We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but you can't beat the convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Munich Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Munich Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Munich Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pricey but you can't beat the convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We often stay here when flying back to the U.S. on an early morning flight. The rooms aren't cheap but you truly can't beat the convenience to the airport. And the hotel is very nice with updated rooms and nice amenities. During our last stay with our toddler son we walked over to the airport where there is always something going on in the main courtyard area. We bought food at the little grocery store at the airport, brought it back to the hotel where we grabbed a couple beers to go at the bar and took everything up to our room to eat. And in the morning we didn't have to be up at the crack of dawn because the flight check-in desk was a 10-minute walk (if that) from our room. Can't beat it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave detailed comments regarding your recent stay at the Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.
We are so happy to hear that you had a positive experience with us, and that you found our location to be convenient!
We are very much looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    492
    128
    28
    21
See reviews for
210
409
147
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prudhoe
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had an early flight so chose this hotel as it can be accessed on foot from the airport, its actually between terminals.
It must have been one of the most warmest welcomes I can remember at check in. the rooms are all quite similar and well appointed. A special mention to the bath, it’s fantastic, great for a soak.
There are a couple of restaurants in the terminal so I chose one of them rather than eat in the hotel as it seemed rather expensive.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Great location for an overnight stay. Walk out of the terminal, and you've arrived! Really tasty wiener schnitzel at the restaurant too. Only drawback is the beds - not half as comfy as the beds I've had at other kempinskis, plus the double is 2 twins together instead of one big mattress.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the Wiener Schnitzel at the restaurant charles lindbergh really tasty! Your comments regarding the bed comfort have been noted by our housekeeping management team.

We certainly hope to see you again at the Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich!

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed for two night between flights. The location is convenient if you have an early flight fly from the Munich airport.
Check the rate before you book as the rate varied between $220 and $500 for the same room. I booked not directly at the hotel website for the lower fare.
Courteous check in. Explained that as a frequent guest we will receive free internet, newspaper and bottle water. Never received the bottled water and when I used the one from the minibar, I was charged €3.5 plus tax per bottle no matter how much I protested. Never received the newspaper. Not huge issue. As far as the internet goes, this is probably the WORST I have ever encountered in my recent travel which is well over 100 nights per year. It is so slow, and so unreliable ghat I really don't get the logic why they don't address it.
You can not rely on the wifi here.
The room was ok for overnight stay but for the price one would expect bigger and more towels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich to be your host during your recent visit to the Munich Airport. Your feedback is much appreciated and is very valuable to us.

We are very disappointed to hear that your visit was not a complete success. Please accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay.
Should you wish to further discuss the details of your visit, we invite you to contact us directly with your Tripadvisor name as well as your confirmation number (claudia.soost@kempinski.com).
It is our sincere hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here for one night as there is no same day connecting flight. The location (inside the airport) and proximity (within 10 minutes walk from our terminal) to the airport terminal simply cannot be beaten if you are using it as an overnight before or after the flight. Beyond its location, the hotel offers a good size, quiet and clean room . Staff are friendly and helpful. The only drawback is that you have to pay for Wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in and a let down to the entire Kempinski group.

The room is appalling. Smallest bed you have ever seen with old and damaged decor. No adaptors at reception. The wifi internet only works when it wants to.

Despite these problems we pushed on. We checked in quite late for an early hours flight the next day. At about 10pm the room became very warm. Too hot to sleep at all. It emerged that the air conditioning was blowing warm even when turned to the coolest setting.

Went to reception. They claimed to be fully booked. By this time only about 4 hours left to sleep before leaving for the flight. I questioned why the hotel was fully booked and was then told it was only fully booked in our room category. They had rooms but were unwilling to change them. The best they could offer was an engineer to come in the middle of the night and try to fix it. That would take at least half an hour for him to come and then only establish that it isn't working. By that time we would then need to pack and move.

The hotel refused to simply change the rooms despite the conditions rendering the room unusable. All this for nearly 200 euros per night.

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in with reception staff who simply do not care about guests who have early flights and cannot sleep because of the hotel's failings. The situation is only worsened by a changing story from reception first they are totally full then only full in this room category. They simply do not want to assist.

Room Tip: Avoid hotel, if you are stuck here do not expect them to change the room even if it is stuck on heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich! We really appreciate your comments, which support us in our endeavour to meet the expectations of our guests and it helps us in our striving for perpetual improvements.
As already discussed with your direct contact person in our hotel, we like to apologize again for the dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay!

Please feel free to email us for any questions, comments, or concerns leading up to your trip.

Yours sincerely,

Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Pros:
Hotel staff was very accommodating in giving me a room at 11:00 am
Room was large and immaculate
Very quiet
Was able to take the luggage cart from airport right into hotel room and back. That really helped since I had 3 large and heavy bags.
The train station is right there across from the hotel.

Cons:
May be a little more expensive than other off-airport options. However, this was the best option for me after I factored in the convenience and cost of shuttle to other hotels.

Tips:
Get free internet by signing up for GHA Discovery (the hotel staff will help you do this).
Eat at McDonalds across the hotel if you're on a budget.

Room Tip: Get free internet by signing up for GHA Discovery (the hotel staff will help you do this). Eat at M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich Airport

Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Munich
#16 Business Hotel in Munich
#20 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#25 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Munich Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Munich Airport is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 389 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Munich Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.