We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just first class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Munich Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Munich Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Munich Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ehingen
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“just first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

this hotel at the munich airport is ideal when you are arriving or departing by plane.
it is very elegant in a modern style. if you do not visit the restaurants and the bar in the hotel,
you have a lot of choices in the airport.
the rooms are spacy and elegant, the staff is excellent trained and friendly.
and the rates are affordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphey11, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a nice comment on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us.
It will be our pleasure to welcoming you back soon at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    492
    128
    28
    22
See reviews for
210
411
147
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
432 helpful votes 432 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Munich on a Business trip. I was on my way to Prague for a home exchange. Checked into the Kempinski expecting a standard room as I had booked. Much to my surprise I received a Penthouse Suite. It seems that I have the same name (unusual) as a top German entrepreneur and the mistook me for him. So all I can say is it was a wonderful experience. Unfortunately the next time I came through I had to travel as myself.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Munich Airport Kempinsky hotel's location is ideal as it is the only hotel located directly at the airport. I booked it for a night and was checked into a nice room. The check in was efficient and friendly and the room was well appointed and comfortable.
After settling in I realized that the Wifi would not work and after a call to the concierge a bellman showed up and tried to reset the router to no avail. "Sorry nothing I can do, but you can use the wired service " he said.....
Once a tried to connect the wire I realized that the the clip that is supposed to be holding the wire in place was ripped off and the connection wire would not stay in place - I decided to rig it up with a tie- wrap and it more or less worked .

The same evening I was informed of the cancellation of my next morning flight to London and the next morning I contacted the desk to request an extension for one more night and to possibly fix the wifi or bring another wire - the agent at the desk said no problem that while I was at breakfast she would have it all fixed.
The breakfast was delicious but on return to the room I noticed nothing was fixed but I received an amenity with an apology...... no more no less.... a long explanation by the concierge as to why WIFI does not work and zero on the broken wire.

Nice place to stay if you do not need to stay wired or work or unless you are a handyman and are able to chewing-gum a connection together...

Room Tip: make sure you can get connected without major problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It is within 5 min walk from where you claim your baggages. The rooms are clean and tidy. It is 40 min from city centre. We stayed here during oktoberfest as the hotels at downtown were either full or extremely expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We looked at the options for staying at/near the Munich airport as we had a long layover. We are glad we followed Tripadvisor recommendations and stayed here. We skipped including breakfast, the airport has plenyt of options that are better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I loved the location of the Kempinski, as my husband and I were returning to the US on a morning flight. The hotel is steps from the terminal (no need for either a taxi or a shuttle) with many eating choices outside it. The evening before, a German band was playing in a beer garden located between the terminal and the hotel, celebrating Octoberfest--what a great way to say goodbye to a lovely city!
The hotel was a little pricey, as noted by many other reviewers, but we were able to find a decent deal online. But honestly, Munich is one of the more expensive towns in Germany, and to us, the convenience of walking to the terminal and not worrying about shuttle schedules outweighed the cost factor. The standard room was very large and beautifully decorated with a well-appointed bathroom. The soundproofing was excellent; not a peep to be heard from either jets or oompa-pa band :). The fact that our pet was also welcome was a huge bonus.
The hotel staff were uniformly excellent in dealing with my stupidly forgetting my jewelry in the room safe. After multiple international calls and discussions with the management, front desk and housekeeping staff, we were able to come up with a way ahead. My sincere thanks to the Kempinski team!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphey11, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience here on TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you have had such a satisfying stay with us.
We hope you will be coming back soon and it will be our pleasure to welcome you again at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.

Yours sincerely,

Claudia Soost
Assistant Guest Relations Manager | Web Coordinator
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great location if you're flying out of Munich Airport the next morning, very convenient to Terminals 1 and 2. Too-small comforter/blanket on a King-sized bed. Expensive internet, expected of any high-class hotel nowadays. If breakfast isn't included in your room cost, go down to the center of the terminal and you'll find a well-stocked grocery story to pick up a cheap breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich Airport

Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Munich
#16 Business Hotel in Munich
#19 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#22 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#28 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Munich Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Munich Airport is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 389 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Munich Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.