We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service not for 5* hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Service not for 5* hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Pretty expensive airport hotel. Spacious room with modern staff. However, for whatever reason most of the shelves were locked. Fortunately one wardrobe was open so I could leave my clothes.
Very disappointing was that one of the towels (big one) was dirty (brown colour marks if you know what i mean). I claimed that at the reception and asked for feedback from the management by email. Yes, a chief hausekeeper sent appologies for...not clean sink! Problem with communication or not caring about customers?
For 250€ you need to have additional 32€ if you want to enjoy breakfast, by the way. Oh, internet is not included as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us as well as for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in regards to the cleanliness in your room as well as the room design. Your concerns have been notified by the necessary departments for review.
Please feel free to email me with your Tripadvisor username as well as your confirmation number from your stay for any questions, comments, or concerns leading up to your trip (claudia.soost@kempinski.com).

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    462
    111
    24
    18
See reviews for
193
387
136
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having travelled one month around Eastern Europe this Spring 2013 and putting up with the stress of Alpine roads, staying one full day at the Kempinski Hotel Airport is something I'm looking forward to revisit again, soon. Everything about the place oozes with relaxation and good, polite service, For me the experience was perfect, from the pleasant check-in to the eventual Spa treatment at the pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam-bath, and a pool (indoor) refreshments bar, immediately available nearby.
The breakfast, included, was just delicious and the service was prompt and professional. Nothing negative at all about this hotel chain. Just superb and perfect prior to the long flight across the Atlantic.
The hotel is located midway between Terminal One and Terminal Two. Car rentals are in Terminal One, close to Terminal Two within a brief walking distance. Just drop off the car and you're right in front of the Kempinski. I wish that someone had informed me of that in the past, I certainly would have been there sooner. I will return. Everything is nearby, shopping, etc. to occupy your time should you want that. They are the perfect hosts and there's nothing to top such performance and service.

Room Tip: Windows are well-insulated and the room was very quiet. I imagine they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at the Kempinski for only one night prior to a flight back to America. After spending 10 days in Europe at a number of hotels rated 4-Star or higher, this property stands out. Great service, nice staff and ultra-convenient. Couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for 1 evening before catching a connecting flight the following day. The hotel itself is very nice, I found hotel services (e.g. bar and breakfast) to be a little pricey. The room itself is modern and has a mini bar and a good selection of English TV channels.

I made the most of my time and caught the S8 train from the Airport into Munich town (an all-day ticket cost around €11) If you don’t fancy that there is a lovely beer garden between T1 and T2 (right outside the hotel) where you can get a cheap bite to eat and a nice glass of beer (Airbrau) beer here costs only €2.70 for 500cl

Would use the hotel again, very comfortable bed, room with air conditioning and very helpful English speaking staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel numerous times, usually after arriving later in the day from a flight elsewhere in Europe to connect the following day back to the States. Excellent service, good rooms, super convenient location ... short walk to check-in the next day. Enjoy the Lobby Bar. If we arrive early enough in the day, we often buy a Partner Tageskarte from the front desk for about 20 euro which allows up to 5 adults to take the S-Bahn into the city (and then trams, U-Bahn, etc. within the city) for dinner and back. Hotel can be a bit expensive at times, but weekend rates (including breakfast) can be reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at the Kempinski for just 1 night before catching an early morning flight back to the US.
Very modern design, impeccably clean, comfortable and spacious rooms, friendly service. Did not eat at any of their restaurants, instead had dinner at the Biergarten just outside by the Airport Center. Only disappointment was the jacuzzi... The temperature was beyond comfortable, meaning after just 5 minutes it got uncomfortably cool. Management already responded to this issue after submitting the questionaire and reassured me that this was not the norm and issue will be adressed. All in all a great stay and would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed for the 2nd time in this hotel and it's really wonderful! Twice I went for business since it is at the airport, I don't think people would like to stay for a holiday. Breakfast is the best of everything! Lunch is also very good but pretty much the same like the day before but there is so much choice that there is always something you haven't eaten the day before. Dinners in the restaurant or room service could be better, that was average.
Rooms are nice and clean.
Staff are very friendly and nice.
Meeting rooms are comfortable and refreshments during breaks are nice.
The only negative point I can say are the wake-up calls. Once an hour too early, the other time 10 minutes too late.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a quiet room since at the ground floor or close by the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen

Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
#14 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#18 Family Hotel in Munich
#18 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 389 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.