We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballabeni

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ballabeni
Theresienstrasse 46, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 18912943
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 2,690 restaurants in Munich
Restaurant details
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It's just unanimous. There is no doubt this is the best ice cream in town. I recommend the Chocolate with ginger.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    45
    6
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good ice cream, but definitely not exceptional and not worth the long queue and the higher price. The taste range is very limited and they don't seem interested in trying something new: they've had the same tastes for at least three years now. The cone is mediocre. To conclude: I would recommend going to another ice cream shop, there are several in the nearby which I like better than this one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best ice cream ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

flavours change regularly but if you are lucky try Haselnuss (hazelnut)! Sometimes you need to wait for a long time to get the ice cream because of the demand.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try the chocolate ginger!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went here twice in one week because it was so fantastic. Flavours change regularly... Love the little taste tester of another flavour that they give you with your icecream

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wannabe-fancy ice-cream shop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Small, expensive and overly sophisticated, that is what i think about balla beni.
Brought there by locals, as it is supposed to be the best ice-cream in munich.

After having stood 20 minutes in the sun in line, it was finally our turn to order ice cream. The selection was very limited, 10 or so flavors. And they were mostly fancy-pancy flavors, like raspberry-lavander, chocolate-ginger, lemon-basil and stuff like this.

While it is a matter of personal taste, i would have thought that having "standard" flavors is kinda a requirement. The fact that the ice-cream was amongst the most expensive of munich, didn't really sweeten the pill.

All in all, it's a love it or hate it situation here. I didn't like it at all, but i could see how other people might enjoy similar ice-cream, especially since its quality is actually good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballabeni also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Ballabeni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballabeni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.