We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brack

Save Saved
You added Hotel Brack to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Brack
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindwurmstrasse 153, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Minotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 379 hotels in Munich
sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good location friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful which made the stay pleasant and comfortable. This hotel provides clean, basic room with no air con but the window does open for air. Rooms facing the street can be very noisy and if you are a non- smoker make sure you request a non smoking room. Breakfast was plentiful and wifi was good. We managed to find a parking spot on the side street and you can get a parking pass ( 50 euro refundable deposit) for your car. The underground is a few steps away and it is 3 stations to Marienplatz. The hotel sells train passes too. There is a great restaurant down the road thatbthe hotel can recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    55
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
45
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here while in Munich in June. Initially, I was slightly underwhelming (after having read the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor). However, my early experience had been skewed by my very nice hotel in Berlin and my super nice hotel in Bamberg, so perhaps a comparison to other hotels in Munich would have been more appropriate. As I have not stayed anywhere else in Munich, we will just have to make do.

Considering that this is Munich - reportedly, the most expensive city in Germany - Hotel Brack is great value. The rooms are small and the furnishings a little tired, but everything is functional and clean. The hotel's breakfast should be singled out as its star attraction. The ladies are exceptionally friendly and pleasant, and the hotel's signature omelette was delicious. Healthy, hearty and filling - a very enjoyable experience. The only thing is, the breakfast room is somewhat small, and if you have a large company, seating might be a small issue - at least on one occasion, I saw a family that had to wait for a free table. But the breakfast experience is truly delightful.
The hotel staff in general were very helpful, friendly and efficient - can't complain about anything.
The location is good. The hotel is right on the U-bahn and is within walking distance of the old city centre (about half an hour or so), if you feel like walking.

On the downside. The double room was smaller than expected. Bathroom amenities were limited, although that's probably normal given the price of the hotel. Rooms are opened with large bulky keys stored at reception - not very modern! Finally - and that was the biggest pet peeve - no computer in the lobby! I cannot remember the last time I have been to a hotel without some kind of a machine in the hotel lobby, however clunky, slow, or dilapidated. As not all travelers like to carry laptops about with them but almost all like to check their e-mail every now and then, the hotel should truly consider buying one.

All in all, however, this is a very worthy hotel if you don't want to pay too much for lodging in Munich. A pleasant three-star establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is Munich is located literally on top of the U-bahn, which makes it very easy to travel around, if a little noisy whit trains going underneath. The room was adequate, however, the shower was tall and hard to get into. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and spoke excellent English. The breakfast was cooked to order, not a buffet, and was plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice hotel with very attentive staff - so it's a good option in Munich. Rooms are a little bit old, but very clean. The hotel is not in the center, but the metro station is just in front of the hotel door, several supermarkets and a couple of good restaurants are near in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Brack for two nights early August 2013 whilst visiting Munich for the Robbie Williams concert held at the Olympic Stadium. Chose the hotel based on previous TA reviews and found a 'gem'. Stayed in 'triple' room 117 with my wife and 14 year old niece.
The room was immaculately clean, with a huge bathroom. It was perfect for a city break, although on the warm side with local temperatures exceeding 30C.
We arrived well before 'check in' following an early morning flight and checked in, changed into more appropriate clothing, and left out luggage with at reception. When we returned to the hotel later in the afternoon, our luggage had been re-located to our room.
As previous reviews suggest, the hotel entrance is literally yards away from the U-bahn, which gives access to the city centre within 5 - 10 minutes maximum - perfect.
Breakfast was an experience. We arrived in the dining area expecting the usual 'buffet' affair, only to be chastised when trying to do anything for yourself. The 'matriarch' running breakfast was a sight to behold when in 'full flow'. If ever there was somebody in full control of her 'world' it is on full display here, albeit, all done with a friendly almost comedic efficiency. The mixture of freshly cooked eggs to order and table service was first class and also highly entertaining - worth the stay on it's own.
We were disappointed that we only had a short time in both Munich itself and also the Hotel Brack. We will definately return for a longer stay in the future and would not hesitate to return to the Brack.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just 3 metro stops from Marienplatz, just on a metro station entrance, this little family like hotel was very clean, with great service.The rooms were big enough, with comfortable beds and nice clean bathroom.
The rooms were clean and neat. The breakfast was really amazing with plenty to choose from, all served to your table by 3 great ladies.
The reception staff were very helpful and very pleasant.
The only missing thing was air conditioning which was much needed in the very hot temperatures that we had during our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to check there is air con when you go to europe in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Brack earlier this month while traveling alone. I arrived several hours prior to the advertised check-in time but was received warmly and without any mention of my early arrival. The woman at the desk spoke excellent English, was very welcoming and conversational, and could not have been nicer. My room was on the 2nd floor. The room was spotless, had free wireless internet, and had a large bathroom and shower. I've gotten used to the lack of A/C in European hotels and this time, it really didn't matter since the open windows kept the room cool at night and I was gone during the day. My window overlooked a courtyard and although the walls aren't the thickest, I had no problems sleeping at night. I hung the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door on the second night of my trip and was able to sleep in the following morning with no disturbance. The daily breakfast was included in the rate and was excellent-- fruits, bread, omelets... all of it was delicious. I would enthusiastically recommend this hotel to those looking for a small Bed and Breakfast in Munich, and I would definitely return again with my wife.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Brack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brack

Also Known As:
Brack Hotel Munich
Address: Lindwurmstrasse 153, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Minotel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Munich
#40 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brack 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Brack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.