We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option - esp. when not hot outside.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Admiral to your Saves list
Hotel Admiral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kohlstrasse 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 380 Hotels in Munich
nashville, tn
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A good option - esp. when not hot outside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We spent one night at this hotel this summer.

Front desk staff and communication from staff - 5 stars. Very helpful, friendly, and kind. Wonderful staff and the staff really does make or break a place.

Room size: 5 stars - very spacious - especially for a city hotel - where prices are typically high for little space.

Location - 4 stars. A very short walk to the old city and most attractions. Lots of restaurant options near by.

Decor - 3 1/2 stars - it was charming in that "hasn't been updated since the late 70's early 80's kind of way".

Breakfast- 3 stars. The most beautiful breakfast location with the option of eating in the garden - and a reasonably good selection (a large selection of bread and of fruit - and a limited choice of cereals, yogurts, meats, and cheeses).

Sleep Quality: 2 stars - It was hot the day we were there (it was around 83 F outside and felt like 95F inside). We were on the third floor on the street side. There is NO AIR CONDITIONING. We were up high enough that the street noise was not an issue, but boy were we hot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    81
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
102
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Central location - we could walk everywhere in the old part of Munich. Quite near the huge food market. Very quiet. We arrived at 8 AM (we told them we would be early and were prepared to just drop our luggage0 but the room was ready! Room (superior double) fine - spotless and not large, but equipped with 2 armchairs and desk with chair and a small balcony overlooking (at an angle) the garden. Bathroom tiny, but well organized so that was fine. Desk staff very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. Suggested places to visit and way to walk. Breakfast buffet great and taken in a very charming room overlooking the garden. We are grateful to TA reviewers for their recommendation of the Admiral - what a find!

Room Tip: Superior double if you can swing it is great. Overlooking the garden is nice, but the hotel is on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a good size room, bed was comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic, the dining area was perfect, great coffee! The staff makes this place really great. Easy location, quiet all day long. Plenty of plugs for our electronics. I would gladly stay at this hotel again. Thank you.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Fantastic breakfast, cute garden, attentive staff, all great details--perfect beds! The hotel is near a metro stop---one stop from city center...we thought this was a great place to stay. We were there for three days and would come back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Hotel Admiral's greatest perk is the beautiful breakfast room looking over the garden, with a sumptuous buffet of delicious cereals, meats, cheeses, yogurts, and every kind of bread and juice. The room, which we requested one over looking the garden, was nice but the bathroom was extremely small. Also, we had booked one with a garden view, and at check in the girl at the front desk was not sure she had one available. She did find one. The decor is a little tired in the room, but it is still very nice. One English channel on the TV. The location of the room is a good ten minute walk from Merianplatz, and the neighborhood seemed a bit run down. But the breakfast experience is so superb, this is a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: I would definitely want a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Admiral. Courteous, English speaking staff, spacious room, strong WiFi, and a lavish breakfast with awesome coffee to get us started. We enjoyed relaxing in the elegant lounge with a very nice wine before dinner each night. This is a very classy place, within easy walking distance of Munich's major sights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

You wouldn't know it from the outside, but hidden behind this 1950s facade is a little gem of a hotel. Rooms are on a small side but very comfortable. Rooms facing the garden are quiet and come with a balcony (not sure but it could be that these are all single rooms). The location is great, a few minutes walk from the river Isar and the Deutsches Museum on one side, and (a little further) to the Viktualienmarkt and Marienplatz. There are plenty of restaurants and bars a few blocks away, and the S-Bahn station Isartor is also in walking distance. One of the best shoe shops, Schuh-Bertl, is in the same street. The service is friendly and warm, and the highlight for me is the breakfast which, in the warmer months, can be taken on the terrace overlooking the garden. It's a miracle how such a wide range of fruit, cheeses, salads etc can be arranged in what little space is available, and although the hotel is almost always full (book early!!!) one never struggles to find a space in the breakfast room or lobby.
it really is one of my favourite hotels anywhere, and I'm happy to pay the little extra for the welcome and comfort.

Room Tip: Book early - this hotel is very popular, and rightly so. If you can, use public transport and/or ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: Kohlstrasse 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#29 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Family Hotel in Munich
#40 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.