We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Munich Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Munich Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Munich Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356, Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vienna
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

You will hardly find any hotel closer to an airport than the Kempinsiki at MUC. A 2 minutes walk and you'll be greeted very friendly. The open architecture invites you to stay a the bar for a drink and if you are just there for a stop over you won't miss the city (which is far, far away...). Rooms are spacious and clean and you won't hear much noise from the airplanes. Roomservice was very good and on time. Prices are elevated but not a ripp-off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msspiderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphey11, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is great to hear such a nice comment, thank you for sharing with the Tripadvisor community.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed not only the great location but although the room and appreciate the friendly staff.
We hope to see you soon back at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My Lufthansa flight to Tbilisi Georgia was canceled. Lufthansa put us up in the Kempinski airport hotel for the night (and it was quite late) and also provided dinner and breakfast. The hotel was very nice. Staff was awesome. The restaurant/bar was really cool. I had Asian finger food (shrimp rolls, dimsum, chicken sticks, etc. with 3 sauces. Unexpectedly good. As I have found in many European restaurants, getting a second drink and the check is a slow process. All in all an unexpected pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OCO_Champ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Once you get over the rather bavarian taste layout of the lobby with palm trees and audi cars (matter of personal tastes, which this is not mine, however I understood the concept of bavaria meets hollywood) you can´t go wrong. All finally right: silent, comfortable, no cheap eye candy, great beds, great air quality, despite the size and amount of glass feels quite personal, intimate and warm (!), great spa, great breakfast (spend some time there), great mints if you ask for them at the reception. If you can afford this hotel, have been around and can appreciate real solid value (not for money, it´s expencive, but in quality) stay here. Definitely one of the best hotels in Munich.

Room Tip: Yes it is at the airport. The S-Bahn costs 10 euros to get to central Munich and takes about an hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliusjulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This really felt like a luxurious hotel, though I got a very good price last minute and I have often seen good late deals for this hotel. It's very handy for the airport but be warned that the airport is quite a long way from the town - so this is a great base for an early flight but no use for sightseeing.

Having said that Munich airport is pretty big. The shopping is OK (there is a supermarket next door as well) and there was a winter market on when I was there so it's not like you're stuck with just McDonalds and WHSmith (or its German equivalent)

The room was large with a king size bed, the bathroom very nicely done, and clean. Breakfast was great. I'd happily use it again, if I could find a good deal. The sticker in the room said the standard rate for B&B was nearly 500 Euros - I wouldn't pay that much for it, but I can't help feeling it's only there to make you feel smug that you got a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikki_hache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

There is just nothing special about this place. The location is convenient if you fly in/out of Munich (not if you plan to visit the city) as it as a short walk only to terminal 2. Check in was quick and friendly.

The hotel and the room are very hold with no athosphere. Bar and restaurant were deserted. Rooms are not stylish or cosy - just modern/functional.

Price is too high ($300 plus breakfast) and Internet is extra at the ridiculous charge of €6 per hour - not acceptable for a business hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisshoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystad, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Forget all about dull and worn down airport hotels - Kempinsky Hotel Airport München is a cut above the traditional hotels at most busy airports. Easy to reach with three minutes walk from the two airport terminals, very comfortable guest rooms, quick check-in and express check-out, for ever smiling staffmembers, really good bar serving traditional German snacks. And a fantastic
breakfast buffet. Only problem would be that you normally do not have the time to savour everything that is offered on the buffet. Highly recommended!
Staffan Garnaeus, Sweden

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you need or want to be by the airport, you can't get any better than this. The hotel is located right in the airport. The airport is amazing too! LIke a shoping mall. We stayed the night before our morning flight. We had dinner at a nice resturant just steps from the hotel and in the morning it was just a short walk to our airline's counter. The hotel has large clean and quiet rooms. If you have a phobia of heights, be aware that they have glass elevators and see through stairs. My wife was OK with our first floor room even though she has height issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank federal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
1.4 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
1.9 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#2 of 3 in Schwaig
3.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
2.7 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Munchen-Airport
18.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich Airport

Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356, Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#7 Green Hotel in Munich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#27 Business Hotel in Munich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Munich Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Munich Airport is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 389 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing