We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 stars.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Exquisit Hotel

Save Saved
You added Exquisit Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Exquisit Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pettenkoferstrasse 3, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 378 hotels in Munich
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not 4 stars.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Booked through hotels.com after finding the hotel through tripadvisor. Room cost me $250/night. Was in town for three days on business.

Pro's: Location OK but not great, near HBH, strip clubs, and seedy bars. Cleanliness good. Daily brunch and servers very good. Easy access from the Central Train station (HBH) and the airport on the S1 andy S8 trains.

Con's:
1. Very HOT! No air conditioning during the hottest time of the year (August 25-27) with temps in the 90's. The temp in my room exceeded that. I had to go to the bar across the street to cool off.
2. Unable to obtain a receipt for my stay. Booked through Hotels.com. When I checked out they said the computers were not working and that they would email me my receipt. When I didn't receive an email from them, I called the front desk on 9-5-12 with my confirmation number and twice she disconnected me after telling me that I had not stayed there.
3. Street noise very loud at all hours, because the windows had to be left opened.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if it's hot! No AC. If you do stay here, as for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    119
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
80
118
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hotel had everything we needed for our short stay in Munich. Travelling to the hotel was easy - from the airport we took the S-Bahn and then a 15 minute walk from the Railway Station. Unfortunatley, at the railway station, we took the wrong exit and got lost. Tip: look out for the C&A and Randstad signs to get you onto the first road indicated on the hotel map.
The walk did take us past some sex shops but if you rather not walk, then take the U-Bahn from the station to Sendlinger Tor and the hotel is less than 3 minutes away. The hotel has a car park which we didn't use during our stay. All the staff were really nice and even managed to check us in early and gave us an upgraded Maisonette room on our last night. Our room had a hairdryer, iron and ironing board and we used the free WiFi everyday. Our room also had a minibar (not free and pricey). There were small packets of sweets for kids which was a nice thought. Breakfast was really good with lots of choice including a selection of fresh bread/rolls. Like with other reviews there is no a/c but a standing tower fan in the room which was sufficient for us.
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to be able to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side were noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuation.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We also hope that we can welcome you very soon again in our property!

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the good ratings it has received here on TripAdvisor. And all-in-all we are very satisfied with our stay there! The location is very good! Close to Sendlinger Tor U-bahn-station. When we arrived at Munich Airport, it was not too much trouble to get to the hotel: S-bahn to Marienplatz and then change to U-bahn 1 stop to Sendlinger Tor. (If you don't mind walking, it's just a 10-12 minute walk from Marienplatz to the hotel).

The front desk staff was very friendly and provided us with a the usual complimentary map you most often get at hotels. We found the room to be very nice, decorated with orchid plants. The balcony was a bit on the small side, though - but we weren't there for the balcony anyways... A little drawback was that there was no air condition in the room, and it was very hot in Munich during our stay. However, we found a well-working fan in the closet, so we were able to get some kind of circulation in the room. Our balcony was situated over the breakfast patio, so in the morning you might wake up from the chatter from guests enjoying their breakfast.

And talking about breakfast: This is something they do well at the Exquisit Hotel! You can choose from several kinds of breads, rolls and pastries, there are several kinds of cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, eggs cooked to order, hot sausages, potatoes and vegetables ++ Regular coffee and tea are also included. They also can make latte etc for you, but that will cost a little extra. Apart from that, breakfast was included in the price.

The hotel lies in a very quiet street. The proximity to Sendlinger Tor makes you able to get on the tram- and U-bahn-network in just a couple of minutes walking: Very convinient. (We went on foot through the city center to Englischer Garten, and this took approximately on hour from the hotel.)

Room Tip: Our room was away from the street, and very quiet during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in munich.
Esspecially we want to thank you for your praise about our breakfast.
We hope to welcome you very soon again in our property.

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Arrived Munich tiring after a long-haul flight. Suprised to find that the hotel is just aroud the corner of Sendlinger station and very convenient and in a very quiet street. We walked to Marienplatz several times as it just took 10 mins along the Sendlinger street. Booked a suite which turned out to be very good value. Breakfast is very good and hotel staff is very helpful

Room Tip: Suite at top floor is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuation.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you very soon again in our property!

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Warm friendly hotel. Closer to the Marienplatz than it looks. About a 10-15 minute stroll through the shopping district. The hotel is in a safe area of town, near restaurants, churches, fountains. It feels like you are in residential neighborhood and not so close the the main tourist drag. No girly joints in the area, unlike other hotels I considered. Amazing breakfast included in room price - it was the best hotel breakfast we have had. Choice of cold meats, cheeses, eggs to order, salad, yogurts, fruit, cereal, breads, pastries, sausages, ham, bacon, juices, coffee. I am sure I am forgetting something. The breakfast kept our 18 year old food consuming machine full for at least 3 hours - amazing because he eats every hour. We were given two rooms next to each other on the top floor. They were large loft rooms with beds on the upper floors and living and bathrooms below. There is no air conditioning but fans are available and the windows provide a nice cross ventilation. We stayed the first 3 days in August and it was warm - about 80's in the days, but cooled down later in the night. We also slept with the windows opened and you do hear street noise, but being a heavy sleeper, it didn't bother me. Our room had firm twin beds pushed together. The kids had a triple: two twin beds upstairs and one twin downstairs. The pillows are large square pillows that can be folded over for height and light comforters are provided. Nice layout of bathrooms which are actually two rooms: toilet room with sink and shower/tub with double sink and bidet. Liquid bath soap/shampoo is provided ( in a squeeze bottle mounted on wall) along with emery board, shower cap and moisturizer. Good hair dryer that didn't overheat. Would stay here again even without the a/c. The breakfast, location, friendly staff and large rooms made this a great value in Munich.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much.
Especially your praise about our breakfast makes us happy.
We hope to welcome you very soon again in our property.

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

On the way home we stay one night in the Hotel Exquisit in Munich. The hotel is located near the center, only 1 km away from the Marienplatz or the Train station.

We booked a room for 4 persons - 2 adults, 2 children for 160 Eur/Night

The Room itself is on 2 floors which looks nice but is not practicable if you travel with children. Two TV screens, enough space in wardrobes or in dressers, nothing to complain, but the room was very warm since directly under the roof and no AC at all, just a small fan which did not helped much. Make sure you ask for a room below the 5 Floor.

The breakfast buffet was good with regional delights, the lobby is OK as well. The car park is small and dents are easy done. The staff was nice and helpful.

Verdict:

+ Location
+ Price (for the location)

- no AC (way to warm for summer)

Room Tip: Not take 5 Floor if you don't like warm 1 Floor can be noise since the restaurant is just below
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooroolin Qld
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a beautiful boutique hotel, specializing in personal service. The location was great- a 10 minute walk to Munich Central train Station , a stroll of 100 meters to city tram or underground , within walking distance of city shopping or one of the huge malls. From the airport you can take a taxi for around 50 euros or it is very easy to get the train to Central and then walk for 10 minutes- if you have heavy luggage it's just a change of train at central and then one stop to the hotel. Reception gave us a very easy plan for directions by train but we opted for the taxi. Breakfast is excellent. We were there on the weekend so breakfast time was extended to 2 pm so you could sleep in and have brunch or wait until lunch time. The buffet was continually replenished when we went around 1pm and there was a choice of traditional buffet breakfast but also some German specialty dishes- main courses and even sweets - reception was very pleasant. Rooms wet firly large excellent value for money

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope to welcome you soon again in our property!

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exquisit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exquisit Hotel

Address: Pettenkoferstrasse 3, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#29 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#46 Family Hotel in Munich
#51 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Exquisit Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unmittelbar am Sendlinger Tor gelegen finden Sie unser privat gefuhrtes Hotel mit 48 Zimmern und Suiten. Die komfortable Innenstadtlage sowie die geraumigen Zimmer mit allen Annehmlichkeiten machen unser Hotel sowohl fur Privat- als auch unsere geschaftlich reisenden Gaste attraktiv. In unserem Restaurant sind Sie jederzeit herzlich auf ein leckeres Schmankerl willkommen oder entspannen Sie nach einem langen Tag an unserer Stadtbar bei exklusiven Cocktails und erlesenen Weinvariationen. Das Team des Hotel Exquisit freut sich auf Ihren Besuch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Exquisit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exquisit Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exquisit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.