We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Muenchen City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Muenchen City to your Saves list
Ibis Muenchen City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dachauer Strasse 21, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 385 Hotels in Munich
N.Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great location for a short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for our 4 day trip to Munich in October. Having stayed in Ibis hotels before, we knew what to expect - a relatively small room, but with everything you need for a short city break. We had a room on the top floor and it was more than adequate for our needs. The hotel reception staff were very helpful and the bar area (open 24hours) with free wifi is a nice touch. If you don't have your own computer with you, there are also free internet terminals. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Munich city centre. It is a short and easy walk from Munich HBF station - we found it very easily and were able to walk (or you can take the tram from outside the hotel) down to Marienplatz. Munich has a great public transport system - cheap and easy to use - so don't hesitate to do so.

We did eat breakfast in the hotel once - it is a typical continental buffet with limited hot options (eggs only) and was 10 euros each for all you could eat. On a personal level we preferred to grab something in a café, but it wasn't bad value for money.

All in all - an Ibis is an Ibis - good, clean and centrally located. It is ideal for a city break where all you want the room for is to rest your head at night. If you want luxury, book something else, but if you want a good hotel in a good location, go for it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    657
    318
    48
    21
See reviews for
191
503
198
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is very easy to find. Leaving the train station, we turned onto Dachauer Strasse and noticed the red ibis sign a short distance away - like a beacon. Upon arrival we were greeted by their 5*+ staff - friendly, excellent English and superb tourist info. We were prepared for small rooms, but our room was larger than expected. Great bed and hot shower, space well organized for maximum usage, very clean, tram and subway stops nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A Hotel Ibis is a Hotel Ibis: you get a very small room, minimal furnishing, a tiny bathroom and an identikit colour scheme. But - if you book ahead, you get excellent value.

And this place has the advantage of being right next to the central railway station.

Bizarrely the bathroom windows do not have a curtains. Our room backed onto the breakfast area; the staff could look right in. There were offices opposite and workers there would have had a good vantage point also. We therefore had to block the view with a towel.

It's slightly surprising that the hotel has got this so wrong - and it's not the only one; the Ibis Augsburg Hauptbahnhof has exactly the same problem. Strange!

Room Tip: Protect your modesty by draping a towel over the bathroom window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKoentopp, Manager at Ibis Muenchen City, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Ibis Guest misterpastry,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback concerning your stay at our hotel. Our ambition is to offer our guests the best possible service therefore your opinion is very important for us.
I am terrible sorry that you did not feel very comfortable due to the size of our rooms and the surrounding.
In our Ibis Hotel Munich City the rooms have a size of 14.50sqm up to16.00 sqm, the corresponding bathrooms have 3.00 up to 3.50 sqm. If you have expected larger rooms, of course you are disappointed. We have the aim to offer adequate good quality at affordable prices at downtown Munich. Among other things, the room size allows us to do this.
Please rest assured that even though the bathroom windows have no curtain, nobody is able to look inside due to the fact that the windows are very small. I tested it myself by visiting some of our neighbours.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Christian Koentopp
- Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miraj, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 15th Oct to 18th Oct for business trip. Best part of this hotel is the location. It is just 5 min walk from Houptbahnhof (Main Train Station). I had booked through Accor Hotels site. At check-in every thing was ready when I arrived. Hotel brochure mentioned that Wi-Fi is free in lobby and bar, but they gave me free Wi-Fi in the room. Speed of Wi-Fi could have been better. Room and bathroom, both were small. But I have seen some smaller rooms and bathrooms in Germany. Breakfast spread was lavish and timings were good. Staff was extremely friendly. They even had U-Bahn tickets at the front desk. The person at the front desk gave detailed directions to the place where I wanted to go. If you are in Germany for a business visit, even to places near Munich, this is the place to stay. Very close to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Could not sleep the first night. Thought I was having some jet lag. The next morning I felt a little uncomfortable getting up. Did not care much. That same day after an hour nap on the bed, I woke up with serious pain in my lower back (lumber). Had to sleep in the floor then. Otherwise I would not be able to walk outside this dxxm hotel!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKoentopp, Manager at Ibis Muenchen City, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Ibis Guest Zoe_Meng,

I wish to thank you for your detailed information about what you experienced, thus giving us the opportunity to come back to you in writing. Your comments are very important for us in order to check on our quality and to improve accordingly,

I am terrible sorry that you did not feel very comfortable with our new bedding.
All Ibis hotels in Europe did get this new bed and up to now we only received positive feedback about it.
Entirely designed, tested and perfected by our Innovation Department, our all-new bed offers an upscale comfort in an economy hotel.
The ibis bed is a high-tech product
The multi-zone, 15cm multi-density mattress is composed of a high-resistance foam with a targeted cell construction that allows it to spring back, night after night.

The mattress cover is of a newly designed 3-D honeycomb fabric that is soft to the touch and ensures absolute hygiene and ideal ventilation.
The bed base and flexi-slats are designed to provide unequaled cushioned support up to 500 kg.
The 7cm ibis topper offers supreme support and protects the mattress. As effectively well-designed as the mattress, it is your invitation to experience sublime comfort.
Thanks to its combed fibres, the new ibis duvet wraps you in silky softness. The inviting new micro-fibre pillows softly support your neck.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns!.

Sincerely,
Christian Koentopp
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hotel very centrally located for train station and the local sex cinema! Spent the first night in a room at the front of the hotel and could not sleep due to the lack of sound proofing, the noise from trams and general street noise was appalling. To be fair, we got our room changed the next morning and had no further problem. For such a poor standard of accommodation on the first night I would have expected some form of comoensation {the hotel is not cheap for a budget hotel}, but the manager considers the noise to be outwith his responsibility. If you have a room at the back of the hotel, its fine, if you are at the front, heaven help you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKoentopp, Manager at Ibis Muenchen City, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Ibis guest maggierunner,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback concerning your stay at our hotel.
Concerning your experiences about the background noise of our hotel, we are located downtown Munich close to the main station, there is a street in front of the hotel and a very multicultural neighborhood like in the most capitals, so please understand that from the few rooms to the front you do hear some of the noises from the outside, even though the windows have a double glazing.
I am astonished that you mention a “s.. cinema”, here is definitely no such cinema in this street, just the “Gabriel Filmtheater”, one of the oldest cinemas in Munich, founded in 1896. There is only a table dance bar at the end of the street.
You complained that you were not offered a compensation, we do have our 15 minutes service guarantee, if you encounter a problem in your room, we promise to make things right as quickly as possible no matter what time it is. Your problems resolved in 15 minutes, or the service is on us!
But there has not been such a problem; therefore there is no reason for compensation. And if we are able to, like in your case, we do offer to move into another room facing the backyard.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Christian Koentopp
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Muenchen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muenchen City

Address: Dachauer Strasse 21, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Muenchen City 2*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
202 air-conditioned rooms with bathroom/shower and separate WC, hairdryer, cable TV,telephone and modem connections, some fittedwith W-LAN2 disabled-friendly rooms172 non-smoking roomsLocation:300 m from Munich’s main railway station, placesof interest and the centre are within easy walkingdistance, 15 km to the Munich Trade Fair Centreand the Allianz Arena.Only available at IbisBreakfast between 4amand 12pm every dayGet off to a good start withour sumptuous breakfastbuffet – from 6:30am to 10amon Mondays to Fridays anduntil 11am at weekends. Earlybirds and night owls willappreciate our small breakfastfrom 4am to 6:30am andfrom 10am to 12pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Muenchen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Ibis Hotel Munich
Ibis Hotel Muenchen City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Muenchen City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.