We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“great for stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel numerous times, usually after arriving later in the day from a flight elsewhere in Europe to connect the following day back to the States. Excellent service, good rooms, super convenient location ... short walk to check-in the next day. Enjoy the Lobby Bar. If we arrive early enough in the day, we often buy a Partner Tageskarte from the front desk for about 20 euro which allows up to 5 adults to take the S-Bahn into the city (and then trams, U-Bahn, etc. within the city) for dinner and back. Hotel can be a bit expensive at times, but weekend rates (including breakfast) can be reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    462
    109
    24
    18
See reviews for
193
386
136
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at the Kempinski for just 1 night before catching an early morning flight back to the US.
Very modern design, impeccably clean, comfortable and spacious rooms, friendly service. Did not eat at any of their restaurants, instead had dinner at the Biergarten just outside by the Airport Center. Only disappointment was the jacuzzi... The temperature was beyond comfortable, meaning after just 5 minutes it got uncomfortably cool. Management already responded to this issue after submitting the questionaire and reassured me that this was not the norm and issue will be adressed. All in all a great stay and would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed for the 2nd time in this hotel and it's really wonderful! Twice I went for business since it is at the airport, I don't think people would like to stay for a holiday. Breakfast is the best of everything! Lunch is also very good but pretty much the same like the day before but there is so much choice that there is always something you haven't eaten the day before. Dinners in the restaurant or room service could be better, that was average.
Rooms are nice and clean.
Staff are very friendly and nice.
Meeting rooms are comfortable and refreshments during breaks are nice.
The only negative point I can say are the wake-up calls. Once an hour too early, the other time 10 minutes too late.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a quiet room since at the ground floor or close by the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Once again we spent a pre departure night at this ultra modern hotel that is within the Munich airport.

When we travel in Europe we often use MUC as our gateway. It is modern, hassle free and unlike Frankfurt, London or Paris, easy to navigate.

Since we are normally flying in from some other country in Europe to catch our home bound flight, taking an afternoon flight from any city puts us in Munich the evening prior to our departure and staying at the Kempinski means that we simply have to walk out of the hotel and into the check-in area of the terminal.

The hotel is of the spartan modern variety but quite comfortable. The lobby is stunning, a huge soaring, all glass atrium with a forest of fully grown palm trees. Indeed the space is so large that Audi, whose headquarters are in nearby Ingolstadt, often displays one or more cars in the space. The grove of palms is home to the lounge and bar.

The leather recliner in the spacious room goes some way toward making up for the institutional bathroom. Staff and food are very good. This hotel is the perfect way to end a European trip.

Room Tip: The hotel is constructed in two halves positioned on either side of the massive atrium /courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very nice, friendly front desk service, nice rooms, very modern, good amenities, great breakfast buffet and restaurant for dinner was fine eating outdoors, too noisy inside restaurants s it was so crowded. Only negative no doorman to help with luggage, otherwise excellent

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ended up here when my wife became ill at the airport during a layover. The staff could not have done more to help us: Rebooked our flights, sent water to the room, helped us plan an alternate means of getting to a wedding in Prague and comped me a few drinks at the bar. Every person we encountered was exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you still have enjoyed your involuntary stay with us.
Hope to see you soon back at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d1i2v3e4e5
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a great hotel if you want to stay the night before your flight at the airport. The hotel offers a park & fly option where a given number of days of parking is included in the price, very handy. Although the hotel is not in the city, there still is plenty to do nearby.
Exceptionally clean with good service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen

Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
#14 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#18 Family Hotel in Munich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 389 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Venere, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.