We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen to your Saves list
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindwurmstrasse 13, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
victoria, bc
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Well located with trams and UBahn very close by. Easy walking into the main tourism zone. Attentive front desk staff. The property could use some sprucing up with paint chips and scratches in rooms and public areas. Very nice wait staff in breakfast area, and also a great selection of items. Room was of a good size and condition. I am using this hotel again so all things considered it did pass the test!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street out the back are noisy, ask for a room facing the courtyard. Ground floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    127
    56
    21
    7
See reviews for
59
100
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Good hotel, good value, great location, very clean - What more would you need! Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a central location close to tram and train. 10 mins walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is excellent value and well located near a U-bahn station and walking distance from the main city square. For the price, we found our room and the facilities at the hotel generally, to be excellent value. Although overlooking the road, sound proofing meant this wasn't an issue and there's also air conditioning available if you need it. Our room was very clean and although on the small side, did the job - the beds were very soft though. We opted for the breakfast buffet twice during our stay and this offered an excellent spread of hot and cold food, healthy and not so healthy options. The staff serving breakfast were charming and couldn't be more helpful - what a contrast with many of the staff on reception.
We booked our room through hotels.com and specified a twin room on their site - on arrival the man on reception made a great fuss about this and said that hotels.com didn't pass on special requests and we might not get one. In the end we did, but I felt this scene was unnecessary and rather than taking it out on us, the hotel should take this up with hotels.com. Several other reception staff were rather unfriendly and one lady with glasses refused even to look up when we handed our key in, let alone say hello!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed in the Carat Hotel and apartments during our Germany vacation in January 2014.

Easy to find the hotel.A few minutes' walk from Sendlinger Tor U-bahn and close to most of the famous tourist sites in the Altstadt.People might think the area is a bit run-down,but we felt safe all the time.
Checked-in in the early morining.Thought we had to wait until 2 pm,but we were fortunate enough to have our apartment ready and waiting.It was very nice after a very long flight. The check-in staff was friendly and very helpful throughout our stay.A big big plus!

We stayed in one of the apartments.It's a bit old and lacks a little bit of personality,but it was clean and served it's purpose.Big enough for 2 travelers and their big luggage.A small kitchenette with all the necessary crockery and utensils.The beds were very comfortable.I slept like a rock, another plus for me.The bathrooms were nice and clean.

The breakfast was lovely,although a bit expensive for a 3 star hotel.We thought that was the only negative point.

All in all a nice,clean and quiet hotel which served it's purpose.Excellent location and very nice and friendly staff,just a pity about the expensive breakfast.

We had a nice stay,thank you.

Room Tip: Do get an apartment,the kitchenette helps a lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We booked an apartment to stay for 2 nights. The apartment was really smelly and totally cold when we arrived. No one cared to switch on the heating before our arrival, we had to do that ourselves! The room was really poorly decorated and not totally clean. As if this wasnt enough, when we left we forgot in the room an iphone charger and a big musicball from our 2 years old son. We called the hotel right away but no one could give us an answer. As we were sure that we left these 2 items there and we had to return to Munich the week after, we went there personally and no one could even give us a proper answer about if they have found or not our items They asked us to come back later. We did come back later, next day, and again no one care to even to give us a proper answer. so be aware that if you happen to forget something at this place it is lost forever and they wont even bother to apologise. At this place never more!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The room was too small, but cosy and clean. The bed was so comfortable, that I couldn't convince myself to get up in the morning:). The location is perfect, near the metro statin and the City Centre. The breakfast was great with lots of choices. Free WIFI.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, Otago, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed at the Carat Hotel in Munich for 3 days. The location is great right next to the Metro station so easily accessible from the airport and main train station. Staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful. We got there early so had breakfast at the hotel which was amazing - best breakfast I've had in ages! They let us store our luggage at the hotel and we talk a short walk into the Marienplatz to discover the Fasching festival was on. If you are going to Munich in early March try and match in with this celebration. The streets are full of food and drink stalls and everyone is dressed up, bands playing on various stages and everyone having a great time!
Got back to the hotel and they had our room ready early. Good beds and facilities, very comfortable. Some street noise in the morning from the side street our room was facing(we were sleeping in as a bit jet lagged) which wouldn't normally be a problem. Great stay, very comfortable and helpful friendly staff. Couple that with the location and value for money and you've got a great base for your holiday!

Room Tip: Try and get a room above or away from the side street - not a problem if you don't but you do ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen

Address: Lindwurmstrasse 13, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel And Apartments Munchen
Carat Hotel Munich
Carat Hotel Apartments Munchen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.