We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable weekend in Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariahilf

Mariahilf
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mariahilf to your Saves list
Mariahilf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lilienstrasse 83, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable weekend in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very very nice hotel only 30 min walking distance from the old city. The district Mariahilf is a very quite and cozy place of Munich. Surrounded by parks and quite small streets. The hotel itself is in 5 stored building built after the Second Warld War. Interior is old fashion stylized. Wooden furniture, carpets, nice old fashioned curtains, beds are with wooden or metal frames. Very cozy. The owners are extremely responsive and try to help with advises. Breakfast was also very good (included in room price) - various choice of cheese and ham and wurst, juices, coffee, tea and of course eggs prepared in any way by the hostess. If you are looking for comfortable nice room, good healthy breakfast somewhere not far from the center but in quite place, individual approach AND for reasonable price, then this hotel is your choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
9
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a four night stay at Mariahilf Hotel and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is located a short walking distance away from the city centre, it was clean and has loads of character. Our room was very warm with a king size bed, and even though it was facing the street it was very quiet. Breakfast was very nice with loads of options. If you're planning to arrive late make sure you ring them the day before so you can get the access code.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is adjacent to the Sendlunger Tor transit station, one stop from the main train station. Its a short walk to the Marien Platz and other major tourist sites. The rooms are a bit small but exactly as pictured in the website. There is no AC. If it matters, the TV is tiny with no English stations. But considering the location and price relative to other comparable hotels, this place is a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The hotel issues vouchers for reduced price accommodation, i.e. through Groupon down to half of the regular price. When you want to redeem it over a weekend time, there isl always a standard answer that the place is fully booked up. Notwithstanding, booking without use of the voucher gives you the room.

It goes without saying that the voucher conditions have no such weekend limitations. We will be very careful to avoid this hotel in future. Actually I am so much angry that we will not use the Mariahilf hotel for our present journey, which is planned for April, well after Easter.

To come through with this review, I put our travel as of March.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed at this delightful hotel a few weeks ago. The rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We were an extended famiy of 5 adults and 4 children and the staff did everything possible to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We've been in Munich through Oktoberfest, when prices are crazy in Munich, but 200e/night it's a bit pricey even in that period. Why? Because it's central (20-25 min by foot from Marienplatz) but not in the middle of the action. I think that the building is made of wood because it's scarting (and we've felt very bad when we came in the middle of the night, when we create, out of our choice, a lot of noise). Also the room it's not so big (not quite a problem) but the sink was installed in the room ( a very tiny sink) and bath was very small. However, breakfast was great and our host recommend us a very good restaurant nearby. But if would be not our choice in Munich next time, because that isn't quite a hotel, it's more like a pension (guesthouse).

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip which I booked through Booking.com. We did not know, but the full cost was deducted from our credit card at the time of booking and my husband was also asked to settle the bill when he checked out. We only found out when we received the credit card statement and are now trying to get a refund for one of the payments from the hotel via Booking.com. So far, after a week, the hotel does not appear to have made the refund, but we are confident that Booking.com will make good the error if the hotel does not. It is just a hassle and annoyance that we could do without. I would avoid this hotel in the future - it wasn't a great place to stay even without the payment problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariahilf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariahilf

Address: Lilienstrasse 83, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariahilf 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mariahilf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariahilf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.