We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Grand Munchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Grand Munchen to your Saves list
The Westin Grand Munchen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arabellastrasse 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 380 Hotels in Munich
1 review
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stated at the Westin Grand for 5 nights during the Oktoberfest with a 1 year old. Room was great and quiet. Service at the front desk and the lounge on the 22nd floor was beyond our expectations. The employees at this hotel are top notch and catered to us. The gentlemen working in the lounge not only made sure we had everything we needed, but went out of there way to make sure our son was happy. This is by far the best service in Munich. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    368
    101
    44
    29
See reviews for
97
227
105
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Every time I passed the lobby of this hotel during my 3 days stay here, it was a sea of tourists. The room given to me was in the older section of the hotel hence quite jaded. The room balcony opened right next to the autobahn and hence was never used. There was nothing overtly negative about the hotel but just that a lot of small irritants make it a no-no.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This Westin is well managed and maintained but in my view lacks the cohesiveness of newer Westin properties. It is located outside the downtown core of Munich, but right on a subway stop. Given the excellent subway system in Munich this makes up for the mediocre location of the hotel. Rooms are large for European standards and well appointed. The lobby is a bit of a design mess, populated mostly by tourist groups when I was there. Hotel bar combines dull ambience with indifferent service and very high prices. 25 Euros for two glasses of wine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have stayed at this property for more than 15 years at least once every two years. The hotel consistently has maintained its property to a high level and the service levels are good to great. The staff are wonderful and especially in this trip where Air Berlin lost my luggage for two days the hotel staff stayed on it until it was found. We always feel comfortable staying there as a gay couple and love the service and food.
However!!!! If the manager reads this email we did have a run in with one staff person who was rude and very unprofessional during our stay. As a Platinum member we get access to their club room which serves breakfast and a light dinner. One morning as we were going to the special elevator to access the lounge with two friends who were visiting us the club agent stopped us at the elevator and in a very rude tone demanded to know if were we guests. I said yes we were and then she insisted to know if all four were guests. We said no and she very rudely said then they could not come into the room without paying 45 euros which was absurd. It was a perfect stay and it only took one nasty employee who obviously had little customer service training to handle such situations to leave a sour taste in our mouth. I do plan to follow up with the manager of the hotel by letter as she was really out of line.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Let me start this off by saying I have been traveling for over 20 years all over the US, Europe, Canada, Mexico, etc. most of the time I try and select Hilton properties. For some insane reason this time I selected this property. In no way shape or form am I trying to discourage anyone from selecting this location as I never made it here. You see because of sequestration here in the US travel plans were cancelled normally a non-issue to cancel. This time was much different here is the scenario:
Hotel booked a few months ago
Upon booking date hotel sends standard automatic email your room is booked
Monday morning the 23rd hotel sends email reminder 12 days after you could cancel without penalty (this was stated but again because travel was not issued can't get there)
I call to cancel on Monday 23rd still a few days before expected arrival also emailed only to be told outside the cancelation policy would have to pay 90% of total
After multiple emails and even a call to Starwood Corporate I surrendered today and paid over$1,200 for a hotel room I will never see and now have to go through the stress of most likely not getting reimbursed. However, I was told if the hotel room sells I would be reimbursed (not sure how I could actually know if that happens unless monitor site to see if sold out)

Moral of the story WATCH THE POLICIES and DO NOT EXPECT ANY UNDERSTANDING you will get a bill regardless doesn't matter if you are military or not.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Apart for the hotel is superb itself, customer service takes it to a even higher standard level. I forgot such a small thing in the room and the lost and found section was very careful and efficient to send back my item. Awesome customer service, i was amazed by it. Thanks you all for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Don't be offset by a strange exterior (I was initially)...
Tha place keeps up the Westin standard - the interiors are amazing, rooms are specious (by European terms) and everything is there just to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
But more than anything I would rate the service - the receptions desk was really friendly and willing to help, not to mention an early check in and a late check out free of charge.
The staff in the bar is great, so is room service. All together the service and care they take of your are good enough of a reason to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Address: Arabellastrasse 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#17 Business Hotel in Munich
#26 Family Hotel in Munich
#30 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#68 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Grand Munchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.