We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballabeni

Ballabeni
Theresienstrasse 46, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 18912943
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 2,865 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Dining options: Lunch, Coffee & Tea
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Coffee & Tea
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It's just unanimous. There is no doubt this is the best ice cream in town. I recommend the Chocolate with ginger.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    12
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good ice cream, but definitely not exceptional and not worth the long queue and the higher price. The taste range is very limited and they don't seem interested in trying something new: they've had the same tastes for at least three years now. The cone is mediocre. To conclude: I would recommend going to another ice cream shop, there are several in the nearby which I like better than this one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best ice cream ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

flavours change regularly but if you are lucky try Haselnuss (hazelnut)! Sometimes you need to wait for a long time to get the ice cream because of the demand.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the chocolate ginger!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went here twice in one week because it was so fantastic. Flavours change regularly... Love the little taste tester of another flavour that they give you with your icecream

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wannabe-fancy ice-cream shop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Small, expensive and overly sophisticated, that is what i think about balla beni.
Brought there by locals, as it is supposed to be the best ice-cream in munich.

After having stood 20 minutes in the sun in line, it was finally our turn to order ice cream. The selection was very limited, 10 or so flavors. And they were mostly fancy-pancy flavors, like raspberry-lavander, chocolate-ginger, lemon-basil and stuff like this.

While it is a matter of personal taste, i would have thought that having "standard" flavors is kinda a requirement. The fact that the ice-cream was amongst the most expensive of munich, didn't really sweeten the pill.

All in all, it's a love it or hate it situation here. I didn't like it at all, but i could see how other people might enjoy similar ice-cream, especially since its quality is actually good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballabeni also viewed

 

Been to Ballabeni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballabeni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.