The breakfast buffet is quite okay. It has hot & cold as well as bread rolls, toast & pastries. The hotel is a good 3 Star hotel.
The drawbacks are that none of their rooms have air-conditioning which is a must in the hot summer months. Each room is equipped with a ventilator but they are essentially ineffective, especially if your room is facing south. If you open your window, the noise from both the street & the railway station can be quite load. In fairness the windows, when closed, are soundproof. But with closed windows in the summer months, you almost bake in the room. Should you arrive by car parking at the hotel costs €17 per day. The hotel is in my view too pricey given its shortcomings. A double room cost just short of €131 per night via Trivago. We booked our room approx. 1 hour before we checked in. I haven't stayed at the hotel in the winter, but I did observe a radiator under the window.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Hotel Regent is close to the Munich Hbf, within 5 minute walking distance. If you take the exit of the Munich Hbf that faces ArnulStrasse, cross the street and turn to your left, the hotel is at the first block on your right. Since we would take trains many times to other nearby places from Munich Hbf during our stay in Munich, close to Hbf was a major consideration to book this hotel, thought its price was relatively high compared to other hotels.

We reserved two rooms, each has two single beds. Although the hotel website indicated that it offered triple-rooms, we were not able to secure one. The size of each room was large enough for two people. The hotel setting was nice. The hotel staff at the front desk was courteous and helpful. Overall, it was worth the money.

During our stay in the hotel, the outdoor temperature was high and it was hot. The hotel set up a small table right next the registration counter. On the table there was a pitcher of ice cold water with some disposable cups next to the pitcher. When the hotel guests returned to the hotel after walking outside under the hot temperature, it was nice to have a cup of ice cold water to drink. This small gesture says something about the hotel management and the attention they show toward the guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I don't understand why some reviews complained a lot while many complimented. I didn't see all the bad things complained at all. For me, the hotel is very nice, the room is spacy, the bathroom is newly renovated and clean and the wifi worked very well. Breakfast is also very good, the best of all my trip. Location is also good, closed to the central train station, very convenient if you are going out to nearby towns such as fussen or Oberammergau. There are also big supermarkets opposite to the hotel. Staffs are helpful and efficient. I must admit that the hotel might be a 3.5-star hotel, not quite a 4-star one so do not expect a fully 4-star standard but we really enjoyed staying here. Before we moved to Hotel Regent, 3 nights before - we stayed in another 3-star hotel which is even more expensive. Hotel Regent is cheaper and what we got here is much better. I would love to come back here and fully recommend other to stay here as long as the room rate is not too high.

Room Tip: We stayed at the room in the back and it's was very quiet. With the window opened, we enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the central station. To me, it is very convenient to get around, but the price is too high(i pay around 100$/night). I would say that some hostel with similar room size and cleanliness would cost about half this price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regent

Address: Seidlstrasse 2, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#283 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regent 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Munich
Regent Hotel Munich
Munich Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.