We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make it "Easy on Yourself"!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen

Save Saved
You added Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€179 (EUR)
Ranked #23 of 382 hotels in Munich
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Make it "Easy on Yourself"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

For my first ever stay at a Kempinski Hotel, I was impressed!

Wanting to take the "Hurt" out of an early morning international flight, I decided to "Pay a little extra", and literally stay at the airport. It was a great move, as I could save a few hours and "Stress" by being right there after checking my Hertz car and feeling "Ready to go" for the flight.

Enjoyed walking thru the shops and eateries at The Munich Airport after getting rid of my car and walking back to my cozy room.

The dining was most pleasant, and the breakfast buffet was exceptional. Give yourself plenty of time, and they open at 5 AM!

The staff was "World Class", The bellman was one of the best I have ever encountered. He got all the bags from my car, took them to the room, and then took me to the business center to print out my boarding pass. Likewise, he was sincerely helpful and gave me his card. Boujemola Lahloumi, was a wonder staff member. His initial help with my bags, getting rental car petrol, directions around the airport, etc were really wonderful. He is one of the reasons I would and will stay at The Kempinski on my next trip to Munich.

So if you are like me, and get a "Little stressed out" prior to long flights, with loved ones, enjoy this place!

Room Tip: Get there ASAP, this is a busy place! There were a lot of business people from all over the world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphey11, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your positive comment on TripAdvisor.

We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contibute to making your trip to Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich a great experience.
It is always rewarding for the entire team to hear such great comments from our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    567
    414
    99
    22
    15
See reviews for
168
339
130
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

First impression when you drive up is that you've arrived at the worlds biggest glasshouse. The Atrium of this hotel is awesome and has to be experienced. Receptionists were friendly and helpful. Rooms were great and well equipped with nice bathrooms and all the usual executive trimmings. The location means they can charge a premium so this is not the cheapest hotel in town.

Room Tip: go high for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Quite a grand place, and the prices reflect this. The rooms are elegant and the staff very friendly and professional. The hotel is located within a block or so of the Munich Airport. One can also catch public transportation to downtown Munich and be there in a half hour or so. We wound up staying at the hotel when the continuation of our flight was cancelled.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

You will hardly find any hotel closer to an airport than the Kempinsiki at MUC. A 2 minutes walk and you'll be greeted very friendly. The open architecture invites you to stay a the bar for a drink and if you are just there for a stop over you won't miss the city (which is far, far away...). Rooms are spacious and clean and you won't hear much noise from the airplanes. Roomservice was very good and on time. Prices are elevated but not a ripp-off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphey11, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is great to hear such a nice comment, thank you for sharing with the Tripadvisor community.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed not only the great location but although the room and appreciate the friendly staff.
We hope to see you soon back at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My Lufthansa flight to Tbilisi Georgia was canceled. Lufthansa put us up in the Kempinski airport hotel for the night (and it was quite late) and also provided dinner and breakfast. The hotel was very nice. Staff was awesome. The restaurant/bar was really cool. I had Asian finger food (shrimp rolls, dimsum, chicken sticks, etc. with 3 sauces. Unexpectedly good. As I have found in many European restaurants, getting a second drink and the check is a slow process. All in all an unexpected pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Once you get over the rather bavarian taste layout of the lobby with palm trees and audi cars (matter of personal tastes, which this is not mine, however I understood the concept of bavaria meets hollywood) you can´t go wrong. All finally right: silent, comfortable, no cheap eye candy, great beds, great air quality, despite the size and amount of glass feels quite personal, intimate and warm (!), great spa, great breakfast (spend some time there), great mints if you ask for them at the reception. If you can afford this hotel, have been around and can appreciate real solid value (not for money, it´s expencive, but in quality) stay here. Definitely one of the best hotels in Munich.

Room Tip: Yes it is at the airport. The S-Bahn costs 10 euros to get to central Munich and takes about an hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This really felt like a luxurious hotel, though I got a very good price last minute and I have often seen good late deals for this hotel. It's very handy for the airport but be warned that the airport is quite a long way from the town - so this is a great base for an early flight but no use for sightseeing.

Having said that Munich airport is pretty big. The shopping is OK (there is a supermarket next door as well) and there was a winter market on when I was there so it's not like you're stuck with just McDonalds and WHSmith (or its German equivalent)

The room was large with a king size bed, the bathroom very nicely done, and clean. Breakfast was great. I'd happily use it again, if I could find a good deal. The sticker in the room said the standard rate for B&B was nearly 500 Euros - I wouldn't pay that much for it, but I can't help feeling it's only there to make you feel smug that you got a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen

Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#11 Business Hotel in Munich
#13 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#18 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#19 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre.The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 389 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk.The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing.At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Airport Munchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.