We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, everything else average at best.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Daniel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Daniel to your Saves list
Hotel Daniel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sonnenstrasse 5 | 80331 Muenchen, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, everything else average at best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We are frequent visitors to Munich and decided to try this hotel due to its location: right on Karlsplatz next to the entrance to the pedestrian only Marienplatz.

The location is brilliant! It is perfectly located for someone interested in spending time in the tourist areas around the Marienplatz or someone looking to stay for Oktoberfest as it is a very easy walk to the Theriesenweisse. Being located directly next to the Karlsplatz metro stop makes it super convenient to reach anywhere in the city and easy to get to/from the airport.

Unfortunately the hotel itself is nothing special. Single beds pushed together to make a king sized bed were just of average comfort, and the pillows deserve special mention for being the most useless I have ever encountered. The shower was just ok and there is no free wifi. The only positive was the included breakfast, which was made up of standard continental fare.

Truth be told, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JetPilots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bucharest
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

The location is ok - near city center. Basic breakfast with usual products. Price in front office - 100 e. The value isn't the best you can find. The automatic doors are a little bit creepy for a hotel especially at night!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petru55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is one of the hotels that you cannot find any information about on their website ! They are simply don't want you to know that the front rooms are noisy and the rooms on the quiet side are without air condition and if you open the window you get smells from a kitchen restaurant. Beside that, the TV has only German channels, when we ask for CNN they said that the technician has to tune the channels but 4 days nothing done to fix it. So I guess this is their standard reply to all. This hotel doesn't have WIFI they use MY Cloud Germany net as "their" WIFI and this cost 12.5 Euro per day. You don't need the hotel for this wifi net you can find it in any place over Munich. The room is clean, normal with safe. Breakfast is good. The staff is polite and helpful.
We were lucky to get a quiet room and we almost didn't open the windows, because it was chilly in November.
About the best location it is already written. This is not my standard of hotels, next time it will be my last option of accommodation.

Room Tip: If after all, you decided to go to this hotel, check the room before you take it and find with what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Excellent location for exploring the city. Right next to Marienplatz, the pedestrian mall. Surprisingly large room and bathroom. Breakfast is nice. Just 2 points to make:
1. We checked out before 10 am to make our flight back home. We had to pay our bill in cash because he said he didn't know how to use the credit card machine. So had to go to 3 different ATMs with different cards to get out that much money, which was a pain when we needed to catch the train on time to make our flight. On their defense, they do have a sign on the front desk that says something about paying your bill at a certain time, I just never saw it in advance. I never thought to pay the bill before we checked out of a hotel.
2. The noise. Our room faced the main road. Omg, I've never heard so many sirens in my life!! Whenever I've read reviews and people complained about noise, I thought, hmmm, maybe they are old!!! But no, this is one case that I couldn't believe how loud it was! Its a fine hotel, but I would ask for a back room maybe?

All in all, fine hotel to crash in at night. Location to Marienplatz is its highlight!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Depending on the room you have you can have an average experience or very good.. we changed 3 rooms.. at first we had a smoky-smell room with no A/C the receptionnist was very kind she changed our room to a really nice renovated one but the the A/C was not that great it was almost not working so we changed for another renovated room with a better A/C ..The positive things : 2 receptionnist ladies were very very nice and helpful , its close to the main attractions and to the train station , you have trams just in front ..quiet room(it was not on the street), breakfast was very tasty . The negative things is the A/C can ruin your night because Europe is hot in August ! and I felt that depending on the person who is doing your room it can be clean or not that much.. the shower was ..hummm... but again maybe if I have told the receptionnist they would have cleaned it...

Room Tip: Check for A/C ask for no-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crista20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had to visit Munich for a conference. The venue was close to Marienplatz, so looked for places close by which would allow me to walk through the city center.

Came across Hotel Daniel - and am glad i picked this one.

1. Excellent accessibilty - very close to the train station that connects to the airport. Easily walkable even with a large suitcase!
2. Great location - beautiful location. Just steps away from the central area and shopping street. Lots and lots of places for picking up stuff.
3. Food - given the location, there are a great number of places for quick eat.. across multiple cuisines! Hotel serves a decent breakfast spread as well..
4. Rooms - there were some posts advising visitors to ask for rooms not facing the street since there would be lot of disturbance from the train lines right in front. I had a room facing the train lines right on :) but didnt have an issue for the 3 nights i was there! So dont let that bother you much!
5. Value for money - Unbelievable value for money, esp given the location!! And compared to what I was given to expect from the region..

Will definitely stay at this hotel if i need to go back to Munich!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Daniel for 3 nights in October 2011. It was the perfect choice for us! It is a short walk from the train station - even with luggage. It is steps away from Karlzplatz, which is the beginning of the pedestrian street/shopping district. Karlzplatz is also a metro stop so it's easy to get all over the city from the hotel doorstep. The hotel was clean and had wi-fi. It's not the kind of hotel where people carry your bags to your room for you, but the staff were all very helpful.

The area was all well lit and I never felt unsafe getting to/from my hotel - even when we left at 5AM to catch the early train to Neuschwanstein!

If luxury is what you want, this isn't the place. But overall, I do not think we could have found a better combination of cleanliness, convenience, location, and price! I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you then ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. For me, the noise wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AbbieDabbyDu07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wallis
Hotel Wallis
#169 of 394 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#3 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stachus
Hotel Stachus
#209 of 394 in Munich
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Stachus
Hotel Cocoon Stachus
#70 of 394 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel

Address: Sonnenstrasse 5 | 80331 Muenchen, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Daniel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is steps from the Karlsplatz (Stachus) square in central Munich, a 6-minute walk from Munich Main Station. It offers large rooms and a daily breakfast buffet. All rooms at the Hotel Daniel include satellite TV, internet via cable and a private bathroom. Wi-Fi is available in all parts of the hotel for a fee. Hotel Daniel is near the Old Town and the shopping streets in Munich's pedestrian area. The Marienplatz town hall square is a 10-minute walk away. The Karlsplatz (Stachus) S-Bahn (city rail) and underground stations are a 2-minute walk from the Hotel Daniel. This provides fast links to Munich Airport and Munich's Neue Messe exhibition centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniel Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing