We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exquisit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Exquisit Hotel to your Saves list
Exquisit Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pettenkoferstrasse 3, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 380 Hotels in Munich
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel back in April 2012 for a conference. The hotel is centrally located, close to Marienplatz and within steps to the subway station. There are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby and it is in a very safe neighborhood. The hotel itself is a bit old but it is well kept. There isn't air conditioning available so with the windows being opened, the street noise can be a bit loud at times. The staff made every effort to make our stay pleasant and are always helpful to our needs. The free breakfast buffet was always great and the restaurant service always excellent. We had to check out at 3 am to catch an early flight back to the United States. We asked to see if there would be left over breakfast pastries to have before leaving. The staff actually set up a full breakfast buffet (with flowers, the works) in the Hotel Lobby at 2 am just for us! We were completely speechless and so appreciative of their effort. It was unbelievable! I really wish I remember the gentleman's name but he knows who he is. :) Thank you for making the stay so memorable .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuation.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope to welcome you very soon in our property.

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    124
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
84
126
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hm.. The way it goes in munich is pricing. The price of 4 stars is across the board is quite similar. Especially when it comes to near city centre. Most importantly, a few things to look out for.
There is no air conditioning in most hotels. Service is definitely something to consider. But looking back at the various hotels and services. If you booked a reputable hotel. The service wont go too far.
I have to say exquisit lacks the style and effort of a high end hotel yet.
Aircon is a must is my strong believe even an apartment do have that and no amount of service can compromise on the amount of money invested in the lodging. Thus

As others commented: service -
excellent ****
value***
price**

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Five star service the entire time, especially from the reception staff. It was the thing that stood out for us.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic, and eggs cooked to your liking on top of the large variety of options.

The location is just off Salinger tor, a major tram and subway hub. It is also just outside the walls of the old town. We easily walked everywhere.

Our room was quite large with a king size bed and spotlessly clean. Without a doubt I will stay here the next time I'm in Germany.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuation.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Especially your praise about our staff and the breakfast makes es very happy.
We hope to welcome you very soon in our property.

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was so happy to find someplace so close to the main center that's still on a quiet street!!!!!! One tip for getting there if you take the Ubahn make sure you exit the station at the right spot and it's a piece of cake to find otherwise it can be hard, first follow the signs pointing to Nussbaumstrasse and go towards Pettenkoferstrasse and exit there. Excellent breakfast, friendly staff and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation.
We are pleased to hear that you've been so happy with our position and also with our hotel.

We hope to welcome you very soon again in our property!

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Booked through hotels.com after finding the hotel through tripadvisor. Room cost me $250/night. Was in town for three days on business.

Pro's: Location OK but not great, near HBH, strip clubs, and seedy bars. Cleanliness good. Daily brunch and servers very good. Easy access from the Central Train station (HBH) and the airport on the S1 andy S8 trains.

Con's:
1. Very HOT! No air conditioning during the hottest time of the year (August 25-27) with temps in the 90's. The temp in my room exceeded that. I had to go to the bar across the street to cool off.
2. Unable to obtain a receipt for my stay. Booked through Hotels.com. When I checked out they said the computers were not working and that they would email me my receipt. When I didn't receive an email from them, I called the front desk on 9-5-12 with my confirmation number and twice she disconnected me after telling me that I had not stayed there.
3. Street noise very loud at all hours, because the windows had to be left opened.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if it's hot! No AC. If you do stay here, as for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hotel had everything we needed for our short stay in Munich. Travelling to the hotel was easy - from the airport we took the S-Bahn and then a 15 minute walk from the Railway Station. Unfortunatley, at the railway station, we took the wrong exit and got lost. Tip: look out for the C&A and Randstad signs to get you onto the first road indicated on the hotel map.
The walk did take us past some sex shops but if you rather not walk, then take the U-Bahn from the station to Sendlinger Tor and the hotel is less than 3 minutes away. The hotel has a car park which we didn't use during our stay. All the staff were really nice and even managed to check us in early and gave us an upgraded Maisonette room on our last night. Our room had a hairdryer, iron and ironing board and we used the free WiFi everyday. Our room also had a minibar (not free and pricey). There were small packets of sweets for kids which was a nice thought. Breakfast was really good with lots of choice including a selection of fresh bread/rolls. Like with other reviews there is no a/c but a standing tower fan in the room which was sufficient for us.
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to be able to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side were noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuation.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We also hope that we can welcome you very soon again in our property!

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the good ratings it has received here on TripAdvisor. And all-in-all we are very satisfied with our stay there! The location is very good! Close to Sendlinger Tor U-bahn-station. When we arrived at Munich Airport, it was not too much trouble to get to the hotel: S-bahn to Marienplatz and then change to U-bahn 1 stop to Sendlinger Tor. (If you don't mind walking, it's just a 10-12 minute walk from Marienplatz to the hotel).

The front desk staff was very friendly and provided us with a the usual complimentary map you most often get at hotels. We found the room to be very nice, decorated with orchid plants. The balcony was a bit on the small side, though - but we weren't there for the balcony anyways... A little drawback was that there was no air condition in the room, and it was very hot in Munich during our stay. However, we found a well-working fan in the closet, so we were able to get some kind of circulation in the room. Our balcony was situated over the breakfast patio, so in the morning you might wake up from the chatter from guests enjoying their breakfast.

And talking about breakfast: This is something they do well at the Exquisit Hotel! You can choose from several kinds of breads, rolls and pastries, there are several kinds of cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, eggs cooked to order, hot sausages, potatoes and vegetables ++ Regular coffee and tea are also included. They also can make latte etc for you, but that will cost a little extra. Apart from that, breakfast was included in the price.

The hotel lies in a very quiet street. The proximity to Sendlinger Tor makes you able to get on the tram- and U-bahn-network in just a couple of minutes walking: Very convinient. (We went on foot through the city center to Englischer Garten, and this took approximately on hour from the hotel.)

Room Tip: Our room was away from the street, and very quiet during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in munich.
Esspecially we want to thank you for your praise about our breakfast.
We hope to welcome you very soon again in our property.

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exquisit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exquisit Hotel

Address: Pettenkoferstrasse 3, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#55 Family Hotel in Munich
#83 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Exquisit Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unmittelbar am Sendlinger Tor gelegen finden Sie unser privat gefuhrtes Hotel mit 48 Zimmern und Suiten. Die komfortable Innenstadtlage sowie die geraumigen Zimmer mit allen Annehmlichkeiten machen unser Hotel sowohl fur Privat- als auch unsere geschaftlich reisenden Gaste attraktiv. In unserem Restaurant sind Sie jederzeit herzlich auf ein leckeres Schmankerl willkommen oder entspannen Sie nach einem langen Tag an unserer Stadtbar bei exklusiven Cocktails und erlesenen Weinvariationen. Das Team des Hotel Exquisit freut sich auf Ihren Besuch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Exquisit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exquisit Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exquisit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.