We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Westend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Westend to your Saves list
Hotel Westend
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwanthalerstrasse 121, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 385 Hotels in Munich
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Strictly ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Nothing majorly wrong here but you could probably always find a better hotel. Very small room but comfortable and clean. Good staff. Location is not great with nearest train station 10 mins away and no direct trams into the city nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    56
    50
    26
    7
See reviews for
24
38
20
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The first impression of this hotel was the unfriendly receptionist who said the bare minimum.
The room was extremely noisy due to people out on the street at all times, even with the window closed. Closing the window also had the effect of making the room unbearably hot as there is zero cooling, not even a fan.
One night a group of loud drinkers outside were still up shouting in the street at 8am when we left to go sightseeing. Immediate area around the hotel appeared quite shady too.
On the first morning I alerted the kitchen staff to the salt shaker on our table which had lots of black insects inside it in the salt (maybe ants) to which I received an 'eww!' response and nothing more. On our last morning we sat at a different table for breakfast and that shaker had ants crawling around in it too! Not a great sight when you are eating..

Pros: Great local Bavarian restaurant a few blocks away as recommended by the hotel also the hotel is walking distance from Munich HBF.
Also there was a different person on reception when we checked out who was attentive and friendly.

There must be better places in Munich for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night when in Munich on a business trip. It was perfect - close enough to town, comfortable bed, and well priced. There was a street light right outside the window but the curtains were black out so fine, and I heard no street noise.

I had a second floor room, there was a lift and the room was large enough. The shower was a bit small but for the price good enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed there recently for 2 nights (in December). The bad thing the rooms in the roof area are very small. It is pretty pricey for this type of hotel as well, but rooms were clean. Overall experience was good, but if you find something cheaper go for it. Avoid the floor above 5th (it is the roof area) because there is no elevator and rooms are even smaller up there!

Room Tip: Avoid the floor above 5th (it is the roof area) because there is no elevator and rooms are even smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was such a great little find for Munich. The hotel is very walkable to the city centre and is tucked away.

We had a lovely couple of nights here with a lovely friendly welcome.

I'd definitely recommend this as a great place to stay while you explore the city.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have quite a lively bar opposite.... Just to warn you :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just spent three days with my family.Good location and only 8-10 minutes walk to the S-Bahn. Good breakfast,have luggage deposit and as I am a coffee lover, Coffee,tea etc is free 24/7. As rooms, they are a bit small,but cosy, Room was a bit too warm for me,but as they say,you cannot have the cake and eat it all.Will stay again if I had to visit MUNICH again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked our stay on Expedia just a few months before Oktoberfest and got a great rate. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We were within easy walking distance of the Oktoberfest festivities and couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Westend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westend

Address: Schwanthalerstrasse 121, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Westend 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Westend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Westend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.