We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet disappointed :(” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Grand Munchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Grand Munchen to your Saves list
The Westin Grand Munchen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arabellastrasse 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Quiet disappointed :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here 2 times, first time in the main hotel building which was actually nice, rooms are quiet spacious, bed comfy and good bathroom...
2nd time stayed at their other building I think they called it the west wing or something ...very disappointed...old and smelly corridor, bathroom smaller than in other rooms, had a balcony with "spectacular" highway view ( noisy) , balcony cigarette buds from a guest that stayed here before...not acceptable for a Westin ...
Paulaner bar downstairs, service not really up to speed, not friendly, quiet arrogant...manager there talked on the phone ( private talk in front of guests) ...
Breakfast was really good, great selection, great value, however the chefs at the live egg station could more interact with guests, they seem like robots there behind the glass..

Very average the hotel...nothing special...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPClusterGM, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Tobi1985,

thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay at the Westin Grand Munich. I really regret to learn at the end that we weren’t able to keep your impression on our service and transferred your experience to a positive one. Nevertheless we are grateful that you liked our large selection at the breakfast buffet.

We hope that your next stay with us will be as pleasant as your first one.

Refreshing regards to Abu Dhabi

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    368
    101
    43
    29
See reviews for
97
225
105
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I liked it. Good modern room with all what it takes, Nice spacious lobby, gym, spa, beer-garden. Good and kind service. The location is also good, 2 minutes walk to the subway. Just good. Didn't try the breakfast and the internet, though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPClusterGM, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear jbaruch,

I would like to thank you for your comment according to the Westin Grand Munich. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
For your next visit we can recommend an inspiring stay in our spacious spa area for relaxation and regeneration.

We hope that your next stay with us will be as pleasant as your last one.

Refreshing regards to Netanya

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been several times for business to this hotel and overall I have always found the services and facilities quite good. I had always the luck to stay in the Club rooms which are big, nice furbished and offer the possibility to have separate check in/out with breakfast served in a room on the 23rd floor with view all over Munich. This time I was there private during the oktoberfest and it was not as good as it was used to be. The hotel was fully booked and full of people everywhere. Check in/out procedures were pretty time consuming despite being also spg gold member. I had a Standard room which was just ok and amenities were not properly available. My credit card was charged for extra which I didn't benefit from. The position is not also the best one so if you want to be in the center of the city there are better solutions. Though, there is a metro station very close to the hotel, trains have not a too high frequency thus consider waiting time. The hotel has a spa and a Bavarian restaurant which looks nice and has good selection of local dishes whereas the spa is mixed and you are supposed to be completly naked when u use the sauna or the steam room.
All in all, unless you find a good discount package I won't warmly suggest to choose this hotel to explore Munich. If you need a business hotel, it is a good option.

Room Tip: Club rooms are definitely much better though prices are higher and you may not see the value reflect...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPClusterGM, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Queen s,

thank you very much for your comment according to the Westin Grand Munich. We are sorry to hear that you couldn’t enjoy your stay during Oktoberfest as much as the last times.
As you mentioned before, we are not located in the old town but within ten minutes by subway (U4) without changing you are at the historical Karlsplatz (Stachus) and Odeonsplatz. Both destinations are very good start points for your sightseeing or shopping tour.
We hope to soon welcoming you again even though it might not be for Oktoberfest.

Refreshing regards

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Rooms very musty, small and old. Not your typical Westin hotel. Disappointed. Though the gym facilities was good. Breakfast average and hotel lobby appeared to be average also. I am not sure if I would chose this hotel again over the others in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPClusterGM, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear BNEJetsetter,

thank you very much for your comment according to the Westin Grand Munich. We are not happy to hear that your stay wasn’t as expected. Currently we are in the process of renovating all rooms and just finished the 3rd floor.
Nevertheless it is nice to hear that you liked our WestinWorkout facility at our ArabellaSpa!

We are looking forward to soon welcoming you back at our hotel to prove we are the right choice!

Refreshing regards to Bridbane

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager The Westin Grand Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Lobby: Large lively reception area, check in at reception and executive lounge for executive club rooms
Guest room (Westin executive club room): modern design, average size for Europe
Bathroom: reasonable size
Executive lounge: breakfast very small with limited variety. However for early evening, the snacks are more of a dinner with very good quality food, which makes up for the limited breakfast.
Room service: personalized and good service
Breakfast: if in lounge then very limiting
Concierge: friendly and knowledgable
Location: Less than 10 mins by subway to city center
Facilities: haven't used..

Room Tip: Minimum Club room is a must, to enjoy the lounge in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabineDClusterGM, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear A-Alalawi,

thank you very much for your detailed description according to our house and service. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Grand München especially our Westin Executive Club Lounge on the 23rd floor and our very friendly associates.
We hope that your next stay with us will be as pleasant as your last one.

Refreshing Regards to Manama

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager The Westin Grand München
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The location is not great when wishing to explore the town of Munich. The area around the hotel is for businesses and not for leisure. Breakfast quality was good and the staff very nice. Not much more to say about this hotel except it looks as a very good hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabineDClusterGM, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear JoachimZuerich,

thank you very much for your comment according to the Westin Grand Munich. As you mentioned before, we are not located in the old town but within ten minutes by subway (U4) without changing you are at the historical Karlsplatz (Stachus) and Odeonsplatz. Both destinations are very good start points for your sightseeing or shopping tour.

We are also very happy that you liked our large breakfast buffet with various international and Bavarian dishes.

We hope that your next stay with us will be as pleasant as your last one.

Refreshing regards to Hamburg

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager The Westin Grand München
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wien
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

especially for the position. Service people very very nice. Room was rather small for a 5 start hotel, buu it is ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabineDClusterGM, Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Francesco t,

we would like to thank you for your comment according to the Westin Grand Munich.
Furthermore we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were highly pleased with our service associates.
For your next stay we can recommend an upgrade for our Executive Club Lounge on the 23rd floor with a breathtaking view over Munich. This is definitely the perfect place for inspiration and relaxation.

We are looking forward to soon welcoming you again.

Refreshing Regards to Wien

Mario Habicher
Hotel Manager The Westin Grand München
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Address: Arabellastrasse 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#17 Business Hotel in Munich
#26 Family Hotel in Munich
#31 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#74 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Grand Munchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.