We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall it was a good experience thanks to the helpful and quick service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Daniel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Daniel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Daniel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sonnenstrasse 5, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 378 hotels in Munich
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overall it was a good experience thanks to the helpful and quick service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Depending on the room you have you can have an average experience or very good.. we changed 3 rooms.. at first we had a smoky-smell room with no A/C the receptionnist was very kind she changed our room to a really nice renovated one but the the A/C was not that great it was almost not working so we changed for another renovated room with a better A/C ..The positive things : 2 receptionnist ladies were very very nice and helpful , its close to the main attractions and to the train station , you have trams just in front ..quiet room(it was not on the street), breakfast was very tasty . The negative things is the A/C can ruin your night because Europe is hot in August ! and I felt that depending on the person who is doing your room it can be clean or not that much.. the shower was ..hummm... but again maybe if I have told the receptionnist they would have cleaned it...

Room Tip: Check for A/C ask for no-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
18
40
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Had to visit Munich for a conference. The venue was close to Marienplatz, so looked for places close by which would allow me to walk through the city center.

Came across Hotel Daniel - and am glad i picked this one.

1. Excellent accessibilty - very close to the train station that connects to the airport. Easily walkable even with a large suitcase!
2. Great location - beautiful location. Just steps away from the central area and shopping street. Lots and lots of places for picking up stuff.
3. Food - given the location, there are a great number of places for quick eat.. across multiple cuisines! Hotel serves a decent breakfast spread as well..
4. Rooms - there were some posts advising visitors to ask for rooms not facing the street since there would be lot of disturbance from the train lines right in front. I had a room facing the train lines right on :) but didnt have an issue for the 3 nights i was there! So dont let that bother you much!
5. Value for money - Unbelievable value for money, esp given the location!! And compared to what I was given to expect from the region..

Will definitely stay at this hotel if i need to go back to Munich!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Daniel for 3 nights in October 2011. It was the perfect choice for us! It is a short walk from the train station - even with luggage. It is steps away from Karlzplatz, which is the beginning of the pedestrian street/shopping district. Karlzplatz is also a metro stop so it's easy to get all over the city from the hotel doorstep. The hotel was clean and had wi-fi. It's not the kind of hotel where people carry your bags to your room for you, but the staff were all very helpful.

The area was all well lit and I never felt unsafe getting to/from my hotel - even when we left at 5AM to catch the early train to Neuschwanstein!

If luxury is what you want, this isn't the place. But overall, I do not think we could have found a better combination of cleanliness, convenience, location, and price! I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you then ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. For me, the noise wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

Just had our fourth year staying at the Daniel for octoberfest.
Yup it's basic but ideal as a comfy crash pad. The rooms are a good size, clean and with bathrooms.
It can be noisy in the corridors but nothing major.
There've been some funny comments on this place. No smoking in the hallway or dining room? Of course not, its illegal in Germany. No room service etc. Nope but they never said they had.
The Daniel is ideal if you're just looking for a clean, central and cheap hotel to use a base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The hotel is alright. Great location, rich breakfast, nice rooms - what else do you need for a city break staying? As there wan not a hotel parking, we parked the car in the public one, it cost EUR20 for the night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Great location situated right in middle of city , Great Interiors which goes well with the city heritage .. But thats it !!! it completley do it yourself type hotel except cleaning of the room .

You have to carry luggage on your own from desk to room ... there is no one called Room attendant ., no facility of ordering food to room ... Very few smoking rooms ... No zone for smoking in gallery or in restaurant . No matter how much do you beg there is no facility to early check in or late check out ..

So for Business travaller these things don't affect much but for other type if you don't look for location advantage .... i suggest to skip this hotel ..

Room Tip: Facility of Clock Room is there - Just ask receptn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Discovered this almost by accident but it's a nice little hotel in a superb location, with a tram stop right outside and only a 10 minutes stroll from the main station, with the city centre even closer

The room I was in was smallish but not uncomfortably so, and was scrupulously clean, whilst breakfast was as good as a continental breakfast can ever be.

The downside of the location was the noise from the main road outside, which meant it was virtually impossible to have the windows open - but this is a centrally-located hotel in a major city, so what else could I expect?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel

Address: Sonnenstrasse 5, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 378 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Daniel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniel Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Daniel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.