We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas visit with spouse family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Grand Munchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Grand Munchen to your Saves list
The Westin Grand Munchen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arabellastrasse 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 380 Hotels in Munich
SF
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Xmas visit with spouse family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overall I was very pleased with the hotel and only had a couple of issues. I have broken them into positive and negatives.

Positive:
Rooms a good size and comfortable. As a platinum I was upgraded to a Jr Suite. Loved having two bathrooms. Spa was nice to use and clean. Great to hang out in the winter time.
Club room for Platinum members had sufficient food stock for breakfast and snacks for dinner. Solid internet service in room and club. Staff were very professional and easy to talk with and all spoke very good english in case you are wondering. Over a good business stay hotel.

Negative:
We use to stay here every xmas but moved to the Le Meriden property in the center of the city once it became part of the Starwood chain because the Westin is about 2 kil further out requiring a subway or street car ride into the center. What we noticed right off the bat upon a return to this Westin is that the carpets throughout the hotel were worn and stained and had not been upgraded since the last time we were there 5 years ago. Our room was very clean which is typical of German standards but the carpets were in bad need of replacement. I hope the hotel plans to take care of this eye sore as we would love to return.
The hotel was pretty empty during the xmas week we stayed there and that is not unusual. It provided for great pricing to stay there. However and in spite of being platinum I was not placed on the Starwood floor. Rather, a lower floor which was the category I paid for. I was provided a Jr suite which consisted of a standard room with a connecting room set up as a living room. Not very functional except for the second full bathroom. While the program states you are upgraded to the highest category available as a platinum member, more times than not that only means in the category paid. Really depends on the property. Because I had read a similar experience by another platinum member at this property I called the platinum service in the US to make sure they contacted this property to ensure I was given an upgrade. I feel sure the Jr Suite was the result.
The spa is nice and the facility large but for North Americans it is so weird to see male and females sitting naked in the sauna together. The sign into the sauna rooms actually say no swimming trunks allowed. So the first logical question that comes to mind is if males and females can sit nude in the sauna together then why not use the same changing room and shower facility? Pretty funny actually.
I will this hotel again and recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear SFjoe,

thank you very much for your comment according to the Westin Grand Munich. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially liked our Junior Suite and the Executive Club Lounge on the 23rd floor.
Furthermore it is nice to hear you were able to relax at our ArabellaSpa even though you were a bit confused by the mixed sauna rooms which are typically German. Nevertheless we are sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your room. We are continuously renovating our rooms and of course also replace the carpets.
We hope to soon welcome you back at our place to appear at our best. Until then we wish you all the best!

Refreshing regards from Munich

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    366
    101
    43
    29
See reviews for
97
223
105
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was originally slightly concerned with the location of this hotel (not being in the heart of the city), however on arrival I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is right near a station with only a few stops to the city centre, only a few minutes drive if you have a car, and yet away from all the tourists.
The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are spacious, quiet and clean.
The staff were extremely helpful providing advice on authentic places to eat, places to avoid, and printing out directions to destinations we were interested in. I could not fault them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear BJ216,

thank you so much for your overwhelming comment due to our hotel. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed the room and that our Concierge was able to find the right placed for you to visit. We are happy to hear that you found out that you didn’t need to be worried about the location! We are not located in the old town but within ten minutes by subway (U4) without changing you are at the historical Karlsplatz (Stachus) and Odeonsplatz. Both destinations are very good start points for your sightseeing or shopping tour.
So we would like to thank you for your time - until your next stay with us we wish you all the best.

Refreshing regards to Newcastle

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the Grand Westin Munich with my family over the Christmas holidays. Overall, it was a very nice experience. The staff was wonderful - helpful and friendly. The food at the in-house restaurants was very good. The pool and spa area is beautiful. The location was a little far away from the center, but it's very close to a underground stop, and we had a very easy time navigating the subway to anywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear EmmaLT83,

thank you very much for your review concerning your Christmas holidays stay at our Westin Grand Munich hotel. Our associates were very happy to hear you enjoyed their service and that you had a good time at our restaurants Paulaner´s and ZEN-best of pan-asian cuisine and at our ArabellaSpa!
We hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasant as your last one.

Refreshing regards to Cambridge

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very nice stay! Great club lounge with a BIG buffet and wonderful options including beer and delicious red wine!!! A great room with more than enough space and accommodations for a comfortable and luxurious stay!

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms close to elevators they will keep you awake at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Speenokl,

thank you very much for your comment according to your stay at the Westin Grand Munich and your compliments about our house. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the drinks and snacks in our Executive Club Lounge on the 23rd floor. This is definitely the perfect place for inspiration and relaxation.

We hope that your next stay with us will be as pleasant as your last one.

Refreshing regards

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This Westin is as nice as what you would expect from any Westin. Check in was efficient, the lobby and rooms were very clean, spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The restaurant off the lobby has a nice breakfast buffet but get there early; there were no seats available by 9:00 am and we had to wait for a table to open up.
There is a bavarian restauraunt downstairs which is very suitable for families or a casual dinner. The wienerschnitzel was really good but the service was quite slow. It took an hour to get our meals.
If you want to spend a little time at Marienplatz, you'll have to walk about 5 K or take the subway or cab to get there. I walked, both ways to get a little exercise in and it was easy to find my way. There are sidewalks the entire way and it is very safe. And the markets in the city center are absolutely magical at Christmastime. It gets very crowded, so be prepared to take your time and enjoy the ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the city center. I was on the 22nd floor and could even see the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Kwchilily,

thank you very much for your detailed description of your stay at our Westin Grand Munich! It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed a traditional Wiener Schnitzel at our Paulaner´s restaurant and liked our house and service! As you have already mentioned, we are situated in a great location! Within 10 Minutes by subway U4 you are in the old town. Especially in Christmas time there are many magical small and big Christmas markets!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Refreshing regards to Grand Rapids

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nice hotel in the Bogenhausen area. Close to the undergroundstation arabella park ( 2 mins walk). You reach the city center in 10 minutes from the hotel. Friendly staff, great services. The rooms could use an upgrade but they have made a start with that. Beds are comfortable, and also the bathroom is well equipped. The hotel has a bavarian restaurant and a more upscale restaurant. Fitness, indoor pool and spa are also worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Pascall K,

my team and I are very happy to read your positive comment according to your stay at our Westin Grand Munich. We are glad you liked the room and its amenities as much as our spa area which is one of the largest hotel day spas in Munich.

So thank you for the compliments and we hope to soon welcome you back at our house!

Refreshing regards to Helden

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is by far one of the best hotels in Munich. It's close to the subway and away from the city center which allows you to get away but if you want to go down town then it's a easy train ride.

It's very clean, modern and service is fantastic. The fitness area and swimming pool is great as well, especially for a hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear anewberry84,

it’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Grand Munich and we hope that your next stay with us will be as pleasant as your last one.

Refreshing regards

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager
The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Address: Arabellastrasse 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#17 Business Hotel in Munich
#26 Family Hotel in Munich
#28 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#73 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Grand Munchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.