We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect city centre location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Admiral to your Saves list
Hotel Admiral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kohlstrasse 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect city centre location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Charming hotel in quite location within 10 mins walk to centre of city and U and SBahn stations.
Spacious bedroom and though not decorated to my taste was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. Bowl of fruit on arrival was nice touch.
Bathroom is small and needs remodelled but was clean with fresh towels daily.
Breakfast was good with plenty fresh fruit, bread, rolls, cereal - boiled egg only hot food available and toast did not appear to be an option.
Staff efficient with check in/out taking only a few minutes and any request answered punctually.
Only downside was our room (203) appeared to be aimed at female guests only as the toilet seat failed to stay back unaided!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-admiral, Inhaber at Hotel Admiral, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear BobWScotland,

Thank you so much for staying with us and of course for your helpful advise. We have changed the toilet seat right away.

Kind regards

Kevin Voigt-Masermann
Hotel Admiral München
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    81
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
102
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were so thrilled w/ our stay. It was a beautiful slice of old world charm in a good sized city. We liked the location, walked to the main squares, and enjoyed our sojourns through the hotel's neighborhood which is full of antique, book and boutique shops. Staff was very helpful & pleasant, breakfast was a wonderful start to the day, and room was quiet, comfortable and quite pretty.

There was a lovely public room w/ small bar and the breakfast room looked out on a darling garden. This is just the type of place we love to find......A nice slice of heaven!

We would definitely stay there again. As for the key holder, as per many older hotels, this was left at the desk on our outings and retrieved when we came back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel deserves all of the compliments given below. Our bathroom was a bit "traditional" in decor but certainly not "tired", everything worked and the bath/shower was hot and high pressure. The key fobs are not unusually large for such hotels, just leave it on reception as you go out. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and could speak English. The modern room safe was too small for an iPad; and if you find time to watch, no English speaking TV channels. But overall this is an excellent small hotel and scores high marks for a city break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Location is very close to the Viktualien Market so absolutely in the center. The hotel is small and clean and pretty comfortable. Its room is good and clean but its bathroom is out dated. The staff is friendly and the breakfest is good .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The lady who greeted us, checked us in swiftly but abruptly. I have put this down to her having a bad day. We didn't see her again during our six night stay. The rooms are dated but on the other hand spacious and clean. The key is attached to some sort of ornament, a bit heavy for a handbag. after a few outings we were informed the hotel holds the key whilst we are out. ( we had detatched the key from the ornament) The bathroom was also clean and functional. Their is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, or iron and ironing board. However after requesting iron and board, one was promptly delivered to room and left there for the duration of our stay. Getting from the airport to the hotel is a breeze,airport train to central station then to Isartor station and less than a 10 minute walk to hotel . Breakfast was included in the room rate, but don't expect bacon and eggs however the beautiful assortment of fruit meats and bread was nice and I especially enjoyed the Bircher muesli. We may have got off to a bad start but the overall kindness of the staff would be a good reason to stay at the Admiral on a future visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A jewel of a find in Munich. This is a small Boutique hotel, right across the (small) bridge from the Deutsches Museum in Munich, and only a 12 minute walk to marienplatz. The breakfast spread is amazing, and it has an adorable outdoor garden. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is really an excellent place to stay. It is relatively small, decorated in "old style", very elegant , clean and well maintained.
The bathroom has very nice soap/ shampoo, the room is clean, has a small balcony facing hotel's garden, a safe and it is well heated which is important this time of the year.
Reception speak English and are very polite and helpful.
Location is great - quiet neighborhood, 2 minutes walk to Deutshe museum, about 5 minutes walk from Isartor ubahn/sbahn station, and around 10 minutes walk to MarienPlatz.
Hotel has free wifi which is rare and very helpful, the breakfast is simply wonderful - a lot of different fresh fruit, cheese, pastries.
They also bring some cookies and fresh fruit to the room free of charge which was a nice surprise.
I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: Kohlstrasse 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#29 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Family Hotel in Munich
#40 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.