We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say........... I loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admiral

Save Saved
You added Hotel Admiral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Admiral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kohlstrasse 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #25 of 379 hotels in Munich
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What can I say........... I loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel in Oct 2012, what a lovely pleasant stay we had. The room was decorated beautifully with a very comfortable bed and nice chairs with small table to read by. The bathroom was also very nice and featured quality shampoo etc and facecloths. The magnified mirror was an added and much appreciated bonus for putting on make-up.
It was an absolute delight to attend breakfast in the morning. Beautiful bowls of fresh fruit were available, blueberries,strawberries,kiwi fruit, you name it! There were also sweet pastries of different varieties plus many different bread rolls, all delicious and yoghurts,cereals and croissants etc. An absolute joy to look at and eat in my opinion. It is often hard to get nice fruit when on holidays but this place did a wonderful job in supplying it! The staff were very pleasant and quick to ask you if you would like tea or coffee with your breakfast.
One very special thing that we had at our breakfast was the snow covered backyard,court yard viewed from the breakfast room. Sitting in the warmth looking out at it was just great. Coming from Australia this was quite a treat! The breakfast room itself is decorated beautifully with attention to detail. Lovely curtains, comfy chairs and nice crockery and silver ware at the tables. I can only say good things about this breakfast.
The hotel has an elevator so no worries with baggage, and the people at the reception were always helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if ever in Munich.
We also found a lovely little Thai restaurant just up from the McDonalds (around the block) closest to the hotel, we had two meals there and they too were good.
One last thing the bedroom also had robes and scuff type slippers for the guests as well as the nice touch of putting a chocolate on your pillow each morning. Fresh fruit was also on the table when we arrived and there is a mini bar with water and several drinks inside for purchase. A very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking if required as they do cater for smokers I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    66
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
84
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SPAIN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We liked very much this hotel. It is small, in a nice neigborhood, very convenient to pay visits to many places, The Deutches museum is close to it.
Rooms nicely decoratede with chocolates and fruit.
Breakfast is great. We will go back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We picked this hotel based on other reviews and we were not wrong.Peter and his staff are brilliant they could not have being more helpful to us. We will definitely return to this beautiful hotel, its location is very good not far from the Deutsche Museum and the city centre.Overall we had a great time in the Hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The location is good and the neighborhood is nice. The staff was very kind and attentive. The breakfast was delicious - the food selection was incredible - we had the option of eating inside or out on the garden patio. The furnishings were a little old fashioned for our taste, but we enjoyed nonetheless!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This small 22 room hotel is about a 12 minute walk to Marienplatz (the center of things) in Munich. Very friendly staff with good suggestions for restaurants. Elevator nice after days of lugging our luggage up flights of stairs. Room was good size for Europe standards at 190 Euro per day, although bathroom a little small but modern fixtures. Refrigerator in room. Near Parliament, Deutches Museum and Isartor subway stop about 5 minutes. Breakfast buffet was huge--fresh fruit, rolls, meats, cheeses, cereal and a sense of fine dining. Neighborhood restaurants were close and area feels safe. We did have a room that overlooked the street but it was not noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I attended a conference in Munich in the last week of August and chose the Admiral based on TA reviews and the fact that it was a little out of the way and appeared to reflect a lot of the local character. This was indeed a very pleasant stay for 6 days. Very comfortable room and although it overlooked the street noise was not a problem. The breakfast room is quaint and the food itself superb. Staff were always very helpful and communicating in English not a problem.

The hotel is exquisitely furnished and paintings adorn the stairwell and entrance foyer creating a sense of opulence without being overbearing.

It was a 10 minute walk into the town or 5 mins to the nearest underground train station which could then take you anywhere .

The only possible concern is if you were there at the height of Summer and in the warmer nights you might struggle with the lack of air conditioning. The windows do not open very wide and if there were a lot of activities out on the street this might also be disturbing. As mentioned elsewhere asking for a back room looking out over the garden might be partictularly worth while at that time of year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was a rather sophisticated place after having been "on the road" for two weeks. I was relieved to have the comfortable room and a friendly welcome from a nice young lady who sounded to be American when she spoke in English, after barely scraping by with my minimal-tourist-phrasebook German. Breakfast was a quiet/hushed affair with alot of well-dressed people and a breakfast bar that was overflowing with plump, perfect fruits and berries, a fancy shrimp-in-cream-sauce dish, very good cheeses, little pastries, etc.

The hotel is fairly close to Marienplatz and although I've seen some gorgeous sights in my travels, I wasn't prepared for Munich's Rathaus......overwhelmingly beautiful in the sunlight and there were violinists playing Pachelbel's Canon in D in front, and later, musicians playing high above the streets in a bell tower. The hotel is also fairly close to the Isartor metro station.

One thing to be aware of related to this hotel is that on Sundays in Munich in this area, it's very difficult to find a restaurant open. By then, I had pretty well had it with going around and around in circles all over Munich trying to find medical care on the weekend in (almost impossible due to the lack of services on weekends and made worse by my lack of facility with German and seemingly very few English-speakers in the medical system). When I returned to the hotel in that afternoon, having found nothing closeby open and with a rapidly worsening cardiac arrhythmia (lost heart medications that cannot be stopped abruptly days before) I asked the staff on duty, very frustrated, where specifically I could find someplace to eat, and was told in a rather rude/exasperated way that there were restaurants "in that direction".......I'd already scoured the area and after going back out again to "that direction", there were none except one place that was literally locking their door as I entered.

On the other hand, the kindness and professionalism of night manager Mr. Shahoud Chandry in helping me when the cardiac situation worsened was deeply appreciated. He's exactly who you would want around when you really need help. My grateful thanks.

Room Tip: Mine overlooked the courtyard and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich
Address: Kohlstrasse 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#42 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.