We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ice cream ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballabeni Icecream

Ballabeni Icecream
Theresienstrasse 46 | 80335 München, 80333, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
498918912943
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 3,030 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best ice cream ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

flavours change regularly but if you are lucky try Haselnuss (hazelnut)! Sometimes you need to wait for a long time to get the ice cream because of the demand.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank miklagardist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the chocolate ginger!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went here twice in one week because it was so fantastic. Flavours change regularly... Love the little taste tester of another flavour that they give you with your icecream

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wannabe-fancy ice-cream shop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Small, expensive and overly sophisticated, that is what i think about balla beni.
Brought there by locals, as it is supposed to be the best ice-cream in munich.

After having stood 20 minutes in the sun in line, it was finally our turn to order ice cream. The selection was very limited, 10 or so flavors. And they were mostly fancy-pancy flavors, like raspberry-lavander, chocolate-ginger, lemon-basil and stuff like this.

While it is a matter of personal taste, i would have thought that having "standard" flavors is kinda a requirement. The fact that the ice-cream was amongst the most expensive of munich, didn't really sweeten the pill.

All in all, it's a love it or hate it situation here. I didn't like it at all, but i could see how other people might enjoy similar ice-cream, especially since its quality is actually good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Worth the wait! Truly amazing ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The 30 minute line and pricey ice cream was WELL WORTH IT!
I am an ice cream nut, and this is really one of the best places I've ever been. The ice cream is so, so, creamy and smooth and flavorful. I had the milk and mint, hazelnut, and also the chocolate. The flavors were so intense and rich - it was unlike any other gelato or ice cream I had in Germany. They serve in a cute little cone cup that you can eat afterwards! All around - just wonderful! Make sure you visit this place for a scoop, or two, or three!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aekloots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Take plenty of euros because you will want to taste most of the flavors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

And they don't accept Visa.
This ice cream stand offers some outstanding ice cream and sherbet flavors. We tried most of them before running out of euros.
It is a perfect stop after visiting nearby museums. There always is a line, but it moves quickly.
The only seating is a couple of outside benches, so dress for the weather and wear comfortable shoes. And you might want to skip a meal or two so your appetite will be as big as your eyes.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bagsalwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballabeni Icecream also viewed

 

Been to Ballabeni Icecream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing