We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral

Save Saved
You added Hotel Admiral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kohlstrasse 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 378 hotels in Munich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for a short break in August to take in the sights of Munich. I found the hotel staff to be very pleasant, helpful and most importantly, welcoming. Although our stay was short the room, the breakfast (which is delicious) and the atmosphere was very good. The room was a little warm on occasion (its August after all) but this did not hamper our enjoyment we simply went out and enjoyed the city. I can recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a pleasant stay in the centre of Munich.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Garden if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    76
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
93
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I would certainly like to give the Hotel Admiral a fine review. There were many things about it that I liked. The staff was friendly and helpful, the vaunted breakfast was very good indeed, and it was pleasant to sit in the garden during the evening when all was fairly quiet. Quiet was, however, not always the case in our room. We had a room on the first floor (104) facing the street. The Hotel Admiral does not have air conditioning, and, given the temperature of Munich the last time we were there, I can understand why this is the case. However, this visit was warm in July 2013, and although the overhead fan helped, it was necessary keep the windows open. That created problems.

By five in the morning the street noise from deliveries was beginning to be a problem, and when the construction crew working on the building next door arrived before six, it was as if we had a half dozen extra guests in our room. I think I know several of the workers by name. I realize the Admiral can't be completely held responsible for the construction noise coming from next door, but it seemed to me that it was not particularly good customer service to charge full price for a room that was so noisy. My wife made a comment, and the hotel refunded our two days of parking; I said nothing. I don't know if there's a solution as long as construction continues on the building next door, which will probably be the case for the remainder of this summer. I don't know that any of the front rooms would be particularly quiet, since construction is taking place all over the building next door, and I'm not sure how much quieter it is during the day on the backside. We were told that the back side of the hotel was no quieter, but I'm not sure if that's the case. It's certainly quiet on the back side in the evening, but at that point, so is the front side.

I do appreciate the fact that a brochure in our room advised us just how much there was to see at the nearby Deutsches Museum, and we certainly enjoyed the half day we spent there. The parking under the hotel is tight, but it is convenient. You may have to back your car off of the parking ramp to load the car.

Room Tip: Avoid 104 and 105, maybe anything on the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a great stay, location is great with 10-15 minute walk to the old city. We were lucky and the weather was great however leaving the windows open means lights and waking up early. The breakfast is great and the backyard is absolutely charming. Overall I recommend to stay there is weather is good during your stay and you are an early riser.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A good choice for family stay, quite agreeable, and in particular the breakfast in the beautiful garden.The room is excellent and the hotel has a good situation-near the subway and tram station. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Hotel Admiral during a very wet and cold June in Munich. The hotel is located on a generally quiet street a little ways from the city center. While it is a bit of a walk to most tourist sites, it is very convenient to the S-bahn, and we enjoyed being in an area that was a bit more residential/local. (There was some construction going on in the building next door while we were there, but the noise from this is presumably a temporary issue and is not a problem overnight. We didn't find it too bothersome.)

The rooms themselves are small but clean and comfortable. Ours had a small balcony--useful when we could not turn the heat down and needed to cool the room to be comfortable. (The balcony door was helpfully equipped a fixture to help you prop it open just slightly, presumably to aid in climate control.) The breakfast provided each morning, while a bit expensive, was excellent and included a wide variety of options (including great German potato salad and delicious raspberries). The staff was also helpful.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would likely return if we were back in Munich.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is funny how most hotel sites or rating sites like this one never talk about noise !

Construction besides hotel from 6 am to 6 pm. Lovely surprise.

convenient location close to Deutsches Museum and downtown

good sized rooms with great breakfast and good service

fortunately for us it was not too hot in Munich otherwise the rooms would have been a disaster facing the front: too noisy to open windows and far too hot to keep them closed

thus: don't book there in the summer unless you get a room in the back

back rooms face nice garden and are far quieter

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Location is a bit far (15-20min walk) from the city centre and hence, it is quieter and away from the tourist traffic. The lady staff at the front desk were friendly and were eager to serve us throughout our stay. Although we stayed in the suite, its lift only brought us to one floor below our room and there was no porter service to help with our luggage. It would be nice if we were offered some help with the luggage given the steps that we had to climb to our room. We enjoyed our room, which was clean and spacious and very nicely and tastefully decorated. Good breakfast spread in the restaurant that has an outdoor area for enjoying the cool morning breeze.

Room Tip: The suite was a good choice for us as we were traveling with our 9-year old son.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: Kohlstrasse 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#53 Family Hotel in Munich
#84 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.