We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed 1 night in August 2013 prior to flying out to Berlin in the morning.

Very nice airport hotel, very close to terminals when it's time to arrive/depart.
Great room, big and very quiet. Plenty of food/supermarket choices in the terminals.

And, they recognised it was my birthday and delivered a nice little gift.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    442
    105
    22
    17
See reviews for
189
369
135
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

One of the best airport hotels I have been in. Great amenities and you would hardly know you were right in the middle of the airport. The atrium area is beautifully designed and bars/restaurants were fine. I was staying on a business trip.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I chose this hotel for the reviews and location and booked a room through an Internet travel agent. It was rather late when I checked in and was coldly and borderline rudely received at the reception desk. The gentleman asked me for my voucher which stated that it could be shown electronically or printed. I showed it to him since I had no access to a printer, but he insisted on a hard copy, so I forwarded the email to him. The room was fine for the 5 hours that I was there, but upon my return home I noticed that I have been charged another $300 for the room that I had already paid for and proven so by showing and emailing the voucher to the rude individual behind the desk. I do not usually ever complain and I don't expect anything more than common courtesy, especially at that price, but my experience at the Kempinski was not good and I don't look forward to having to dispute this extra charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in regards to the check in as well as the unresolved charges. Your concerns have been notified by the necessary departments for review.
Please feel free to email me with your Tripadvisor username as well as your confirmation number from your stay for checking your reservation and billing information (claudia.soost@kempinski.com).

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stay away if your using for business. They restrict your wifi and tell you how many devices you can connect which is not good for business. There is a airport Sheraton nearby that I have stayed with in the past that you don't have to deal with the nonsense. Once again, bad for business for people staying depending on wifi to get work done. They don't care......

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich to be your host during your recent visit to Munich and the Munich Airport. Your feedback is much appreciated and is very valuable to us.
We are very disappointed to hear that your visit was not a complete success. Please accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay in regards to the internet offer.
Should you wish to further discuss the details of your visit, we invite you to contact us directly with your Tripadvisor name as well as your confirmation number (claudia.soost@kempinski.com). It is our sincere hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

too far from city for a city visit but great for flyer wanting no hassle the next day. Service incredible:staff intent on making your stay easy and comfortable. rooms and beds very comfortable. Staff will limo you to your terminal at any hour. Architecture very interesting

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

There is no other choice if one wants to stay directly at the airport to catch an early morning flight. Very convenient - return your rental car the night before your flight to avoid hefty parking fees, check in online and just walk to the terminal in the morning.
The hotel itself is a little dated but very well maintained and clean. The personnel we met was very courteous and friendly.
Noteworthy is the spa located on the ground level, open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. It is very basic, but clean, with one dry sauna and one steam room, and a small pool. I have used this spa on a couple of occasions when travelling through Munich while waiting for connecting flights and each time met a very professional and friendly staff there. It has so far never been crowded. The fee for a couple of hours for day guests is around EUR 20, but for hotel guests it is of course free.
We have not used any of the restaurants and did not take advantage of the overpriced breakfast either. Instead, I highly recommend the Airbraeu restaurant right in front of the hotel. It is actually a microbrewery with excellent beer, seating available both outside and inside, with a very comprehensive menu pretty much anytime of the day, and very reasonable prices. Nice Bavarian flair.
The one star deduction is for the fact that despite ongoing feedback from its customers, the hotel management continues to annoy their customers by charging extra for WiFi access - policy that has absolutely no place in a 5-star hotel. In all fairness though, I should also mention that the business center on the reception level offers 15 minutes free use of their desktop in a privacy of a small booth.

In summary, overall good experience, mainly for the priceless convenience of easy airport access, with the additional bonus of the nice Spa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

As far as airport hotels go this is fairly good as it is an upmarket hotel. But it's expensive for what you get and the staff is not friendly. The rooms are also starting to show their age. Stay here only if you have just a one night layover. Munich airport is very far from the city, takes 40 min by train.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich to be your host during your recent visit to Munich and the Munich Airport. Your feedback is much appreciated and is very valuable to us.
We are very disappointed to hear that your visit was not a complete success. Please accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay.

Should you wish to further discuss the details of your visit, we invite you to contact us directly with your Tripadvisor name as well as your confirmation number (claudia.soost@kempinski.com). It is our sincere hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen

Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#12 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#18 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 389 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.