We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen

Save Saved
You added Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€179 (EUR)
Ranked #23 of 382 hotels in Munich
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exceptional property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were able to book a room here for our last night in Munich during Oktoberfest. It is about a 40 minute S Bahn ride into Munich. The property is very modern and sleek in appearance. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our rooms were ready for check in when we arrived at noon. The rooms are exceptionally spacious and well appointed. There is a nice selection of toiletries, as well as slippers and robes. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the facility was air conditioned. It was a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel lobby to terminal 2 (a Star Alliance terminal). The WiFi was a bit pricey, but not unexpected. We would definitely visit this establishment again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    566
    413
    99
    22
    15
See reviews for
167
338
130
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Basically I needed a hotel to stay when I first went to Munich for Oktoberfest and one at the end of my week. This place did the trick, although expensive, I was able to get a deal online on both stays. Considering around Oktoberfest all Munich accommodations expensive, so this is relative.
Anyway, this place is right at the Airport, so really convenient. You can take stairs up to foyer or use lifts underground entrance. Very stylish and modern, glass everywhere in foyer. The staff at front desk are very helpful, they even sent a doorman up to show me my room and answer any questions. The rooms are spacious and clean and comfortable. For business people on the go this is perfect, for tourists on the go likewise. Only thing is if you get breakfast there very expensive in my opinion 32 euro, and internet as well 18 euros. But if you want breakfast well there are many shops right near in the airport for way less and dare I say a McDonalds if that is your thing. The S1 and S8 lines are right next door too so only 40 min trip into Munich downtown, and you can return same amount of time as well. Overall I was impressed with this place. Only thing, outside there were tons of people smoking in the outside airport terminal. There seems to be an very high proportion of Europeans that smoke. They linger outside the doors and pollute your nostrils with their second hand smoke. Common Germany get with the program and ban this stuff around doors!

Room Tip: They have a spa but did not use, did not have breakfast there either as too expensive for me, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Perfect place if you have a stopover! Very close to the Airport Terminal 2, decent Restaurants & Bars and a nice Spa to recharge. If you wanna go to the City, it takes about 45min by train and the Hotel, even tho it's perfect for a stopover, its a bit on the pricy side.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

One night in the Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich. Was returning from a week in Crete and had to overnight for an onward flight the following morning.

What can I say, it was a great place. Super clean, Super Convenient, Great Staff, you can wheel your luggage cart from baggage claim right into the airport lobby. And, much to our delight, when you check out the next day, they produce an airport luggage cart for you to use to roll out of the lobby right to your airline check-in desk! That is living-large!

The rooms are nice and large, very clean, and all the basics. The bar/restaurant is interesting, not quite as much "fun" as you want them to be on your last night in Europe, but the beer is cold and the snacks are fresh.

Two relatively minor irritations during my one-night stay: Slow internet that I had to pay 18.00 Euros for the pleasure of using. I'm quite sure this problem was unusual, but I complained three times and at no point did the staff offer to remove the charge from my bill. Second, for an airport hotel, the check-in/check-out lines were a bit too long. The other areas of the hotel seem to be adequately staffed, but this delay was puzzling to me.

Bottom line: gets the job done and frankly, you don't have any other choices at the Munich airport. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located off Terminal 2 of the Munich International Airport. No room was ready for check-in when we arrived at 1:30pm so we had to wait until after 2pm for check-in. Our luggage was however taken care of by the staff immediately and was waiting in the room when we got there. The staff is friendly, courteous and professional. Aside from 1 complementary bottle of water everything is charged extra including Wi-Fi access at 6 euro/hr. The room is quiet providing all the basic necessities with comfortable beds. The hotel is about a 40 minute S-Bahn train ride away from downtown Munich.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel just off the "central square" of Munich airport. Very easy access to all the terminals and the S-Bahn station.

The hotel itself is modern, clean and has very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are large, clean and bright with very comfortable beds. The bathroom has a tub with two shower fittings and very good water pressure.

I didn't eat in the hotel, so can't comment on the food.

Very easy access into the city. I would be more than happy to stay here again on future trips to Munich.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen

Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#11 Business Hotel in Munich
#13 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#19 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre.The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 389 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk.The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing.At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.