We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exquisit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Exquisit Hotel to your Saves list
Exquisit Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pettenkoferstrasse 3, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a great location on a quiet street and a short walk to Marienplatz! We stayed in the family suite with a loft in the summer of 2010. The lower level sleeping area consisted of a sleeper sofa and an extra cot and the upper level (loft) had a king size bed. There is no air conditioning but with the windows open, the room cooled off quickly in the evening.

There is a nice selection of food in the breakfast buffet.

We parked in their parking garage. When you leave the parking garage, you need to pull a rope to open the garage door, otherwise you will not be able to exit.

The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your valuation.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the time in munich.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    124
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
84
126
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at Exquisit Hotel with our 2 kids (aged 6 & 10) for a week over christmas in a lovely maisonette room. Clean, friendly fantastically located hotel with lovely helpful staff. We were very comfortable, had plenty of space, cosy and warm. Can walk everywhere from here and trams and underground (very good value with a day pass)a few steps away. We went to many christmas markets and ventured out to Andechs monastry/brewery for my husband's birthdayThe breakfast buffet is amazing value, fresh, varied and delicious my kids will be talking about it for a long time! Lovely Italian restaurant next door. Definitely recommended for a great family stay!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation.
We are pleased that you've been so happy in our hotel.
Especially we want to thank you very much for you're praise about our staff and the breakfeast.
We hope to welcome you very soon in our property.

Your Team of Hotel Exquist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were booked to stay in this hotel for two nights but illness delayed our arrival in Munich. Despite us being unable to give more than 24 hours notice about our change of plans, Exquisit Hotel not only held our room for us but very kindly did not charge us for the night we did not use. Our check in was friendly, informative and very efficient. We were given a big, comfortable family suite. Shower was a bit awkward to use but everything was clean. The breakfast buffet offered good variety and offered eggs cooked to order. All up, this hotel offered a great location, excellent service and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you very soon in our property.

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel, its in the perfect location to visit the christmas markets, but in a quiet enough street. Only negative is how hot the room was during the night and the beds and pillows werent comfortable. Breakfast is a massive bonus, lots of good fresh choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your valuation.
We hope that we can welcome you soon in our property!

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Exquisit Hotel in Munich, Germany for 3 nights during a vacation in November 2012. It was a wonderful place to stay and would recommend it again. I will review the pros and cons:

PROS:

(1) Location. Located off of a quiet street in the (active and busy) Sendlinger Tor area of Munich. The Exquisit Hotel is a minute walk to the U-bahn (subway) which can take you almost anywhere in Munich. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the Hauptbahnhof (or you can simply take the U-bahn) and there are many restaurants and shops in the area (note: Under section 3, I list a couple of local restaurants worth checking out). There is also a large pharmacy (Marien Apotheke) at the end of the street that had English speaking staff if you need any OTC meds.

(2) Staff. The staff at the Exquisit Hotel were polite and very eager to please. If we needed directions, assistance, or recommendations, the staff was ready and willing to help out. My understanding is that the Exquisit Hotel is a family business and they work very hard to satisfy their guests.

(3) Food. The Exquisit Hotel serves an AWESOME breakfast with a giant variety of items (eggs to order, cereals, breads, jams/jellys, salmon, cold means, cheeses, oatmeal, fruits, coffee/tea/juice). The chef informed me they attempt to use natural and organic ingredients whenever possible and the quality of the food they prepare is very delicious. They also have a lunch menu. However, after lunch, the restaurant seems to close down, so for dinner or a late night snack, you'll have to go elsewhere. Two options are as follows:

(3a) Food: Il Dottore - This is a trattoria and pizzeria next door to the Exquisit Hotel. My family ate here and it was beyond excellent. I had the spaghetti bolognese and my wife & son split a pizza margarita. Both meals were excellent and went well with a large bottle of red wine. I highly recommend Il Dottore.

(3b) Food: Cafe Mozart - This is across the street Il Dottore and the Exquisit Hotel. It serves a variety of different foods that are appealing to the adult palate (really nothing kid friendly on the menu). I had the schnitzel and was surprised that it was larger than my plate. The food is good, staff is friendly, and English menus are available upon request. I'd also recommend this as a dinner option in the local area.

(4) Rooms: The rooms were moderately-sized, clean, and quaint. All the basic amenities that one would expect are there. The bathrooms were clean and sufficient to our needs. The TV had a variety of stations, including several English speaking channels (primarily BBC and Bloomberg TV).

CONS: To be honest, there are not a lot of cons (hence the 4 'star' rating). Most are of a nitpicking nature, but I'll list them for completeness.

(1) WiFi: The WiFi is free, but was very slow and buggy.

(2) Elevator: Slowest... elevator... ever. I generally took the stairs because I could get to the 4th floor quicker than the elevator. However, if you have a load of luggage or packages, it's there for you.

(3) Key-ring. The keys are on a gigantic, heavy, bulky, brass key-ring. Ridiculously large. However, when leaving the hotel to hit the city, you can leave the keys at the desk.

Overall, the Exquisit Hotel was a very positive experience. Between the staff, breakfast, room quality, and the location, I would absolutely go there again if I were in the area. The Exquisit Hotel has my recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation.
We are pleased that you've been so content with our hotel.
Our gigantic keys are replaced by handsome cards, so now you can take the key into the city.
We hope to welcome you very soon in our property!

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Munich doesn't exactly boast amazing hotels, at least not in the Sendlinger Tor area. The Exquisit hotel is not the type of place I'd normally stay - its rather dated, slightly musty and rickety it has an old school charm, definitely suited towards the older age group to a younger age group.

PROS :
* It's very central, pop out of the subway and its just down the road.
* It's clean and tidy
* The breakfast is nice - at first I rolled my eyes and got ready for a breakfast of cold meats and muesli but as I sat down I was offered a cooked brekkie of fried eggs and bacon and toast - nom!

CONS :
* The wifi barely worked, and when it did it was on half speed. I was in a corner room down the end of a corridor which might not have helped the signal.
* Took ages to find the heater - Its a real old style bar heater behind a curtain, you have to twist the knobs to turn it on, took about 2 hours to get heated up on a cold November night, then when it did get warm, it got way too warm, had to turn it right off again.
*Asked two girls on reception how to get to the airport, neither had a proper idea, both tried to help by producing a map and both gave different info on getting to the airport, a bit of local knowledge would have helped me looking like a lost lamb in the train station.

Overall, its a bed for the night and my experience of hotels in this area isn't amazing, this was one of the better ones.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

As others have noted, the location is exceptional -- an easy walk to most everything. I booked here because of this, and its convenience to the Oktoberfest grounds (the reason we came to Munich this trip).

This is not a "grand" hotel with lots of facilities. But it is clean, comfortable, welcoming, and a good value. The included breakfasts are diversified and well-prepared, and becomes a brunch after 11:00 am on weekends. Their chef is very talented and responsive, and told me he is moving to all natural and organic.

But the real advantage of this hotel is the staff. This is a family-owned hotel, and all of the staff evidence a friendly and personal attitude. They were most responsive to my several communications with them prior to our arrival, and most helpful to us during our stay.

I would definitely choose the Exquisit again. Ron Klar

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Temmitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Esspecially your praise about our staff and our breakfast makes us happy.
We hope to welcome you very soon again in our property.

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exquisit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exquisit Hotel

Address: Pettenkoferstrasse 3, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#54 Family Hotel in Munich
#83 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Exquisit Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unmittelbar am Sendlinger Tor gelegen finden Sie unser privat gefuhrtes Hotel mit 48 Zimmern und Suiten. Die komfortable Innenstadtlage sowie die geraumigen Zimmer mit allen Annehmlichkeiten machen unser Hotel sowohl fur Privat- als auch unsere geschaftlich reisenden Gaste attraktiv. In unserem Restaurant sind Sie jederzeit herzlich auf ein leckeres Schmankerl willkommen oder entspannen Sie nach einem langen Tag an unserer Stadtbar bei exklusiven Cocktails und erlesenen Weinvariationen. Das Team des Hotel Exquisit freut sich auf Ihren Besuch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Exquisit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exquisit Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exquisit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.