We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a fantastic location for departing Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a fantastic location for departing Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here the night before departing for the US. The hotel was chosen for its location at the terminal. We were not disappointed.

The front desk staff was very accommodating, guiding us to our room, and recommending a restaurant ( in the hotel ) which was excellent. More on that in a restaurant review. The room was spacious, very clean, nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the bath facilities were great. My wife enjoyed a bath after 2 weeks staying in gasthaus.

The only negative was we could never connect to wi-fi. Twice people came to the room to assist us but no luck. They did take the charge off the bill. May have been our MacAir having the problem.

We would recommend this hotel for travelers either arriving late or leaving Munich. It is a 30 meter walk from the hotel to Terminal 2 for international departures.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    444
    105
    22
    17
See reviews for
189
369
135
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The only airport hotel located within walking distance to terminals. A treat to stay here if you are a fair drive out the night before a morning flight. Good-sized, low-key but stylish comfortable rooms. Nice pool and gym, helpful business center, all amenities quite nice. Excellent service. My son still loves the stuffed 'Teddy Kempinski' bear given to him by the kind staff. A pleasure to stay here, and we hope to again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the incredible Mandarin Oriental during our stay in Munich and moved to the Kempinski to be closer to the airport for our early morning flight. After the MO, I thought I'd be disappointed, but that couldn't have been further from the truth. It's unlike any other airport hotel we've stayed at previously (although the Vancouver Airport Fairmont is terrific too!). The architecture is a marvel - absolutely stunning if you like contemporary style (all glass and chrome). The rooms are lovely, spacious and very comfortable. The Kempinski also has a fabulous restaurant. The "Charles Lindbergh" was an unexpected and very pleasant surprise. When was the last time you had "beetroot essence" at an airport restaurant? The staff are amazing. So friendly and professional. There's a wonderful beer garden/restaurant in the square immediately outside the airport terminal, which offers a typical Bavarian experience - good local/regional and great beer!! And to top it all off, we walked to the terminal, which is extremely close. We will definitely return to this hotel the next time we're in Munich. Thank you Kempinski for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent feedback at TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would chose to stay with us again on another visit.
We appreciate your comments in regards to our locations, architecture as well as our restaurant “charles lindbergh” and passed your comment on to the respective departments as such guest remarks are the greatest motivation for our employees.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich on your next visit in Germany.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

On a 5 hour connection in Munich we went to the Kempinski spa. The charge in April 2013 was €20 for 2 hours or €30 for the day.
17 meter pool excellent for lengths, men's, women's and coed spa with steam and dry sauna. The gym is large and very well equipped for beginners up to the veteran gym rat. There is also a juice bar.
Great way to handle a long layover. Don't forget your ear buds for the TV when using the cardio machines

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with the TripAdvisor community.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stopover at our fit & fly SPA and we are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next layover at the Munich Airport.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Finishing a European trip, we booked this hotel for an overnight stay before our flight home. it was perfect for the need. We were able to drop off the rental car, walk back, enjoy a swim and jacuzzi in the facilities and have a large, very comfortable room to return to. It's proximity to airport restaurants, supermarket, and terminals make this a great location for purpose. Only drawback was no free Internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

One nite stay before flight back home.Newly upgraded room,so nice,clean and comfortable.Quick,convenient check in and out,so no issues there.Obvious ideal location for airport,so can't add much to what has already been written about that.Would stay here again next time travelling thru Munich.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We booked this hotel during our visit to the Bauma through the internet. We got a special price via one of the offers shown in their web page. The stay was great. Everything from the start was good. The room was very big, though my brother and I got one of the suites. The hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the airport so it is very convenient. There are some good restaurants near the hotel so you don’t need either to eat in the hotel or go to the city. The U-Band is 40 minutes' drive to the city center and runs every 20 minutes till late at night. The breakfast was great with large variety of food. The staff was very nice and the" Lady in red" was very helpful. All in all we had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen

Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#12 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#18 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 389 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.