We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we stayed here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Admiral to your Saves list
Hotel Admiral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kohlstrasse 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 386 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So glad we stayed here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

At first when planning our trip to Munich, we thought we'd stayed in European chain hotel because we knew what we would get - and Rick Steves had it listed in a guide book (although he did call it boring). Then we found an article in Saveur magazine about Munich and the Hotel Admiral was recommended. So glad we found this hotel. It was super comfortable and quiet (we had a garden-view room on second floor) and the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. We have to give a special shout-out to Raha at the front desk, who should be listed in the dictionary under "best customer service." Kevin was a fabulous host. And the breakfast was exceptional - I swear there was every type of fruit imaginable. The location is convenient - right across the river from the museums, in walking distance to Marienplatz, and 2 blocks from a mainline subway stop. We would stay there again - absolutely!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    86
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
56
110
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I would rarely bother to write a review, but I thought Admiral deserved the effort. It's a great little hotel and the staff are extremely helpful (reservations etc) and polite. They put a great deal of effort into the breakfast and the rooms. They obviously care about the details. For the price and location it's great value. Having a balcony is also a plus. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here four nights on our last trip and we were very pleased. Right in town but on a quiet side street. The staff was very helpful and polite. Our room faced the garden and was nicely appointed and very clean. Breakfast had a wide variety of foods and everything was very fresh and good quality. We appreciated the fact that breakfast was available for 3 hours each morning. Being on vacation, it was nice to be able to sleep a little later and still get breakfast.
Overall, if you are planning a stay in Munich, I think that you would be hard pressed to find a nicer hotel with better staff than the Admiral

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for a short break in August to take in the sights of Munich. I found the hotel staff to be very pleasant, helpful and most importantly, welcoming. Although our stay was short the room, the breakfast (which is delicious) and the atmosphere was very good. The room was a little warm on occasion (its August after all) but this did not hamper our enjoyment we simply went out and enjoyed the city. I can recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a pleasant stay in the centre of Munich.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Garden if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I would certainly like to give the Hotel Admiral a fine review. There were many things about it that I liked. The staff was friendly and helpful, the vaunted breakfast was very good indeed, and it was pleasant to sit in the garden during the evening when all was fairly quiet. Quiet was, however, not always the case in our room. We had a room on the first floor (104) facing the street. The Hotel Admiral does not have air conditioning, and, given the temperature of Munich the last time we were there, I can understand why this is the case. However, this visit was warm in July 2013, and although the overhead fan helped, it was necessary keep the windows open. That created problems.

By five in the morning the street noise from deliveries was beginning to be a problem, and when the construction crew working on the building next door arrived before six, it was as if we had a half dozen extra guests in our room. I think I know several of the workers by name. I realize the Admiral can't be completely held responsible for the construction noise coming from next door, but it seemed to me that it was not particularly good customer service to charge full price for a room that was so noisy. My wife made a comment, and the hotel refunded our two days of parking; I said nothing. I don't know if there's a solution as long as construction continues on the building next door, which will probably be the case for the remainder of this summer. I don't know that any of the front rooms would be particularly quiet, since construction is taking place all over the building next door, and I'm not sure how much quieter it is during the day on the backside. We were told that the back side of the hotel was no quieter, but I'm not sure if that's the case. It's certainly quiet on the back side in the evening, but at that point, so is the front side.

I do appreciate the fact that a brochure in our room advised us just how much there was to see at the nearby Deutsches Museum, and we certainly enjoyed the half day we spent there. The parking under the hotel is tight, but it is convenient. You may have to back your car off of the parking ramp to load the car.

Room Tip: Avoid 104 and 105, maybe anything on the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a great stay, location is great with 10-15 minute walk to the old city. We were lucky and the weather was great however leaving the windows open means lights and waking up early. The breakfast is great and the backyard is absolutely charming. Overall I recommend to stay there is weather is good during your stay and you are an early riser.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A good choice for family stay, quite agreeable, and in particular the breakfast in the beautiful garden.The room is excellent and the hotel has a good situation-near the subway and tram station. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: Kohlstrasse 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#30 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#31 Business Hotel in Munich
#46 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.